Muse…ing

Just a quick reminder:  There are still a few days left to vote for your favorite flash fiction piece at Devin O’Branagan’s forum.  The prompt was No one believed the curse was real.  No, I’m not going to tell you which one is mine.  Read.  Enjoy.  Vote.

Things got busy the end of last week which is my explanation for lack of posts and lack of writing.  Thursday, a friend and I headed up to Farmington, MN for a stock dog trial and didn’t get home until late Sunday night. (You can read about it on my other blog here.)  Monday I spent trying to catch up on everything.  Tuesday it was back to work.

Ahh, the day job.  <sigh>

It’s an evil necessity to maintaining the lifestyle the hubby and I have come to enjoy but it certainly does wreak havoc with the creative juices.  Especially when my muse taps me on the shoulder in the middle of a meeting or when I’m up against a tight deadline and really can’t be bothered.  Sometimes I take a break to listen to her but, hey, I am getting paid to not listen to her.  By the time I put in nine hours, head home, take care of things there and finally settle my muse has found a spot on the couch to rest her head and nap.  Grrrrrrrrr.

Once again, it boils down to making some sort of writing schedule.  Setting aside at least an hour a day for nothing more than stringing words together in a meaningful and creative manner.  Which means retraining my muse.  I did make some headway on cleaning and reorganizing my office.  Getting my laptop off the kitchen counter and settling in behind my desk should make things easier for the muse.  Give her a set time and a place for a regular meeting.

Maybe then she’ll stop pestering me in the middle of the day when I’m supposed to be concentrating on work.

 

4 responses

  1. I don’t think it will be that easy. I know mine is a bit of a trickster anyway. Hangs out in the shower where there’s no easy paper/pen handy 😛 Just think though – one day you can leave the day job behind and focus only on the writing. It’s the day we all dream about, no? 😉

    October 26, 2011 at 6:14 am

  2. The opening scene to my un-named UF was written in the shower! More accurately, was *memorized* in the shower as I tried not to forget any of it by the time I made it to the laptop. LOL Darn muses. But I lost mine for a lot of years and that was even worse. I’m glad she’s back – even if she tends to be a bit inconvenient.

    October 26, 2011 at 6:24 am

    • CJD

      Hi Kathi!

      I’m new to this blog and find it very pleasant and engaging. Your newest post about muses is especially true. Mine can be a jerk at times, but then I realize it’s all in my head. And I find that once I come to this “Eureka!” moment, it clears my mind and makes me more relaxed and receptive to inspiration.

      It sounds like an easy moment to arrive at, but it’s more challenging than people might think. Peace and quiet are great, but even in the midst of chaos–i.e. showering–if your mind is in a blissfully self-contained state, your words will flow, and you’ll remember them.

      October 29, 2011 at 1:35 pm

      • Thanks for the positive feedback and for stopping by. Muses are slippery characters. I just need to find a consistent time to sit down and write everyday. Darn muse prefers the morning but I’m at my day job then. Trouble maker.

        October 29, 2011 at 2:49 pm

Leave a Reply

