Anne McCaffrey

We will all come to it eventually.  Anne McCaffrey, author of the Dragonrider’s of Pern series, passed away November 21st.

She was one of my greatest inspirations.  I remember writing her a letter when I was much younger, telling her how much I enjoyed her books and asking if a particular bit of history in her books was a mistake.  <gasp>  The gall!!  But she answered my letter with a short, handwritten personal note, explaining it all very clearly and thanking me for my note.  Of course, over the years I lost that note.  I wish I still had it.

Thank you, Anne, for everything you gave us.  It is a sad day.

2 responses

  1. My condolences. It’s a shame when our greatest inspirations pass on – but at least she left you something to continue to be inspired by.

    November 22, 2011 at 7:35 pm

  2. snagglewordz

    What a great memory.

    December 1, 2011 at 3:15 am

Leave a Reply

