Latest Scrivener Update

I’ve previously posted regarding my thoughts on Scrivener.  You can find those posts here, here, and here.  And since I’ve been promising another update, well, here it is.  If you recall, back in November I downloaded the trial version of Scrivener  for Windows just to see for myself what all the hype was about.  (If you don’t recall, follow the link above.)  Wednesday, with about 12 or so days left of the trial version, I bought my key.  Yes, I decided I liked it that much.

I didn’t work with it a lot over the past several weeks due to putting the next-to-last polish on Between Darkness & Light ~ The First of Her Kind (nice, long title, hey?).  There was no sense in importing BD&L into Scrivener as it’s not built for finished works and they’ll admit to that.  Now that I’ve packed BD&L off to be massacred  shredded  picked to tiny little pieces read, and have declared it ‘hands off’ from me until it returns battered and bloodied, I am on to the next project.  Which should be the dang un-named UF I’ve left in the lurch.  Unfortunately, Book 2 (B2) of the BD&L series has been nagging me to get going on it.  It will be a perfect test of Scrivener from start to finish.

Before Wednesday, I didn’t have anything but hand written notes and a few snippets of scenes for B2.  The first thing I did was gather everything I did have and started loading it into Scrivener.  I’m not normally an outliner.  I may jot down plot notes, but basically, I let the story go where it takes me as I’m writing.  Because Book 2 has been rattling around in what’s left of my brain for some time now, I have a good idea where I think it may be going.  Enter one of the cool things about Scrivener – the ease and flexibility to make note cards or an outline which can be edited and rearranged at any point in time.  Honestly, I didn’t know if I’d use the technique but it is nice.

This screen shot shows the binder (left), outline mode (center) and Info (right).  The outline entries are coded with blue (in my world that means they are a scene).  They have a name and a description.  I can easily rearrange their order which will automatically rearrange the order in the binder.  There is a great deal of flexibility.  The index card to the right corresponds to the highlighted note in the center.  It has a brief synopsis if I’ve written one, and details as to label and status below that.

If you prefer to write without seeing all the goobly-dee-gook around your page – enter Full Screen Mode.  The menu bar along the bottom (which disappears when not in use) allows you to change the fade of the background, the size of the page, text, etc.  Hitting the escape key puts you back into Scrivener’s main screen.  So you get to write with no distractions (at least on the screen)

At this point, the only nit I have is minor.  When you tell Scrivener to ignore how a word is spelled it seems to only remember that for the section you’re in. If you switch to another scene you need to tell it to ignore again.  Could be I just haven’t figured out how to tell it for the whole ms yet so I’ll look into it.   **Update:  There is an option called Learn Spelling and that takes care of it.**

If I learn anything else astounding in my Scrivener experience I’ll be sure to post about it.  For now, happy as a clam and thinking the price was pretty darn good as well.

Leave a Reply

