Getting Back Into It

I’m a bit behind this week.  I spent last Friday through Monday pursuing my other passion; my dogs.  That meant three days of intensive one-on-one training, and two days of travel.  During which time I wrote just about bupkiss.  Several hundred words at the most.  And I’d been on such a good string of 2k days.

It also put me behind on blog posts which is why you’re seeing one on a Thursday.  If I were smart, or extremely organized, I’d do a month’s worth of posts ahead of time and schedule them for release.  I’m going to have to do that as we head into spring and summer because that’s my busy time.

So, here I am, playing catch-up.

First, ROW80 update (which was due yesterday):  um . . . well . . . read the first paragraph again.  That about sums it up.

Second:  I received another Blog Award.  Yes, I know, many bloggers cringe at receiving one.  They’re like the infernal chain letter (so, if I tag you, feel free to ignore) I enjoy Blog Award’s, and here’s why ~ validation.  It means someone actually read and enjoyed my blog.  So many thanks to Jennifer for tossing me:The rules state I need to pass this to 6 blogs I enjoy and list 10 things about myself.  That will have to wait until this weekend when I have a bit more time.  But I promise, I will get back to it.

Third:  I need to get my rhythm back.  The first draft of BD&L2 is giving me fits.  That means there is something about it I don’t like.  My subconscious and my characters are fighting me.  But, I need to remind myself it’s a first draft and the purpose of a first draft is just getting the darn story down on paper.  It’s the bare bones.  I can rearrange them later if my skeleton looks a bit off.

I do want to give a quick shout-out to my fellow IMPs at The IMPire.  If you’ve got some time, pay a visit to our growing space.  Be sure to read the history of the IMPs while you’re there.

Today’s ending question:  How do you get back into a writing rhythm after being de-railed?  Or, do you make sure you never get de-railed?

8 responses

  1. Hey there!

    Just seen your blog details on the Devin OBranagan forum so I thought I’d stop by for a nosey!

    Love the blog – have subscribed and will be a regular reader.

    Warmest Regards

    Bev Morley

    January 12, 2012 at 7:27 am

    • Thanks for stopping in, Bev. I’ll be sure to check out Write Direction when I get the opportunity. 🙂

      January 12, 2012 at 7:46 am

  2. I get derailed all the time. Usually to get back on the horse requires a stern talking to (in my head…”self, get your behind in that chair and don’t stand up until you have words on the screen”). Coffee. Sometimes I just sit and close my eyes, fingers poised over the keyboard. Eventually it all comes down to…just start. Write something. Anything. Write your name. It’s funny how after that it all turns back on and away you will go. At least, it works for me. It’s the getting started part that’s the trick. You can always try “Write or Die”.

    I’m with you on the need to schedule blog posts in advance. Keep telling myself to get that done. But do I listen? No!

    January 12, 2012 at 8:30 am

    • Hi, Melinda, thanks for stopping in and commenting. I’ve heard about “Write or Die” ~ I think I’d die! LOL Or get really steamed at the thing for eating my words. They’re all prescious! Leave them alone. 🙂

      January 12, 2012 at 12:31 pm

  3. I, too get derailed all the time, usually due to health issues. Getting going again is a bear. I usually prime the pump by reading some of my favorite fiction. I hide the TV, so I’m not tempted to waste precious time. And I play with my writing: I take a favorite character or scene from my WIP and play with it until I get a flow going.

    Congrats on your blog award. i received one from you that I have not responded to yet, but I promise I will. I have sorely ignored my personal blogs for quite a while. One of my New Year’s goals is to do better. 🙂

    January 12, 2012 at 11:42 am

    • Yeah, I’m not much of a TV watcher. Reading is always good, but it can also be an avoidance technique. Hmmm, rather like web surfing, tweeting, blogging . . . okay, but at the moment I’m on my lunch break so that’s all okay!

      January 12, 2012 at 12:33 pm

  4. Never derailed? I can’t believe such a person exists! Life happens, therefore, we get derailed.

    Yep, sometimes it’s just writing a sentence again. Or looking at someone in public and thinking, hmm, what’s his or her story?

    The big thing is not to beat yourself up over it. Sometimes the distraction makes for a fresh round of creativity when we do sit down again.

    January 12, 2012 at 1:50 pm

    • Oh, but I’m an expert at beating myself up over things I shouldn’t! It’s one of those things I’m trying to do less of this year.

      January 12, 2012 at 5:44 pm

Leave a Reply

