Getting A Round It

A Round of Words starts up again today.  I’ve decided to pass on this session mainly because I’m not actually writing anything.  Although, check-ins at least got me to blog regularily.  I’m still transcribing the results of my editing on BD&L back into a word document.  I’ll still breeze by the other ROWers and show my support for the efforts toward hitting their goals.  If you’d like to check them out, here’s the day one link.

And I should clarify my “not writing” statement.  I do write, constantly, but at this point it’s more about keeping the muscles in shape as I’m not working on any specific thing beyond BD&L.  Rather like using a treadmill instead of actually getting out and walking to a certain location.  Although I do have another Greyland’s bit I’m working on for Krista’s endeavor — and a shout out to check out the new Raven’s Quill site.  It’s fun being in someone else’s world, a little scary as well since I don’t want to veer too much from the original vision and only add to it, but the darn character that took me over has his own ideas.

Then there are the two books I need to read and review.  I’m half way through Captives, Book 2 in The Druids Saga by Barb Galler-Smith and Josh Langston.  The second book waiting in the wings is Show Dog by Josh Dean.  I’m a bit behind.

Oh, and this past weekend I tackled my office/studio.  I have three projects languishing and others I’m itching to start, but the organized chaos I adore has become disorganized clutter.  I’m only half done but I have to reclaim my space because it’s awesome, and when I’m in it people understand I’m working (by ‘people’ I mean the hubby).  I understand I’m working.  Sitting at the kitchen counter or plopped on the couch with the laptop leaves me open to distractions, and obviously means I’m available to jump into a conversation at any time.  The filing cabinet alone took most of a day andbroke my paper shredder.  I made it half way through the closet, which I’ll finish this week.  Those two areas were the worse and once I’m through those it’s clear sailing.

Write on!

 

 

 

 

11 responses

  1. Your productivity is an inpiration, Kathi

    April 2, 2012 at 6:29 am

  2. I feel like I’m in the same state of confusion as you are! I keep having to pick my feet carefully through the maze of paper and book piles, search for pens underneath scraps of paper–ugh. But I told myself to do a good spring cleaning during the kids’ school vacation (last week of April), because we won’t be running around as much. I hate being interrupted during a task like that, so if I can devote one full day I’m more likely to finish it.

    I don’t really have a specific writing project now either. But writing, as you say, mini projects like blogging, poetry, and writing challenges helps keep me in shape creatively.

    I toyed with the idea of Row 80 but it’s just too much right now. Maybe next time.

    Have a great day!

    April 2, 2012 at 9:24 am

    • Unfortunately, I’ve had to spread my rampage over several days. I didn’t get back to it yesterday so I’m hoping for tonight after work. It shall be done by this weekend! The stake is in the ground. 🙂

      April 3, 2012 at 5:13 am

  3. joshlangston

    I probably shouldn’t post anything at this delicate moment, since I’ve just completed filling out our tax return, BUT what the hell, it’s springtime, and I should be feeling magnanimous. Instead, I feel numb. Filling out forms for the Federal Government puts my teeth on an edge that doesn’t level out for months!!!!!

    So, it’s especially nice to see that friends are able to continue living as if the IR-farking-S didn’t completely rule their miserable existence. I’m also still sorely p*ssed at my publisher. However, I’ve learned my lesson about making any public comments about him/it/them/whatever.

    So, anyway, on a lighter note, have a bliddy Manhattan (or a Guiness, or whatever) and be on witcha. Can’t wait to see the revamped BDL & Associates, nor suffer the salty feedback I know is coming from your read of Captives. We still love ya, and look forward to a visit in Georgia when you’ve run out of places to see in Wisconsin!

    April 2, 2012 at 4:29 pm

    • Hmm…oh my…. tax fun. Um…put the 1040 down and back away. Here, have some Wild Turkey.

      I’ll tell you this, that book has virtually flown across the room several times already, and I’m almost afraid to keep reading for fear of what will happen next.

      April 3, 2012 at 5:15 am

  4. Good luck 🙂

    April 2, 2012 at 7:31 pm

    • Thanks! I need it. LOL 😀

      April 3, 2012 at 5:16 am

  5. I’m getting ready to box up all the revisions I printed out and store them in the basement. Just in case I need them at some point. Plus my shredder can’t take that kind of workout. Good luck on the office, I always feel better when mine is organized and spring is the best time to do that!

    April 3, 2012 at 7:21 pm

    • I have almost reclaimed my space! Another day of filing and organizing and I should be there. 🙂 I *thought* my shredder could take the workout. Oops.

      April 4, 2012 at 5:25 am

      • Mine overheats after about 100 pages. Grrr. Nice! I need to tidy mine up now. You’ve inspired me!

        April 4, 2012 at 9:18 am

Leave a Reply

