Review of Witch Hunt

Power tends to corrupt, and absolute power corrupts absolutely.  ~John Emerich Edward Dalberg Acton, first Baron Acton (1834–1902)

Leave your preconceived notions of witches at Samantha Steven’s doorstep and run away.  Quickly.  You won’t find any nose-wiggling, superfluous witches within the pages of Devin O’Branagan’s Witch Hunt.  What you will find is a beautifully woven tale of a family unable to avoid the pitfalls of power, and a glimpse at what happens when people of influence misuse their position.

Interspersed with tales giving us the history of the Hawthorne family, the main story of a modern day witch hunt is eerie in its realism.  There’s no escaping the cold knowledge that such a thing could actually happen in our own time, making the Salem Witch Hunts look like a schoolyard brawl by comparison.  As though caught in a spell of the Hawthorne’s making, you’ll be hard pressed to put the book down until the final page.  The characters, flawed as they may be, are captivating in their three-dimensionality, and Ms. O’Branagan does a superb job of weaving the family’s history into their current fall, as well as clearing up many misconceptions surrounding the word ‘witch’.

Witch Hunt will keep you on the edge of your seat, dreading to turn the page.  But turn you must.  Right up to the surprise ending that left me with one word.  “Wow.”

Write on!

8 responses

  1. If I hadn’t already read it, I’d pick it up again. Great review!

    May 14, 2012 at 5:55 am

    • Thanks. Don’t know what took me so long to read it, but I’m certainly glad I did.

      May 14, 2012 at 11:11 am

  2. Sounds fascinating. I’ll add it to my to-read pile.

    May 14, 2012 at 6:56 am

    • You won’t be sorry.

      May 14, 2012 at 11:12 am

  3. Thank you so much for your wonderful review of my novel! I’m glad you enjoyed it. I am working on the sequel now… 🙂

    May 14, 2012 at 9:35 am

    • You’re welcome, Devin. I can’t wait for the sequel.

      May 14, 2012 at 11:12 am

  4. I am very much looking forward to reading this one now!

    May 15, 2012 at 7:55 pm

  5. Pingback: And Now, For a Major Announcement . . . « My Random Muse

Leave a Reply

