Write It Like . . .

In my case, according to I Write Like, it’s Anne Rice.  At least when I dumped in a huge swatch of the epic fantasy WIP.  I freely admit, I’ve never read any of Anne Rice’s work.  Guess I’m going to have to now.

Then I dropped in a bit of one of my Greylands pieces.  In that genre, it appears I write like Stephen King.  Bad, Kathi, I’ve not read any of his work either.  Well, On Writing, which I’m still not all the way through.  BUT, I have watched several movies made from Mr. King’s books so I’m more familiar with his work than that of Anne Rice.

Finally, I popped in a darker piece of the unnamed urban fantasy WIP.  For that, I write like William Gibson.  To be honest. . . had too google him.  Had absolutely no idea who he is or what he’s written.

So, to answer the first question; no, I don’t have sooo much time on my hands that I just flitter around the www until I find stuff like this.  I actually stumbled upon it via Twitter and the illustrious T. James.  I have no idea how they decide who you write like, but it looks like I’m in fairly good company.

Wonder if I can put this in my query letter?

Write on!

15 responses

  1. Good company indeed 🙂 I’ll have to try this out sometime. Knowing my luck, I’ll be compared to my least favourite authors 😉

    May 17, 2012 at 6:36 am

    • LOL It’s interesting, that’s for sure.

      May 17, 2012 at 9:16 am

  2. joshlangston

    Hm. I suppose being advised by a computer program that “You write like Geoff Chaucer” — or any other human for that matter — is vastly better than being told you write like crap. Which, I hasten to add, you certainly don’t!

    As evidenced by BD&L, you have a unique style: a voice that’s both clever and humorous. It’s a mix that makes the edgy material edgier and the funny material funnier. You don’t need to write “like” anyone else; you just need to write.

    May 17, 2012 at 8:35 am

  3. My WIP, PRETTY SACRIFICES, is written in an usual style, not only shifting viewpoints but moving from first to third person. It also shifts in time and includes some poetry. So…

    I plugged in three different excerpts.

    One (present day, first person) said I wrote like Arthur C. Clarke (of 2001 – A Space Odyssey fame).

    The second snippet (present day, third person) said I wrote like Dan Brown (DaVinci Code, etc.).

    The third excerpt (historical, first person, including poetry) said I wrote like Rudyard Kipling (famous for his fiction and poetry).

    I don’t think I write like any of the above-mentioned, but it is very interesting! (I would rather have been likened to Anne Rice or Stephen King. LOL!)

    As an aside, to test the system, I took a second snippet from a different part of the book that was present day, first person and it once again came up as Arthur Clarke.

    Things that make you go hmmm…

    May 17, 2012 at 9:10 am

    • That’s funny, Devin. I did the same thing to test their system, out came up the same as well. Interesting little diversion.

      May 17, 2012 at 9:14 am

    • That was meant to read, “an unusual style.” Not fully awake yet!

      May 17, 2012 at 9:16 am

  4. Okay, so now I have to go tell other writers about it. Thanks for bringing it to my attention, Ah, more shiny things to distract me… LOL!

    May 17, 2012 at 9:23 am

  5. Ha, I tried this and got a completely different author for each page of the same manuscript I tried. I’m not entirely sure it’s not a random author generator ;o)

    May 17, 2012 at 2:28 pm

  6. Interesting. I’ll have to check this out…

    May 17, 2012 at 7:44 pm

  7. Great post. I don’t know if the program works or not, but I do know it was pretty fun to mess around with. (At least for me.) I plugged in a few random pages from my blog, and it returned all of them as HP Lovecraft. Then out of curiosity, I plugged in an excerpt from my first Novel, All Are Broken, and it returned Mary Shelly. Finally, I tried and excerpt from my latest work, and it came back as Kurt Vonnegut. I like all of those writers, but I don’t particularly think I write like them. Oh well, it was fun, a nice little distraction.

    May 18, 2012 at 3:01 pm

    • Yeah, I’m not sure what they use to figure it but it was a fun distraction. Like I need more of those!

      May 18, 2012 at 9:51 pm

  8. Apparently I’m a cross between Tolkien, Tolstoy and Mary Shelley. Woo-hoo!

    May 18, 2012 at 9:15 pm

    • Ooooh….I like that. 🙂

      May 18, 2012 at 9:49 pm

      • Dan Brown comes up an awful lot, too.

        May 18, 2012 at 11:23 pm

Leave a Reply

