Vibrations of the Soul

“. . .  music is nothing more than vibrations that are felt through our soul.”  ~ Sully Erna

I have rather eclectic tastes in music.  My collection of tapes (yes, I still have cassettes, not 8-tracks — but you’ve just dated yourself if you know what those are), albums (uh-huh, vinyl), and CD’s includes movie soundtracks, classical music, alternative, rock — I even have one CD of Gregorian chants and yes, I do listen to it on occasion.  My favorites tend to be moody, sometimes dark, normally powerful pieces that stir something, like the quote above, in my soul.

I now have a new favorite to add to my list.  Avalon is Sully Erna’s solo album.  Most folks know Sully Erna as the front man for Godsmack and, to be honest, until I stumbled across it by accident late last week, I never knew he did any solo work.  There are basically only two Godsmack songs I’ve found that I like:  Voodoo and Serenity.  Both are more tribal and moody than most of the tracks I’ve heard from the group.  Avalon has the same feel.

Sinner’s Prayer is the first track I discovered off Avalon.  It smacked me up alongside the head because it fit a character I’d been writing about to a tee.  (You guys remember Fletch, right?  No?  Go HERE and read Greylands.)  I’ve never had a song become a character’s theme, but this one fit so perfectly with a scene I had just written, and with the character in general, that it will forever remind me of him.

Anyhow, that track prompted me to listen to the others and hence pop over to Amazon and place my order.  The album has now entered the rotation of those I play while writing.  I need music when I write.  Oh, heck, I need music for just about everything I do, but especially when I’m creating.  Music helps move me out of the here and now and propel me headlong into the world I’ve created.  It makes it easier for me to enter my characters’ heads, to touch their emotions, and hopefully bring that to the reader.  Even though half the time I couldn’t tell you what song is playing, because it’s more a background sound than anything, I need it.  I need the vibrations in my soul to resonate through my writing.

What about it?  Do you write in a catacomb of silence?  What music does your muse dance to?

Write on!

15 responses

  1. Avalon is a great choice, Kathi! Thanks for introducing me 🙂 I, too, need music when I’m writing – not so much when I’m editing. Writing tunes depend on the scene, on the character, on the book. It can vary from Massive Attack to Enya to ES Posthumus. Mostly music that ties in with my subconscious, that I can dive into without be aware of.

    June 7, 2012 at 5:16 am

    • Yes, I agree on the editing bit. I’m much more. . . focused. . . when I’m editing, and if there is music on it’s very faint, and probably just the radio.

      June 7, 2012 at 5:43 am

  2. I can’t write without music on! I do need some background sound to be inspired 🙂 I actually wrote a post on this topic a few months back, if you want to check it out: http://emcastellan.com/2012/03/10/music-for-writing/ Have a great day!

    June 7, 2012 at 5:54 am

    • Interesting selection of music. I might have to check a few of those out. 🙂

      June 7, 2012 at 6:28 am

  3. Lovely quote… as a writer I write in silence only… but my ideas come to me sometimes, actually alot, while listening to music… its a great stimulus to my creativity.
    Regards,
    A. H. Amin

    June 7, 2012 at 3:10 pm

    • I think because I can see the images so vividly in my head, it’s like a movie that needs a soundtrack. 🙂

      June 7, 2012 at 5:09 pm

      • Exactly… it gives emotions to your idea… which is what a good novel needs… capturing the emotion.
        And also, it stimulate our dormant ideas in our subconscious, best ideas are from there, since our conscious is always busy with our reality. 🙂

        June 7, 2012 at 5:14 pm

  4. Leila

    The right music will take me deep into my characters or stories. Music nourishes my soul as well as freeing my creative muse. I have everything from Handel to Mountain Kings to Foo Fighters. Depends on the mood.

    Sully Erna’s album has moved to the top of my music list. I love it when friends share what has and is inspiring them. Thanks!

    June 9, 2012 at 8:52 pm

    • I’ve found this especially true in the emotional or high drama scenes where I really want to get into that character.

      June 10, 2012 at 6:57 am

  5. I write to noise. I have a program called AudioTest that generates white, pink, brown and Gaussian noise. You can try SimplyNoise.com, too.

    June 12, 2012 at 2:17 pm

    • I didn’t realize there were so many “colors” of noise. That’s bizarre. I’ll have to check it out and see what they’re all about. I’m only familiar with white noise.

      June 12, 2012 at 8:00 pm

      • There’s also blue, violet and gray noise. They’re all explained on Wikipedia; the article is called “colors of noise.”

        June 12, 2012 at 9:44 pm

      • Well, dang! Now you’ve gone and done it. There’s something else I’ll have to research. Hmm….how to work noise colors into a plot . . .

        June 13, 2012 at 5:07 am

  6. Leila

    Love, Love, Love this album. Great harmonies, melodies, and lyrics. Thank you so much for recommending it.

    June 19, 2012 at 4:32 pm

    • I might be wearing my CD out already. 😉 Glad you enjoyed it.

      June 19, 2012 at 7:29 pm

Leave a Reply

