Barbecueing Grandma, and Other Comma Catastrophies

Welcome to the first edition of Friday Frivolity.  Today, commas!  Prompted by a great example:

Without further ado, and adon’t, I present:  Commastrophies!

A panda enters a cafe’ . He orders a sandwich, eats it, and then pulls out a gun & starts shooting. As he gets up to leave, the  waiter demands an explanation.  The panda hands him a poorly punctuated wildlife guide booklet.  The waiter flips to the bookmarked page and reads the description for panda. “Panda. Large black-and-white bear-like mammal, native to China. Eats, shoots and leaves.”

Oh my! Her poor family and dog. I wonder if they were cooked together, or seperately?

‘Nuff said.

So remember your umbrellas when you go out.

And, for all the geeks…

 Write on! (With proper punctuation, please!)

3 responses

  1. What’s scary about my own writing is that commas are my worst thing. I sure hope that one of my own comma catastrophies isn’t made famous like those listed above!

    June 16, 2012 at 11:10 am

    • Ha, ha!! Hopefully you will never have an example show up on the commastrophies list!

      June 17, 2012 at 6:29 am

  2. Fantastic examples Kathi!! The “Let’s eat Grandma” one is probably the most referred to (and my favourite). I used a couple of those in my first year college English course. Most of them still didn’t get it. Ah well, we try our best and if grandma’s still get eaten, the fault is not on our shoulders! …. and yes, I just paid extra careful attention to comma placement in this comment.

    June 17, 2012 at 6:58 pm

Leave a Reply

