Writerly Quotes for Friday’s Frivolity

“In the same way that a woman becomes a prostitute. First I did it to please myself, then I did it to please my friends, and finally I did it for money.”
– Ferenc Molnar (1878-1952 – when asked how he became a writer)

 

“Some editors are failed writers, but so are most writers.”
– T. S. Eliot (1888-1965)

 

“I never made a mistake in grammar but one in my life and as soon as I done it I seen it.”
– Carl Sandburg (1878-1967)

 

“He can compress the most words into the smallest idea of any man I know.”
– Abraham Lincoln (1809-1865)

 

“I can write better than anybody who can write faster, and I can write faster than anybody who can write better.”
– A. J. Liebling (1904-1963)

 

“A burro is an ass. A burrow is a hole in the ground. As a journalist you are expected to know the difference.”
– United Press International Stylebook, cited by Bill Walsh in “The Elephants of Style”

 

“Copy from one, it’s plagiarism; copy from two, it’s research.”
– Wilson Mizner (1876-1933)

 

“The pen is mightier than the sword, and considerably easier to write with.”
– Marty Feldman (1934-1982)

 

“From the moment I picked your book up until I laid it down I was convulsed with laughter. Some day I intend reading it.”
– Groucho Marx (1895-1977)

 

“Writing well means never having to say, ‘I guess you had to be there.’”
– Jef Mallett (b. 1962)

Write on!

6 responses

  1. Leila

    Great quotes. They made my Friday!

    August 3, 2012 at 7:42 am

    • Glad I could bring a giggle. 🙂

      August 4, 2012 at 7:31 am

  2. Pat

    Made my Saturday as well! Thank you.

    August 4, 2012 at 3:34 am

    • Glad I could brighten your day. 🙂

      August 4, 2012 at 7:28 am

  3. Wonderful! Do you know who Lincoln was talking about by the way? Seems to me Lincoln was known for his quips, which always impressed me because I never would have guessed based on his seemingly somber personality.

    August 4, 2012 at 11:59 am

  4. Love quotes, glad you shared some 🙂

    August 4, 2012 at 5:23 pm

Leave a Reply

