One More – The Next Big Thing

I was also tagged last week by Leila over at Write Am I in:Next-Big-ThingIn this blog hop I must answer some questions, then pass along to two deserving others.  First, the questions.

1. What is the working title of your book?

First of Her Kind  is Book 1 in the Darkness and Light series, and that’s finished, in final editing/formatting, cover work being completed.  Current WIP is Emergence:  A Darkness & Light Novel  Book 2

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

Um . . . my muses.  *shrug*  Seriously.  I just decided I was going to finish a novel for once and all.  I’m a pantser, so I started with a vague idea of some characters and an opening line:  There was nothing for it, within another turn of the glass, Meriol would be dead.  Well, that line no longer exists, but I finished the novel.

3. What genre does your book fall under?

Fantasy.  Going by the definitions in a recent There and Draft Again post, it would have to be Epic.  Although I think I have some Grittiness to it.

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Last time I was asked this, I hadn’t a clue.  Now, Gerard Butler is definitely Bolin.  After some thought, Richard Armitage gets the nod for Donovan.  And for Ciara . . . that’s a tough one and I really can’t seem to find an actress I like. So I guess, if that time comes, we’ll put out a casting call and see what we get.

And, because he really is an important character, Sandeen would be played by this beauty.

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Everyone, it seems, has plans for Ciara, when all she wants is to keep the two magics she possess from ripping her apart.

6. What is the longer synopsis of your book?

I won’t give you the synopsis because that would include some spoilers.  Instead, the back cover blurb is yours to peruse:  It seems everyone wants to dictate what Ciara does with her life:  Serve the Goddess, destroy the Goddess, do as you promised your aunt — all Ciara really wants is to keep the two magics she possesses from ripping her apart.

And that’s not going to be easy.

Not only is her earth magic in complete opposition to her other power, blood ties pull her in divergent directions as well.  And then there’s Bolin, the man sworn to protect her.  There’s no denying the growing attraction between them, but is it Ciara he wants, or her power?

None of which will matter if Ciara can’t overcome her fear and learn how to use her gifts.  No one knows the depths of the ancient power she possesses, or what will happen if it manages to escape her control.  Will she lose herself entirely?  Or be forever trapped between darkness and light?

7. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

As little as three months ago I would have answered that with a resounding, “Traditional route, of course!” without batting an eye or even considering the options.  I was steadfastly on that path.  Now?  The publishing industry is changing.  I embrace change.  First of Her Kind  will be self-published in print & e-book and is scheduled for release in January.

8. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

At least a year.  Seriously.  And then several years of rewrites and editing.  I suffer terrible rewriteritis.  The hardest thing for me to do is move forward without reworking what I’ve just written.  It took great will-power.  That and I work full time, have a bunch of dogs, a small hobby farm, a husband, and a group of other people who occasionally demand I pay attention to them.  Can you say juggle?

9. Who or What inspired you to write this book?

Same answer as #2.  I’ve been diddling with writing since I was a kid filling notebooks with penciled tales.  My mom was a librarian so I read as much as I did anything else.  I guess if you need an actual person as my inspiration, it would be her.

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Hmm, that’s a toughy.  I think there is something for everyone.  There’s magic, fighting, dry humor, a little bit of torture, a little bit of romance . . . the hint of bigger things to come in Book 2.  Have I piqued anyone yet?

Now, who am I tagging?  I’m going to weasel out on this one and ask if you’re interested in telling us what your Next Big Thing is, grab the badge, give me a shout-out, and post your answers.

crackwip

5 responses

  1. Your novel sounds insanely cool. I love the idea that she’s fighting with two powers inside her. It kind of reminds me of the Wheel of Time, except in that book the male wizards are trying to stop their power from driving them crazy. So it’s not the same at all, lol. Anyway, keep us posted! Your book is definitely going on my wish list!

    December 17, 2012 at 7:17 am

    • Thanks, Michelle. I’ve been working on bits and pieces of book two and it’s taking some crazy turns I never expected. Such fun!

      December 17, 2012 at 4:00 pm

  2. I love the sound of your novel. Up until recently I didn’t read a lot of fantasy, but the winds are changing. This sounds like a book I would enjoy.

    December 18, 2012 at 3:49 am

    • Thanks, Kate. 🙂 Hopefully you’ll find it one of those fantasy books you like. There aren’t any unicorns or fairies, I’ve stayed away from the majority of fantasy tropes. I think if I had to give it a deeper theme, it would be about relationships, and getting comfortable in our own skin.

      December 18, 2012 at 5:01 am

  3. Sounds like a great book! I was firmly trying to trad publish for over a year. I too am moving in the self publishing direction. Excited to watch your journey. 😉

    December 30, 2012 at 11:22 am

Leave a Reply

