Wednesday WIPpet With Another First of Her Kind Tease

20 lines for the 20th. Don’t forget, if you’re a WIPpeteer, add your url to the InLinkz thingie ——> and grab the code to add to your own site. If you’re not a WIPpeteer, go read them.ย  ๐Ÿ™‚ And, if you’re wondering where I’ll be for the Blog Tour today, venture over to Write Am I and see what questions Leila got me to answer.

The servants emptied their buckets into the polished wooden tub that stood close enough to the fire to benefit from its warmth. None of them spoke to her or even glanced up from their duties, and Ciara saved her irritation for the bird man.

“Dora will see to your needs,” he said to her as he took the empty bucket from a short, round woman who studiously avoided meeting Ciaraโ€™s eyes. “Is there anything else I can get for you?”

“I think you know the answer to that question,” Ciara said, and then silently added, you can take me to Bolin, with a not-so-subtle mental push to do as she said.

His smile twitched. “You will find Dora as warded against magic as I am, lady. My lord Donovan is most wise in these matters.”

He bowed and left, the lock clicking behind him. Ciara sucked in a breath. She thought of letting it out in a blood curdling scream until her gaze fell on Dora. The woman’s brown eyes were nearly as round as her face, and her brows had disappeared into her hairline. Ciara released the breath in an exasperated sigh.

“Is he like that to everyone?” she asked.

“Colm? Yes, mistress.” Dora averted her eyes, the imminent danger past, and bobbed her head at the tub. “The water’s getting cold. Shall I help you undress?”

“Help me-” Ciara felt her cheeks color, and she shook her head.

chapflourish

10 responses

  1. “Help me-” O.o Teeheehee

    So she obviosuly has some control over her abilities by now, or is it more of a “Hey! Look what I can do!” skill at this point? Like a little kid wiggling a loose tooth with his tonuge? Very intriguing.

    February 20, 2013 at 11:20 am

    • LOL yep.
      She has control of her earth magic. It’s the other bit . . .

      February 20, 2013 at 7:13 pm

  2. This snippet has successfully teased and intrigued me!

    February 20, 2013 at 12:08 pm

    • Hurray! ๐Ÿ˜€

      February 20, 2013 at 7:12 pm

  3. Brr, that made me cold thinking of taking a bath the “old fashioned” way. And good job portraying Colm as a true jerk.

    February 20, 2013 at 1:15 pm

    • My beta gave me lots of flack for the wooden tub, but I researched those darn things!! Yes, I’m a super hot water type. I would not have enjoyed that in the least.

      February 20, 2013 at 7:11 pm

  4. Loving the WIPpeteer thing… (sad how much that appeals to me actually). Another really great WIPpet. Am reading First of Her Kind now (just encountered Donovan for the first time!) – so nice to get a sneak peek ahead. Hoping both Ciara and Bolin do well in the lair of the beast (so to speak)!

    February 20, 2013 at 3:21 pm

    • *starts humming and walks away with hands clasped behind back* *waves* Thanks! *hums*

      February 20, 2013 at 7:10 pm

  5. Great teaser here. Makes me want to read more. ๐Ÿ™‚ Lots of conflict coming through. And a hint of embarrassment at the end. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    February 21, 2013 at 3:01 pm

    • Yeah, she’s not used to such treatment. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      February 21, 2013 at 4:05 pm

Leave a Reply

