Wednesday WIPpet from First of Her Kind

For the 27th, I give you approximately 27 lines (plus or minus) from First of Her Kind introducing you to Grumnlin, a minor character of possibly  not minor importance.

The squat figure, no taller than a child, climbed onto a boulder and sat. He passed a wriggling toad from one hand to the other. Every now and again he raised his gnarled face and sniffed the air like a questing hound.Bolin left Sandeen hidden among the trees and approached from downwind, moving quietly. He covered the last two strides swiftly, and slid his arm around the man’s thick neck, cutting off his air as he hoisted him off the boulder. The man let out a garbled cry, followed by a sickening squish from the toad as his hands tightened reflexively. He kicked his feet, and clawed at Bolin’s arm with gore covered fingers.

“Let go! Let go!”

“Be still or die, Grumnlin,” Bolin said, his mouth close to the man’s ear. “Who’re you waiting for?”

“No wait!” Grumnlin kicked harder and Bolin squeezed until the man could only gasp. When he stopped thrashing, Bolin lowered him back to the boulder and loosened his grip. “Watch.” Grumnlin sobbed loudly. “Lady say watch.”

“For me?”

Grumnlin twisted his head to get a look at Bolin’s face. His own, dirt smeared face — the bits not covered by hair — showed streaks of tears, and flecks of toad innards.

“You,” he said.

“And what were you to do when you saw me?”

Grumnlin folded his arms across his chest. Bolin spun him around and wrapped his fingers around the man’s throat to keep him there. “Tell me why I shouldn’t kill you.”

Grumnlin’s eyes bulged and he pushed at Bolin’s fingers. “Need me.”

Looking for more? Pick up your copy of First of Her Kind in paperback and e-versions.

chapflourish

13 responses

  1. Great character intro. Sounds like a whiny little imp, but one that could potentially grow to be likable 🙂

    February 27, 2013 at 5:56 am

    • Likeable. Not really a word I’ve ever thought of using for Grumnlin. Although, some people like the weirdest things.

      February 27, 2013 at 6:06 am

  2. hmmm … makes me wonder if he’s going to turn into a kind of Smeagle character, being utterly important and still completely dangerous. I like the name you chose too. Grumnlin … kind of sounds like a grumpy gremlin! I really enjoyed reading this WIPpet! Congrats on finishing the blog tour, btw.

    February 27, 2013 at 5:59 am

    • He will have a future roll to play, but it’s slightly hazy at the moment. 🙂

      February 27, 2013 at 6:04 am

  3. Grumnlin sounds like a great character to write and you bring him to life brilliantly in this scene. Loved the ‘flecks of toad innards’ description.

    And yes, it does make me want to read more, so much so that I’m going to buy a copy of First of Her Kind and add it to my ever-growing list of books to read!

    February 27, 2013 at 7:39 am

    • Thanks. He is rather interesting. I’m glad it pushed you into putting FOHK on your TBR list. 🙂 That pile can never be big enough!

      February 27, 2013 at 4:47 pm

  4. Grumnlin reminds me of Smeagol, like Alana said. Or Samuel from the Sword of Truth series. I love Bolin’s line — “Be still or die, Grumnlin. Who’re you waiting for?” He sounds so macho ❤

    February 27, 2013 at 9:01 am

    • Bolin *sigh* I admit, I’m crushing on my own character. Well, the times I don’t want to kick him in the arse, that is.

      February 27, 2013 at 5:00 pm

      • Isn’t that always the way, though? 😀

        February 27, 2013 at 6:34 pm

  5. jessicaminyard

    I’m loving these WIPpets. I can’t wait to read your debut, Kathi! 🙂

    February 27, 2013 at 10:23 am

    • Thanks, Jessica! I certainly hope you enjoy it when you get to it.

      February 27, 2013 at 5:00 pm

  6. I like Grumnlin in this passage – and in the book. He is exactly who he is and is stubbornly true to himself all the way through. (And I particularly like Bolin when he is forced to deal with him). Another great WIPpet!

    February 27, 2013 at 4:38 pm

    • I’m afraid Bolin would love to wring Grumnlin’s neck. But, he is an honorable sort, so he’d have to be pushed to it.

      February 27, 2013 at 5:02 pm

Leave a Reply

