Seven Things About Me

Okay, I had to take a little breather after the Blog Tour. *whew* What fun that was. Did I mention that already? And thank all those who so kindly participated? Okay, I did. But can’t ever do enough. 😉 Moving on.

Right before the Blog Tour, I was awarded the:very-inspiring-blogger-award

from two awesome fellow-bloggers, Leila at Write Am I and Raewyn at Dreaming of Other Realms. As this is a Pay it Forward and Share the Fun award, I’m to tell seven things about myself and then pass the award on to other Bloggers I admire.   So, first the seven things, totally non-writer related:

  1. I am occasionally stubborn to the point of giving common sense the ol’ heave ho in favor of whatever I’ve decided to be stubborn about. This scenario usually plays itself out in situations where I’m either told I physically can’t do something,  or someone has refused to help me do something physically requiring two people. At times like these, I am She-Ra. Well, in my head, anyhow.
  2. I’m considering getting a tattoo on my right wrist. This one.  Because it totally suits me.
  3. I want to learn how to play the violin. Why? Because nothing can give me chills like haunting music played on that instrument. However, I don’t read music very well, have tried learning the guitar and the piano at various times in my childhood, and only just managed to fumble my way through the recorder. I’m thinking playing the violin is something that is going to have to wait for my next life time.
  4. I believe in next life times. And past lifetimes.
  5. Throughout the course of growing up I wanted to be a ballerina, a semi-truck driver, a dog trainer, a horse trainer, an artist, an author, a veterinarian, and an astronaut. Helicopter pilot was probably in there somewhere as well.
  6. I’ve decided there isn’t any one thing I’d go back and change in my life, because if you trace even the smallest change, it has huge ramifications. That could possibly mean I wouldn’t be where I am right now. And, though not perfect, here is pretty okay at the moment.
  7. My family nickname was Charlie, short for Charlie Brown because I loved the Peanuts. I occasionally still get called Char by one of my siblings. I never minded the nickname, but I was actually more partial to Snoopy. The character, not as a name.

There you have it. Now I’m supposed to pass this award along to others. I’m notoriously bad at this because not every Blogger cares participate in the awards. That’s fine. There’s no obligation. Just know that I find your blog Inspiring, and hope my readers will buzz over, give it a peak, and agree. (Also, my readers should buzz over to the Blogs of the two lovely ladies who presented this award to me. Should I add a #8? I’m sort of bossy.) So, in no particular order, I pass this award to:

chapflourish

19 responses

  1. Wow your facts about yourself are really interesting! Much more so than mine, which I did a few weeks ago. I like what you said that you wouldn’t go back and change anything in your life. I would like to have that perspective in my own life; so often I find myself agonising over things I’ve said and decisions I’ve made in the past. It’s so much better to just accept that you can’t go back, and as you suggest to see it from the point of view that it’s better that way anyway.

    March 4, 2013 at 10:49 am

    • Thanks, Elaine. There are plenty of things I’d change — but not at the expense of where I am.

      March 4, 2013 at 4:02 pm

  2. Aww, thank you! *blushes* Love your 7 facts, especially the tattoo one 🙂 Do it!

    March 4, 2013 at 1:07 pm

    • I’m guessing before the year is out I’ll have that tattoo!

      March 4, 2013 at 4:02 pm

  3. It’s nice to have my suspicions confirmed (grin). Thanks for sharing!

    March 4, 2013 at 9:30 pm

    • Ah, so you already guessed I’d wanted to be a helicopter pilot?

      March 5, 2013 at 5:08 am

  4. I learned the violin for a few years. All I can say is I’m glad I lived on a farm, so no near neighbours. There was nothing haunting about it except the violin sounded like it was in death throes. However I look at those little children who make the thing sing and I’m glad there’s always someone else!

    Char is such a cute nickname (although I was partial to Snoopy too)!

    March 4, 2013 at 11:36 pm

    • You have to make sure you pronounce Char with a hard ‘ch’ as in, “don’t char my burger!” as opposed to the soft, seductive, ‘ch’ as in, “Shar is so adorable.”

      LOL Yeah, I’m thinking I’d be haunting in the totally wrong way on the violin! Of course, it would make for an excellent form of torture.

      March 5, 2013 at 5:07 am

  5. I tried the violin too. Always sounded like a cat to me. I hated practicing because it hurt my ears to have the thing so near.

    I like the potential tattoo. Do you have any others?

    March 5, 2013 at 12:03 pm

    • Nope, this would be my first and likely only tattoo.

      Maybe I could practice with ear plugs in and just gauge my progress by how often the ambulance shows up at the house.

      March 5, 2013 at 4:39 pm

      • Just a warning: I’m told tattoos on bony areas (such as ankles/wrists) tend to be more painful than tattoos on fleshy areas (shoulders/forearms).

        That might work. Either that or record yourself and play it back on low volume. 🙂

        March 5, 2013 at 8:26 pm

      • Yeah, I have a lot of friends & some family with tattoos — I get various reports on pain level. 🙂 But, I’d rather have it somewhere *I* can see it and not someplace that’s likely to (continue) sagging. Of course, I also wonder why, at this stage in my life, I’ve decided I need one??

        March 6, 2013 at 5:06 am

  6. Congrats on your award, and I love the fun facts. Tell me about that tattoo? Is there some significance behind it, or is it just a really cool image? 🙂

    March 5, 2013 at 7:38 pm

    • Well, I’m a tiny bit Irish, love Ireland, could happily go live there but would have to convince the family, and I’ve had/raised dogs my entire life. So, the celtic dog, well, kind of embraces a lot of what I am.

      March 5, 2013 at 7:44 pm

      • Then it sounds like the perfect tattoo for you. 🙂

        March 5, 2013 at 8:04 pm

  7. Thank YOU for passing The Very Inspiring Blogger Award. I’m tickled pink with pleasure.

    I know I subscribed to your blog a while ago but am not being notified of new post. I shall subscribe again. Thanks again.

    March 5, 2013 at 8:57 pm

    • You’re most welcome!

      March 6, 2013 at 5:06 am

  8. That tattoo looks AMAZING! (I would love one like that, but I couldn’t pull it off :D) Interesting facts, and congratulations on the award!

    March 12, 2013 at 3:17 pm

    • Thanks, Ravena. I’m thinking of doing a temporary one and living with it for a while, just to make sure. 😉

      March 12, 2013 at 3:39 pm

Leave a Reply

