WIPpet, WIPpet Good!

Fine, bad pun title.

Today’s WIPpet is from Chapter 13 of Emergence and just slightly over 13 lines. To set the scene just a tad, the group is riding through the Greensward at night, and the men have just realized that Nialyne is responsible for the gentle glow lighting their path. Magic is something not everyone is comfortable with, as is the case with Garek. (As usual, keep in mind, this is first draft stuff you’re seeing. Which means it’s ROUGH, and may or may not make editing cuts.)

Bolin heard the men whispering in soft tones, awe in their voices. They’d obviously realized the light was Nialyne’s doing.

Beside him, Garek gave a shudder. “Spooky stuff. Don’t know how you deal with it.”

The way Sandeen felt like a coiled spring beneath him, Bolin guessed the stallion had no appreciation for the much spookier stuff in his saddlebag. He tossed his head and pranced, and Garek’s horse shifted sideways, ears pinned back.

“What’s got him all bothered?” Garek asked.

Bolin reached out to stroke Sandeen’s neck. “My baggage.”

“That explains nothing.”

“I don’t think you really want a more involved explanation.”

Garek caught his meaningful look and rolled his eyes. “I’ll not avoid it on this trip, will I?”

“Not likely.”

“Well, you can keep it.” He dropped a hand to his sword. “Me and the lads will trust sinew and steel.”

“Let’s hope those will suffice.”

Okay, now click the Linky button and go visit the other WIPpeteers or spooky stuff may just befall you.

chapflourish

20 responses

  1. I think I’ll like this Garek. Whether it stays or not, I’m glad you posted! A great look into some of the characters 🙂

    March 13, 2013 at 5:49 am

    • Yes, I do believe you and Garek would get on well. He’s quite a character. 😉

      March 13, 2013 at 3:41 pm

  2. Great dialogue between Bolin and Garak and a good contrast between magic and brawn. I’m intrigued to know what the ‘spooky stuff’ in Bolin’s saddlebag is…

    March 13, 2013 at 8:29 am

    • I shall not reveal the spooky stuff! Hee, hee, hee. That would be too close to a spoiler.

      March 13, 2013 at 3:42 pm

  3. Intriguing! I just came from looking at the other WIPpeteers. I might just join in- and I’m going to have to follow your blog to get more of this story. 🙂

    March 13, 2013 at 9:51 am

    • Thanks for stopping by, Kate. I will say, book two is going to be a bit darker and more involved than book one.

      March 13, 2013 at 3:43 pm

  4. I like the characterisation of the two men and the way the horse’s unease comes into it too – he obviously doesn’t like the situation either. Good stuff!

    March 13, 2013 at 11:25 am

    • Thanks, Elaine. Sandeen becomes very much his own character in this series and usually does a good job of demanding page space. 🙂

      March 13, 2013 at 3:44 pm

  5. I’m intrigued, Kathi!

    March 13, 2013 at 1:06 pm

  6. joshlangston

    Well done! Like someone else said above, I may have to join become a part of this process, too.

    March 13, 2013 at 2:03 pm

    • Thank you, sir. 😉

      March 13, 2013 at 3:46 pm

  7. *snicker* I’m sure the WIP-whip thing will get old for lots of people really quickly, but I think it’s fun. 🙂

    So… is the bag filled with dark magic? Or the head of a dark magician? Ambiguous bags have so much potential for the imagination. They’ve held such interesting things over the years. Demons, perhaps? Or maybe Medussa has come along for the ride…

    March 13, 2013 at 3:27 pm

    • Can I use “Ambiguous Bags” for my band name?

      March 13, 2013 at 3:36 pm

      • LOL I can see a character name Ambiguous Bags. Strikes me as some sort of merchant.

        March 13, 2013 at 3:48 pm

      • Sounds good to me! What kind of band? 😀

        March 13, 2013 at 3:55 pm

      • Mysterious old-lady metal, of course.

        March 13, 2013 at 4:37 pm

    • I will not reveal the contents of said bag. I leave that up to your very active imagination. ;0

      March 13, 2013 at 3:47 pm

  8. Of course I want to know what’s in the saddle bag, and a nice set up for later unleashing. I have a soft spot for Sandeen. For a horse he’s a great character, I like that he doesn’t like the contents of the bag, but I know he’s tough enough to deal when things get tough.

    March 13, 2013 at 4:46 pm

Leave a Reply

