A WIPpet of a Different Sort

Today I give you something entirely different for WIPpet Wednesday. I’ve had an urban fantasy/paranormal type WIP pestering me for some time (well over a year). Little snips of it are sitting in a file and I have a very sketchy idea who’s involved and what’s happening. Very vague. I haven’t given it a lot of attention, being focused mainly on getting the first draft of Emergence finished. Since I’ve slammed into an immense wall in my quest to finish the First Draft, I’m trying to distract my brain with other things. This being one of those things. So here are 20 lines for the 20th —Β  a first look at what may or may not develop into a full-blown ms.

Ethan walked to the window and stared out at the night without seeing it. He watched Gabriel’s reflection in the glass instead. “I won’t kill her.”

“Yes you will.”

“No.” He turned resolutely. “You want her dead, handle it yourself. I’m out of it. All of it.”

Gabriel shrugged. “Your choice. But need I remind you what out of it means for you? What your very limited options are?”

An image flashed in Ethan’s mind. Hell in all its glory. An image complete with all the pain that went with it. A brief second of torture. He glared at Gabriel when it passed. “Nice,” he snarled.

“It’s your choice,” Gabriel said.

chapflourish

28 responses

  1. I’ve decided for you- full-blown MS it is πŸ˜‰ I’d love to read more!

    March 20, 2013 at 5:15 am

    • Hee, hee, hee. Thanks. I’m leaning that way. πŸ™‚

      March 20, 2013 at 5:18 am

  2. I loved the interaction between your characters and the tension in the scene. πŸ™‚

    March 20, 2013 at 5:35 am

    • Thanks. I think it’s a keeper.

      March 20, 2013 at 5:36 am

  3. Yeah, I’m gonna need to see more of this!

    March 20, 2013 at 6:43 am

    • Be careful what you wish for, it gets a bit dark.

      March 20, 2013 at 7:34 am

  4. Ooh, this is intriguing and a real tease just having 20 lines… I totally agree with the others – we need more! If this snippet is anything to go by it’s well worth continuing.

    March 20, 2013 at 7:40 am

    • Thanks, Kate. I’ve been jotting down random notes on it all day. Too bad I’m at work *cough* and can’t work on it right now.

      March 20, 2013 at 12:38 pm

  5. crEEEEEpy! Hell in all its glory? Yuck! (by which I mean good job!)

    March 20, 2013 at 10:23 am

    • Hmm . . . “Yuck” as a compliment. I think I like that. πŸ˜‰

      March 20, 2013 at 12:37 pm

    • Oh, and it gets much creepier.

      March 20, 2013 at 12:37 pm

  6. jessicaminyard

    I’d love to see more of this!

    March 20, 2013 at 11:19 am

    • Thanks! There’s a very good chance you will. πŸ™‚

      March 20, 2013 at 12:36 pm

  7. Gosh this seems very ominous! Exciting too – will Ethan kill the unnamed woman?? I’d love to find out!

    March 20, 2013 at 12:52 pm

    • Hmm, I’m thinking you eventually just might. A lot of encouragement from 20 lines. πŸ™‚

      March 20, 2013 at 6:06 pm

  8. Sounds great to me. I think you should keep going.

    March 20, 2013 at 12:56 pm

    • Thanks, Kate. I think every writer needs more than one active WIP at a time. (Yes, certifiably crazy.)

      March 20, 2013 at 6:06 pm

  9. Most intriguing. Hope there will be more.

    March 20, 2013 at 2:07 pm

    • It sounds like there most definitely will be. I’m very encouraged by the response.

      March 20, 2013 at 6:07 pm

  10. Very cool. I think this definitely could be a manuscript in the making. πŸ™‚

    March 20, 2013 at 4:10 pm

    • Okay, waving my magic WIP wand . . . *poof* It now has its own official Scrivener file. That means something.

      March 20, 2013 at 6:08 pm

  11. *shiver* You like to do creepy villains, don’t you? Poor Ethan.

    March 20, 2013 at 8:48 pm

    • Thanks. Love me a good villian. Hee, hee, hee. Let’s me explore my evil side — without the prison sentence.

      March 21, 2013 at 6:33 am

      • Yes. Explore evil side for the entertainment of the world: good. (Maybe? How evil are you?) Prison sentence: bad (Which also depends on how truly evil you are. Hmm…)

        March 21, 2013 at 12:41 pm

      • Mwahahahahaha.

        That is all. πŸ˜€

        March 21, 2013 at 2:56 pm

  12. Emily

    Dammit, you have me completely hooked! I want to know who Ethan is supposed to kill, and why, and what his limited options are, and who Gabriel is… Definitely wouldn’t complain about seeing more of this!

    March 20, 2013 at 11:51 pm

    • Thanks, Emily. It has now been moved to the front burner. Good thing I have two of those! πŸ˜‰

      March 21, 2013 at 6:32 am

Leave a Reply

