Giveaways and WIPpet Wednesday

Happy WIPpet Wednesday! First, some business to attend to. If you haven’t seen my giveaway, <cue trumpets and much fanfare> I’m offering a signed copy of both First of Her Kind and the anthology Witch Hunt: Of the Blood which includes my novella Blood Tells All. The anthology hit the Best Seller list on Amazon the first couple weeks it was out. Guess that makes me a best-selling author, huh? All you have to do to get a chance to win is be in the US (sorry, shipping costs) and go Here to sign up.

Now, speaking of giveaways and Best Selling Authors, my friend, fellow writer, member of the Grand Illustrious IMPire, top notch Shredder Beta reader, (did I mention Best Selling Author?) Sage of the South Josh Langston, is hosting a Goodreads Giveaway for his book Resurrection Blues (see my review here). He has also recently started up his own blog, Sage of the South so go visit and show him some love.

Now, on to today’s WIPpet. It is the 27th . . . so, I give you 27 lines of the new WIP, that elusive UF/PNR thing. A bit of a closer look at Ethan. And, if you missed it on my Facebook Page, below that is Ethan’s theme song. Well, one of them anyhow.

The hair line cracks in the plaster traced a delicate pattern across the ceiling, reminiscent of some ancient map. Ethan took a drag off his cigarette and puffed out a smoke ring, watching as it wafted skyward and dissipated against the ragged plaster. He rolled his head on his arm to take in the wan, digital display on the bedside clock. Three forty five. Too early even for him. Or too late, depending on your perspective. His gaze drifted off the clock to the puddle of light by the door and the plain brown envelope still lying on the floor.

It could rot there for all he cared.

He took another drag off the cigarette, and felt the weight beside him shift. “Can I have one of those?”

Ethan fished one out of the pack lying on the sheet next to him, lit it off his and passed it over without looking. He didn’t remember her name, not that he cared. She probably hadn’t given him her real one anyhow.

“Mind grabbing that for me when you leave?” He gestured to the envelope. “Your money’s on the dresser.”

She took the hint and got out of bed, getting dressed without a word. Ethan took another drag off the cigarette as the envelope landed on his mid-section.

“See you around,” she said on her way out but Ethan barely heard.

His thoughts had drifted to a different woman. Some mousy haired, middle aged, non-descript creature. A decoy. She hadn’t seen the car when she stepped from the curb. The driver hadn’t seen her. Over in an instant. For her, anyhow. Dead on impact, and a trip straight to the county morgue.

“How did I get so far from where I was? When did I decide to lose my way? Who have I become?”

chapflourish

30 responses

  1. Seems you and I have a theme going today. Ethan’s quite the bad boy. I really want to know what’s in the envelope! Great descriptions, the hints at something bigger going on behind the scene – love it.

    March 27, 2013 at 5:14 am

    • Gotta love a good bad boy. They have a way of keeping things interesting, don’t they?

      March 27, 2013 at 7:29 am

  2. Pingback: The 7 Line WIP Game & WIPpet Wednesday | EM Castellan

  3. Yeeeeah, I’m gonna need to see more of that… 🙂

    March 27, 2013 at 6:17 am

    • You and me both! 😉

      March 27, 2013 at 7:28 am

  4. This is very mystifying. I really want to know more about Ethan and the mystery woman he was in bed with! Also, what exactly happened to the woman mentioned in the last paragraph? Sounds like a hit and run but is there more to the story? Excellent!

    March 27, 2013 at 10:47 am

    • Oh so much more . . . and hopefully not at all what’s expected. 😉

      March 27, 2013 at 4:00 pm

  5. jessicaminyard

    Woah. love this WIPpet! Excellent job all around. I really want to know what’s in the envelope. And I reeeaallly want to know more about the decoy woman at the end.

    March 27, 2013 at 11:23 am

    • Thanks, Jessica. 🙂

      March 27, 2013 at 3:59 pm

  6. I’m going to add to the love Kathi! Some beautiful descriptions particularly in the first paragraph, plus lots of intrigue with the brown envelope (what’s in it?!) and the mysterious woman he remembers at the end. Really lovely.

    March 27, 2013 at 11:30 am

    • Thanks, Kate. I’m enjoying exploring this. It’s a bit of a different voice for me.

      March 27, 2013 at 3:58 pm

  7. Sounds kind of sleazy. I’m sure that’s what you were going for. I hope the woman was worth the $. 😉

    March 27, 2013 at 12:22 pm

    • Yep, sleaze it is. 🙂 I’m guessing she was just okay. Ethan doesn’t seem like it was all that great of a night.

      March 27, 2013 at 3:57 pm

      • Bummer. Hope he didn’t spend too much then.

        March 27, 2013 at 5:37 pm

  8. Fabulous. Lots of intrigue. I’m guessing his cut for arranging the hit is in the envelope. The lady in bed with him is his alibi or simply a treat while his adrenalin was pitched high, after the job. Anyway, this pulled me in all the way.

    March 27, 2013 at 2:28 pm

    • Close. Very close.

      March 27, 2013 at 3:56 pm

  9. That’s quite a departure from your usual high fantasy fare!

    March 27, 2013 at 3:26 pm

    • Yes, this WIP is quite removed from high fantasy. 🙂 Well, there are angel-types, demon-types, and a bit of the supernatural. Oh, let’s not forget the really long dagger. No magic or swords, though.

      March 27, 2013 at 3:56 pm

      • Oh good. At least there’s a dagger. The world is not completely upside-down. 😛

        March 27, 2013 at 4:02 pm

      • Not yet. Bwahahahahahahaa

        March 27, 2013 at 4:06 pm

  10. Reading it with the soundtrack even better! You set a great tone in this scene Kathi – I totally feel him.

    March 27, 2013 at 3:42 pm

    • Thanks. He has issues but I think he’ll grow on people. Kind of like mold . . . 😀

      March 27, 2013 at 3:54 pm

  11. Emily

    Love this excerpt, it has a very grungy atmosphere, and everything is still so mysterious!

    Also, so glad I’m not the only one who has theme songs and/or playlists for characters 😀

    March 27, 2013 at 4:44 pm

    • Theme songs/playlists really help set the mood, don’t they? I wish we could include CD’s of them with our books without having to spend hundreds of thousands of dollars to the artists responsible. *sigh* Not that they don’t deserve it . . .

      March 27, 2013 at 6:47 pm

  12. That was incredible. I loved the picture you painted of the room and Ethan’s character. He seems a bit different from some of the characters you’ve previously shown here but I liked it and hope to see more of him. 🙂

    March 27, 2013 at 5:59 pm

    • Thanks. 🙂 Oh yes, totally different. This WIP is pretty much unlike anything I’ve tackled before. I’m rather enjoying it and bounce between this and Emergence since that one is giving me fits.

      March 27, 2013 at 6:45 pm

  13. So… what’s in the envelope?! Great excerpt! 🙂

    March 28, 2013 at 8:22 am

    • I’ll tell you this much, it’s not an eviction notice. 😉

      March 28, 2013 at 3:41 pm

  14. Pingback: Some-Some Summertime | shanjeniah

  15. Really like this snippet, though Ethan’s cold treatment of the woman in his bed doesn’t make me more empathetic to him. I’m really drawn by what’s in that envelope! Do people still smoke? Seems like fewer and fewer folks do. Maybe that depends on who Ethan is, another side to his character. Really a fascinating snippet.

    October 28, 2014 at 11:18 pm

Leave a Reply

