ROW 80 ~ No Joke

So, here it is, April 1st, that notorious day of fools. I think it’s so cool we get our own day!

Anyhow, I decided on a spur-of-the-moment to join in this round of ROW 80. Mainly because I need to hold myself accountable and “git ‘er dun!”

If you don’t know what ROW 80 is, may I suggest you go HERE and check it out. This first post is supposed to be focus on stating our goals for this round. Erm . . . since I hadn’t really thought about it beforehand I’ll list two writing goals and revamp once my brain catches up with the fact that I’ve thrown my hat in the ring.

  1. Finish the first draft of Emergence ~ A Darkness & Light Novel, Book Two. If you’ve been following my blog at all lately, you know Emergence and I are squabbling. There is *much* wrong with the first draft. However, that’s what first drafts are for. I need to push myself to get through to the end so I can fix it. Floundering is not acceptable.
  2. I can’t hope to finish two first drafts in 80 days, I need to be realistic here. But I would also like to make significant headway on my urban fantasy/paranormal romance that I’ve posted snips of on WIPpet Wednesdays. It is tentatively being titled Crossing Paths. I know the characters, I have some idea of what’s going on, only one or two plot points to figure out since another character introduced herself to me over the weekend. You’ll be introduced to her on Wednesday.

That’s all for now. I will alter/adjust/revamp/revisit/or otherwise tweak when I wake up fully and realize what I’ve done.

Happy Monday!

chapflourish

9 responses

  1. Best wishes on your ROW80 goals. I almost forgot to add my goals to my post for today even though I decided last week to get back into the challenge. ROW80 really does help provide motivation to ‘git er done.’

    April 1, 2013 at 8:13 am

    • It did really help last year when I joined in. Then I got busy editing and marketing, so I didn’t do it for a few rounds. Best to get back in when I’ve got two WIPs to crack. πŸ˜‰

      April 2, 2013 at 5:09 am

  2. Glad you’re joining us for this round! Happy writing πŸ™‚

    April 1, 2013 at 12:00 pm

    • Thanks, Eve. This gets to be a busy time of year for me so I’ll need the accountability and arse kicking to keep me in line. πŸ˜€

      April 2, 2013 at 5:10 am

  3. I’m glad you’ve found a positive way to push through! Both of your stories sound great.

    April 1, 2013 at 2:14 pm

    • Thanks, Raewyn! I didn’t know if I could juggle both, but they are both so vastly different, with very different voices, that I don’t think it will be too difficult. I hope.

      April 2, 2013 at 5:11 am

  4. I checked ROW80 out and have joined up too – having some focus on my writing goals can only be a good thing. Good luck with pushing forwards with Emergence Book 2 and Crossing Paths. Here’s to the next 80 days!

    April 1, 2013 at 5:59 pm

    • Woo-hoo! Yes, focus, good. I lose it far too often. All the bright shiny out there, you know. πŸ˜‰

      April 2, 2013 at 5:12 am

  5. I won’t be able to join, so I’ll live vicariously through you. πŸ˜‰

    April 4, 2013 at 4:59 am

Leave a Reply

