Wednesday WIPpet and Mid-Week ROW80 Check-in

Today is April 10th. What? You already knew that? Well, aren’t you just the smartest bear in the woods. Okay, just kidding, relax. Today, for the 10th, I give you 10 paragraphs from Crossing Paths. We’ve already met Ethan, got a glimpse of Ethan’s boss, last week we met Rainie, and today we get a peek at her boss.Β  Again, huge disclaimer, this is extremely First Draftish here. That means I may have some things that I need to change or correct along the way. Like “the Company“. It’s a filler. Just go with it. πŸ˜‰

It had been probably a good couple of months, if not more, since Rainie had logged into the Company’s website. She found it surprising they hadn’t deleted her password, or at least forced her to create a new one. As soon as she logged in, her message icon flared red. One hundred thirty seven unread messages. Seventeen of them flagged as critical. She chewed the inside of her cheek. Decisions, decisions.

Junk mail didn’t exist in the Company’s world. That meant one hundred twenty legitimate messages, probably from contacts wanting to know if she was dead. The seventeen critical messages all stemmed from one source. She didn’t even have to look at them to know. It would be the same person who had left her twice as many voice-mails and texts.

The laptop beeped and the IM flashed, then scrolled up in the lower right corner of the screen. Of course, he would have been monitoring the system and knew immediately when she logged in.

‘Welcome back. My office. Eleven-thirty.’

Rainie glowered at it, and typed, ‘Can’t make it. Sick. Sorry.’ Her finger hovered over the enter button for a second before she pressed it.

Her cell rang — Darth Vader’s theme from Star Wars. After the third repeat, the IM blinked on her monitor. ‘Pick up.’

Dammit.

“I told you, I quit,” she said into the phone by way of greeting.

“We discussed this.” The voice that came back slid through the airwaves like threads of silk: Smooth, rich, and strong enough to strangle someone with. It sent every one of Rainie’s nerves jangling in a confused tangle of emotions. “Why did you log on?”

“Research.”

This isn’t really his theme song, but it somehow fits his and Rainie’s relationship.

On to my ROW80 update — going good. Writing every day, anywhere between 1000 and 2000 words, not always on the same WIP. But I’m making progress on all of them. That’s a good thing.

chapflourish

 

17 responses

  1. You first-draftish is a lot more readable than some finished ones I’ve read. πŸ™‚

    April 10, 2013 at 5:15 am

    • Aww *blush* thanks, Kate. πŸ™‚

      April 10, 2013 at 5:23 am

  2. I used to wake my toddler up to the Darth Vader theme song. Cutest thing in the world. He’d be in a dead sleep but as soon as he heard the intro he’d jump up and start dancing around in his crib. πŸ™‚ Now I gotta go get me a Darth Vader ring tone…

    April 10, 2013 at 6:58 am

    • LOL I get myself in the mood to clean by blasting that through the house with a lot of bass. I don’t have the “clean gene” so that seems to help motivate me.

      April 10, 2013 at 4:42 pm

      • ‘Cause you never know when a storm trooper might show up for dinner uninvited…

        April 10, 2013 at 6:21 pm

      • Exactly!

        April 10, 2013 at 7:23 pm

  3. Fantastic post, really intriguing and ominous! And I LOVE that song – the album it comes from is one of my favourites! You’ve just cheered up my Wednesday. πŸ˜€

    April 10, 2013 at 8:57 am

    • Glad I could bring a ray of sunlight into your week. πŸ™‚ That album is in my regular rotation.

      April 10, 2013 at 4:40 pm

  4. Rainie having the Darth Vader theme as the ring tone for her boss just says it all. I agree with Kate – doesn’t read first draftish at all. πŸ™‚

    April 10, 2013 at 9:49 am

    • Thanks, Kate. πŸ™‚ I’m sure using Darth Vader’s theme dates me . . . I wonder how many people of a different generation will get it?

      April 10, 2013 at 4:43 pm

      • Anyone 30+ should definitely get it and younger generations have been introduced to Star Wars thanks to the more recent prequels. Anyway, the Darth Vader theme music is iconic – like the Jaws theme is.

        April 11, 2013 at 10:15 am

  5. Intriguing. I’m enjoying this.

    April 10, 2013 at 1:53 pm

  6. LOL I wonder if he’s heard her ringtone (assigned especially for him I presume)… Great scene. I love a bad guy with persistence!

    Am also in awe of your first drafting skills…

    April 10, 2013 at 4:27 pm

    • Hee, hee, yes, specifically for him. I don’t think he’s heard it . . . yet. I’m doubting he would see the humor in it.

      And, thanks for the first draft love. πŸ™‚

      April 10, 2013 at 4:39 pm

  7. Emily

    The sense of atmosphere you always manage to create in your WIPpets is so awesome. I love how ominous this scene feels.

    April 10, 2013 at 5:54 pm

    • Many thanks, Emily. πŸ™‚

      April 10, 2013 at 7:22 pm

Leave a Reply

