Sticking With It

There is a fine line between persistence and stupidity. You know, if at first you don’t succeed, try, try again? And again. And . . . doesn’t there come a time when trying isn’t getting it done, and it’s time to throw in the towel? Well, that depends. If you’re trying the same thing over and over, expecting different results . . . Hello! Isn’t that the definition of insanity?

Okay, granted, writers have to be a touch insane. Think about it. We work in solitude, actually paying attention to the voices in our heads. The many, many, MANY voices. Whole worlds exist in the ethereal brain matter, that elusive bit of us called the imagination. Of course we’re freaking insane.

That doesn’t mean we can’t learn from our mistakes.

So, back to the actual topic here: #6 on the Master List is Sticktoitiveness. No, I didn’t make that word up. To succeed at many things in life means you need to be comfortable with running into obstacles, getting up, trying again. Even if you run into another one. But, please, try another spot, or a new bucket on your head, because otherwise — *see above* If you can’t stick with something and see it through the rough patches, then either you don’t want it badly enough, or you don’t really want it at all. Nothing wrong with that. Admitting and letting go are great traits, and can free you to pursue that which you do want.

Just remember the fine line. Seriously. Some people say you can’t push a rope. I say, get it wet, freeze it, then push the damn rope. It can be done, you just have to stick with it and find a way.

Okay, I’m off to write now. Don’t forget the giveaways for First of Her Kind at: Lightly Salted is hosting one, the other involves anΒ Evil Villian Contest.

chapflourish

19 responses

  1. “There is a fine line between persistence and stupidity. ”
    Nicely done!

    May 3, 2013 at 7:50 am

    • Thank you.

      Some days I know I cross that line. πŸ˜‰

      May 4, 2013 at 7:14 am

  2. I want a framed print on my wall that says “push the damn rope.” In really fancy type, of course.

    May 3, 2013 at 8:17 am

    • Isn’t that a great one? Always confused me why people said that.

      May 4, 2013 at 7:13 am

      • It is! I need to make this happen.

        May 4, 2013 at 7:17 am

  3. Love the first line of this post. I should follow your advice instead of hitting my head against the wall. I still can’t get it to move.

    May 3, 2013 at 8:38 am

    • Then you just need to find a way to punch a hole in that wall and crawl through it!

      May 4, 2013 at 7:12 am

  4. Yes, if we are going to stick to something that doesn’t work we must approach it differently each time we try again or (see definition of insane). That is how breakthroughs are accomplished!

    May 3, 2013 at 9:11 am

    • Absolutely! To every problem, there is a solution. Albeit, not always a solution we like.

      May 4, 2013 at 7:12 am

  5. For me this means not running after the latest “shiny” story idea I have in my head. And also sticking to my job of cutting my WiP. Off to do that.

    May 3, 2013 at 10:01 am

    • *hack, hack, chisel, chisel, chop, chop* Oooh, look, bright shiny! No! Back to work. πŸ˜‰ That’s why I have a notebook for all those little distracting story ideas and scenes that beg to be written. Usually, if I can get them out of my head, it’s all good.

      Too bad that didn’t happen with my nonWIP WIP.

      May 4, 2013 at 7:11 am

  6. I think it’s important to stick to a goal, but change the plan to achieve it. πŸ™‚ Adapt to circumstances and work around weaknesses. πŸ™‚

    May 3, 2013 at 3:44 pm

    • Ah, yes, working around weaknesses. Instead of thinking we can do it all. That is something I have a problem with.

      May 4, 2013 at 7:10 am

  7. I’ve definitely stuck to a goal, and I have changed my route to get there many times. Basically hitting a brick wall and finding a way around it. Again and again and again.

    May 3, 2013 at 4:09 pm

    • Yea! That’s how we do it. πŸ™‚

      May 4, 2013 at 7:09 am

  8. Well that’s one way to push a rope! Learning to follow through on a project was most likely my hardest writing lesson. Still not sureit’s mastered…

    May 3, 2013 at 9:06 pm

    • It’s a tough one. There are soooooo many alternatives!

      May 4, 2013 at 7:08 am

  9. LOL love Sticktoitiveness – yes I think I have it… mastering the art of running straight at the wall, but from a lot of different angles. Just keep on working those words…

    May 5, 2013 at 4:25 am

Leave a Reply

