A WIPpet Announcement & Mid-Week ROW80 Update

WIPpet Wednesday. I love these days. I get to share a bit of my current WIP, and then make the rounds and get a peak at all the other ones as well. I’m learning from the other WIPpeteers and getting creative with the date. Since it is 5/8, I’m going to give you 13 paragraphs (because 8 didn’t end at a good spot) of the current episode of The First House.

*hums to self while gazing casually about the room waiting for someone to notice*

In case you missed it, I just officially tag-lined the nonWIP WIP, thus embracing it as my third WIP. I’ll wait while you alternately pick yourself up off the floor, and/or stop cheering.

*blinks at the ceiling* Hmmm . . . guess I’m the only one that fell over.

Continuing on: I’ve decided to try something new (thanks to Sage of the South, I owe ya one, pal.) I’m going to serialize The First House. I’m still working out the details in my head, but I believe I’ll be creating some illustrations for each installment as well. Just some pencil sketches to sweeten the pot, as it were.

(A quick question. How many here know the acronym KISS? Yeah. Well, obviously I have a little problem with that, don’t I?)

I’m still working on a title for this particular tale. The First House will encompass all the brothers’ antics. Yes, there are more planned. I even have scenes written for some. Yes, I’m hopeless. (See above.) This first exploit (which you’ve been seeing for several weeks now) serves as an introduction to the royal brothers and revolves around their quest to recover the missing stone — yes, still working out what exactly that is. I also need to decide how to pace the installments, how to offer them, and whether I’ll provide them as I write them, or finish the entire piece first. (It’s up to 15k at the moment.) Right now I’m leaning toward two per month, as I write them. There are plenty of other details I need to sort through first. I’m sure a visit to a shrink is in order; I’m just not sure I can find the time. I also harbor serious doubts said shrink could offer me any help.

So, without further ado, the last bit of The First House: ??? you’ll see until decisions are made. This picks up where last week’s left off.

Grady stood beside the horses, feet planted, one hand resting on the pommel of his long sword, one on the dagger at his other hip. Four riders had stopped several strides from him. Their leather armor had been tooled with an intricate pattern of swirls and what looked like stars. All were well-armed with an assortment of short swords and knives. One man, larger than Grady, and sprouting more facial hair than any man Quinn had ever seen, had an axe strapped across his back.

“Ah, the crown prince, is it?” One of the riders, the one with an edging of gold along the collar of his leather jerkin that screamed ‘leader’, nudged his horse a step or two in front of the others. He had a thin, pinched face with a nose like a hawk’s beak, and sharp eyes under bristling brows. A neatly trimmed beard and mustache encircled his thin lips.

“And you would be?” Grady asked, a growl in his voice. As soon as the rider had moved, he had shifted to the left to keep himself between the men and Quinn.

The rider flicked a glance his way, then back to Quinn. “You’re a long way from home, boy.”

Quinn smiled and stepped up next to his brother. “That we are, sir. But, then again, I like to think of all Shadonn as my home.”

“So you shit anywhere you please then?”

Grady looked over at Quinn. “I don’t much like this fella.”

“He does seem to have a burr under his saddle, doesn’t he?” Quinn said.

“Plus, I’ve actually never known you to run around shitting all over the house, and I’ve known you my entire life.”

“That is a fact, brother.” Quinn put more charm into his smile. “I sense a certain hostility from you, sir. I don’t believe we’ve ever met so I’m confused as to its nature. Have I wronged you in some way? Offended you?”

“Offended your sister?” Grady offered. Quinn glanced at him and Grady shrugged. “One never knows. We passed through quite a number of towns and there were a few women . . .”

Quinn sighed, and shook his head. “I swear, Grade, if you’ve gone and done something I’m going to have to fix again –“

“Me? It’s you he seems to have an issue with. He hasn’t spared me but a glance. The nervous one on the end is worried there’s someone behind him –” That rider jerked his head forward and glowered but then resumed twitching looks over his shoulder. “– the other one is staring at this guy’s back as though waiting for a signal of some sort. The only one paying any attention to me is that big fella with the axe. I think he’s waiting for me to draw on him. And I’m fairly certain, if his sister looks anything like him, I’ve never touched her.”

So there you have it. Check out the other WIPpeteers to see what adventures they’ve got cooking.

As for ROW80, I’m rather boring. No change since Sunday.

chapflourish

32 responses

  1. I’m going to say I’m not entirely surprised that it’s become an official WIP. I’m glad it is. I do think you’re nuts, but I say that in a way that’s filled with awe and admiration. Serializing sounds like a fantastic idea; I’d be nervous about doing it with an unfinished work, but that’s because I like to go back, change things, add foreshadowing, etc. Also, I’m a big wuss, so I don’t take big, fun, awesome risks. πŸ™‚

    Love the description of hawk-nosed dude. And knowing where these characters come from, the “shitting all over the house” thing is actually really funny!

    May 8, 2013 at 5:13 am

    • See, not such a big thing. *gulp* Yeah, I’m still not sure if I’ll be finishing first or just running with it. I’ve never done that and everything I have is first draft . . . decisions, decisions.

      Glad you found the defication line funny. I’m sure some will find it offensive, but I got a good chuckle out of it and Grady refused to let me cut it.

      May 8, 2013 at 5:31 am

  2. Woot!!! I love a story with brothers interacting!!! Love the serialization idea. I’m thinking of Stephen King’s The Green Mile.

    May 8, 2013 at 6:47 am

    • I have *lots* of research to do on serialization!! I’ve never even read any. I did a quick search on The Green Mile, though, and see he released one installment per month. Hmmmm……

      May 8, 2013 at 7:49 am

  3. I’m really please that this is now an official WIP! Loved the banter between the brothers and that last line’s great. Excellent descriptions of the riders too and I had a very vivid image in my mind.

    May 8, 2013 at 8:37 am

    • I had to give up the fight. It keeps growing and it has its very own folder. Damn brothers!

      May 8, 2013 at 10:04 am

  4. I’m really enjoying seeing Grady’s “softer” side here πŸ˜‰

    Wow… serialization! You’re the second person to comment on doing that in the near future (Kait Nolan’s Sunday post was about that too). I know some people love serials; I tend to like to read my stories in a lump sum so to speak, at least when I can.

    But you should follow your gut and make the story the way it works best for you and your characters.

    May 8, 2013 at 10:19 am

    • Yeah, soft, that’s Grady. *snork*

      How did I miss Kait’s post on that??? Oh, yeah, house painting. Missed a lot. 😦 I’ll have to go back and look it up. I tend to like my stories in one lump as well, but it sounds like something fun and “different” — at least for me.

      May 8, 2013 at 10:51 am

  5. Pingback: We’re Gettin’ Naked | i before e

  6. I enjoyed this Kathi. There’s so much tension. Who is the rider and what does he want? Really great excerpt.

    May 8, 2013 at 12:01 pm

    • Thanks, Elaine! For the most part this has been writing itself, which is why I finally embraced it. Of course, now that I made it ‘official’ it better not decide to start fighting me.

      May 8, 2013 at 2:32 pm

  7. I love the idea of serializing! And congratulations on finally accepting your WIP as a WIP. And I like the line about the axe-guy’s sister. πŸ™‚

    May 8, 2013 at 12:11 pm

    • I’m weak and caved to pressure, what can I say. Oh, Grady is all full of good lines. Among other things. My dad had a saying about being so full of something my eyes were brown. πŸ˜€ That might just suit Grady.

      May 8, 2013 at 2:31 pm

  8. You are a brave soul taking on another WIP! Although, I think it’s going to be worth it. πŸ™‚

    May 8, 2013 at 1:26 pm

    • I’m not sure I’d use the word ‘brave’. Absofreakly insane. Complete lunatic. Nutjob. Bonkers. But brave?

      May 8, 2013 at 2:29 pm

  9. Emily Witt

    Psht, KISS is for boring people. πŸ˜›

    I think this is my favourite of these excerpts so far. I giggled my way right through the dialogue, it was awesome! Excited to see the serial once it gets up and running! πŸ˜€

    May 8, 2013 at 6:01 pm

    • I really love the boys and their witty repartee. There’s a little bit of me and my brother in that. Although these two are a tad nicer to one another. πŸ˜‰

      May 8, 2013 at 8:23 pm

  10. Woohoo! *happy dance* We get to stay in the sandbox for a while!

    I like the last line. πŸ™‚

    May 8, 2013 at 9:07 pm

    • I feel like there should be a plaque outside the sandbox — Dedicated to the WIPpeteers. πŸ˜‰

      May 9, 2013 at 5:05 am

      • Are you offering to dedicate the book to us when it’s done? *bats eyelashes, makes pitiful attempt at the puppy-dog eyes*

        May 9, 2013 at 4:14 pm

      • I do believe I did.

        But be careful, perhaps what that really means is you’ll find yourself *in* the book.

        May 9, 2013 at 4:33 pm

      • Nooooooooooo!

        May 9, 2013 at 4:41 pm

      • Mwahahahahahaha

        “Looky there, Quinn.” Grady gestured with the tip of his sword to a figure hiding in the corner. “Isn’t she the one who led us on this merry chase in the first place?”

        May 9, 2013 at 4:47 pm

      • Oh dear. I believe I’m doomed.

        May 10, 2013 at 1:37 am

      • LOL – Make sure she’s wearing the WIPpeteer costume!!!

        May 11, 2013 at 7:19 am

      • But of course!

        May 13, 2013 at 6:43 pm

  11. LOL. Loved the camaraderie between Quinn and Grady–really well done! I smirked and chortled at the end. πŸ™‚

    May 9, 2013 at 7:46 pm

    • Smirking and chortling are what I was going for. πŸ˜‰ Thanks for stopping by, Kourtney.

      May 10, 2013 at 5:07 am

  12. Oooo I did do the double take when I read the title. Hooray – it’s official, and absolutely no peer pressure whatever… *puts hands in pockets and whistles with great focus*

    My favourite line:He does seem to have a burr under his saddle, doesn’t he?… Am so going to use that in real life!

    Oh – ever considered using pictures of the ‘boys’ (the canine ones) as well as illustrations. Kind of like a fantasy version of the LOL cats?

    May 11, 2013 at 7:22 am

    • Yeah, I feel no peer pressure. I am impervious. Yup. *crosses arms and looks around* Why are all of you standing here whistling and looking at nothing? Stop it! Or at least whistle the same tune.

      In tune.

      I’m going to have to look up this LOL cats you speak of. Explain your crazy idea further, please.

      May 11, 2013 at 7:59 am

      • *looks up at the ceiling and stops whisting* totally don’t know what you mean…

        Bearing in mind it was sometime in the middle of the night when I posted that comment… here is the LOL cats link: http://popsuede.blogspot.co.nz/2010/07/twilight-saga-eclipse-with-cats.html

        I just think it is very funny. BUT I don’t see why you couldn’t put at least one photo of your inspirational dogs. Especially if you could catch them in a pose that fit the text somehow.

        It was very late… not sure you need more projects!

        May 11, 2013 at 3:08 pm

Leave a Reply

