The Hurrider I Go . . .

. . . the behinder I get.

Today was supposed to be a catch-up day after being out of town since last Friday. Yeah, that didn’t work. And I wasn’t even sure I would get my WIPpet in this week. But, at the last minute, I plunged into Emergence Chapter 2 and give you 9 lines for the 29th. 🙂

Bolin lowered Grumnlin back onto the rock and released his hold on his collar. Even standing to his full height on his perch, the creature came no higher than Bolin’s chest. He met Bolin’s hard stare, thumbs stuck through his belt and his chest puffed out.

“Some day, Lady kill you, lord,” he said, matter of fact, as though telling Bolin the swamp stunk.

“Possibly. But not today. It’s admirable to be so loyal to your mistress. I hope she rewards you well.”

“Lady make me.”

And that’s all I have time for. Don’t forget to visit the other WIPpeteers and show them some love.

SeanBeanWIPpet

chapflourish

31 responses

  1. Wait… what’s a Grumnlin? WHO’S HIS LADY?!

    May 29, 2013 at 5:39 am

    • Ah, well, Grumnlin is a character from book one who insisted on sticking around and playing a small part in book two. Without giving too much away, his Lady is no lady. She is also Bolin’s enemy.

      May 29, 2013 at 7:43 pm

      • Aah, I haven’t got that far yet. 🙂

        May 29, 2013 at 7:44 pm

      • Ah . . . it will all make much more sense when you do. 🙂

        May 29, 2013 at 7:53 pm

      • Found him. 🙂

        May 31, 2013 at 5:22 am

      • Let me know what you think of him.

        May 31, 2013 at 6:29 am

  2. Emily Witt

    I have to say, I really love matter-of-fact pronouncements of impending death.

    (Also, I’m about 20% through FoHK now and really enjoying it so far! will keep you posted)

    May 29, 2013 at 5:53 am

    • Glad to hear you’re enjoying FOHK! That’s always welcome news. 🙂 Grumnlin is . . . um . . . well, quite the optimist at times. Especially when he’s making death proclamations.

      May 29, 2013 at 7:44 pm

  3. Ooo I so enjoy Grumnlin. So pragmatically obedient! Am feeling your hurridness… Well done posting and keeping us all linked in!

    May 29, 2013 at 6:28 am

    • He is kind of an interesting fella, isn’t he? 😉 I almost missed posting but didn’t want to let the troops down! I’m hoping by next week to be back on somewhat of an even kilter.

      May 29, 2013 at 7:45 pm

  4. Yay, Grumnlin’s back! Great dialogue and I love the way that Bolin just doesn’t seem to be phased by him.

    May 29, 2013 at 6:40 am

    • As popular as this little dude is, I may have to give him a bigger role. Or maybe his own little short story. Crap! That sounds like another project, doesn’t it?!!?

      May 29, 2013 at 7:46 pm

  5. I’m so glad Grumnlin’s in this one! I liked their exchange – both so in character.

    May 29, 2013 at 8:53 am

    • Thanks! I feel somewhat sorry for the little guy. I think Bolin must as well or he would have killed him a long time ago.

      May 29, 2013 at 7:47 pm

  6. I have the same questions as Kate, since i’m fairly new to following.

    May 29, 2013 at 9:15 am

    • Okay. And so you don’t need to go hunting, the answer is, he’s a character from the first book. His “Lady” isn’t quite that, and she is also Bolin’s enemy.

      May 29, 2013 at 7:48 pm

  7. Ah Grumnlin.Does he still drip goo wherever he goes? I seem to recall a time when this fragrant scamp was a mere spear carrier. Now he’s a full- or nearly full-fledged character! And what a charmer.

    May 29, 2013 at 10:19 am

    • Only nearly full-fledged. His role, at this point, is minor. And yes, still the same goo-dripping lug we’ve come to loathe and despise. Or was that supposed to love and adore?

      May 29, 2013 at 7:49 pm

  8. I like Grumnlin’s “shrug and keep going” personality. It seems that to him, things are what they are and they’re not going to change, so why bother caring? I wonder If Bolin is about to try to change Grumnlin’s mind, or just give in to the temptation to kill him. (It? Does Grumnlin species have official genders, or is the “he” merely for clarity? Hmm…)

    May 29, 2013 at 11:07 am

    • Grumnlin isn’t so much a member of a species as . . . well . . . a special type of individual. Definitely a him. Very sure of his place and very loyal even though he’s likely wrong on both accounts.

      May 29, 2013 at 7:50 pm

  9. Excellent! Like Emily I’m currently reading FOHK and thoroughly enjoying it. Got about 25% to go. Will let you know what I think. 🙂

    May 29, 2013 at 11:17 am

    • Hurray! Glad you’re finding it enjoyable. 🙂

      May 29, 2013 at 7:51 pm

  10. Pingback: Zombie Love | i before e

  11. Bolin is showing his mettle here… (no more politely subservient to the princes) and a Grumnlin! I love that dialogue.

    May 29, 2013 at 2:01 pm

    • Thanks! Bolin and Grumnlin have a long history — although Grumnlin tends to forget it. He’s not exceedingly bright.

      May 29, 2013 at 7:52 pm

  12. jessicaminyard

    Ah, Grumnlin. He doesn’t seem to be afraid of Bolin at all…and I’m sure Bolin could take him. 🙂

    May 29, 2013 at 3:24 pm

    • Without even breathing hard. I’m afraid Grumnlin has an overinflated sense of what his “lady” can accomplish.

      May 29, 2013 at 7:52 pm

  13. You sure are energetic and driven…more power to you.

    May 29, 2013 at 9:57 pm

    • I’m not sure those two words are entirely accurate. I think it’s more like possessed and unbalanced! 😉

      May 30, 2013 at 4:54 am

  14. Love your new look!

    June 1, 2013 at 8:55 am

Leave a Reply

