New WW Option & the Mid-Week ROW80 Check-in

SeanBeanWIPpetWW.

WIPpet Wednesday.

It’s growing, and that’s super cool. *waves to new WIPpeteers* One problem with WW — I know, you mean there are problems?!!? — don’t worry, I said ‘one’ and it’s minor — and that was flagrant overuse of the em dash. Or the en dash. Some kind of dash. I can’t ever keep them straight but I do so enjoy them. ๐Ÿ™‚

Now, where was I? Oh, the problem. It seems to get a might hard sometimes to find something suitable to post from our WIPs that doesn’t give too much away. Even for those of us with multiple WIPs it can be a challenge. I’ve been pondering a solution and I think I have one. So, here it is. Let me know what you think.

*uncovers object hidden beneath shimmering, black cape*

*waits expectantly for cheers*

Ah . . . you can’t see my brilliant idea! I get it. Okay then, let me explain. If you cannot find something suitable from a current WIP, your objective is to write a new beginning. Yes, I said a beginning. An opening. It must, of course, adhere to the date. For today you could give us 5 words, 5 lines, 5 paragraphs, 5 pages . . . Now I can see you shaking your head and wondering how on earth that fits the description of a WIPpet. Quite easily, as it happens. Who’s to say theย new beginningย you pen just for the sake of WW, may not grow into something larger? And, if you don’t like that explanation, think of WIP to mean Words In Pen, Writing In Phrases, Writing Inspires People, Why Instigate Projects, Wholly Inspired Prose, or any conflugeration (made that one up) of W I P you can come up with.

So, there you have it. Feedback always welcomed, of course. Just fill out one of these forms, in triplicate, keep the green copy for yourself, deposit the mauve copy in that bin over there, and the white one in the recycling dumpster across the road.

On to my contribution this week: Because I finally spent some time with my UF/PNR Crossing Paths yesterday, I give you five paragraphs from Chapter Six. Looky there, that was my ROW80 Update as well. Two birds, and all that. If you remember, way back, I introduced you to Ethan and Rainie (also, their respective bosses, but this isn’t about them). This is their “formal” introduction to one another, afterย Rainie once againย jumped into the fray and got herself knocked in the noggin. In her defense, because she really isn’t that . . . um . . . well . . . you know, reckless, stupid, or crazy, she thought Ethan was attacking another woman. Which he may or may not have been for reasons that I refuse to divulge. Just remember, this is Urban Fantasy/Paranormal. Could mean almost anything.

Rainie sat in the corner of the booth, as far from either of the other two as she could possibly get, her throbbing head cradled in her hands. She had really wanted just to call it a night and go home, but that option had been taken away from her.

“Coffee?” the hunk asked.

“I hate you,” Rainie said.

“Then we’re off to a good start. My name’s Ethan, by the way. In case you were wondering.”

“Wasn’t.”

Now I’m off to work. Actually, I’ll already be at work when this posts. *sigh* Have a great WW.

chapflourish

44 responses

  1. ‘I hate you’. A girl with a way with words. I’m really liking her already. …and Ethan’s a hunk is he (bet she hates that her subconscious has gone there)… *grins* This is awesomesauce!

    June 5, 2013 at 5:07 am

    • Yeah, Rainie *really* hates where her subconscious goes a couple lines later when his well-shaped bicep is a hair away from brushing her arm. But, alas, it’s only the 5th so none of that today!

      June 5, 2013 at 5:16 am

  2. Approval! Cheers! Approbation!

    I thought at first you meant write a new beginning for the same WIP, approach it from another angle, but you mean a new piece, yes? I like it. And I’m sharing the first 5 lines of a new piece today anyway…

    A sign! Coincidence! Whaddayaknow!

    Poor Rainie. I understand her attitude completely.

    June 5, 2013 at 5:07 am

    • You over-achiever Kate! *scurries off to read new WIPpet*

      Oh yes and forgot to say – I also approve of the new piece thingy. And I have a new WIP to unveil next week. Hooray for beginnings. Although you do realise that with many many Wednesdays coming up, you could have a new WIP every week… How big is that sandbox? Just sayin?

      June 5, 2013 at 5:12 am

      • Well, it’s what I’m doing for JuNoWriMo, so I’m not overachieving too much. ๐Ÿ˜‰

        June 5, 2013 at 5:19 am

      • I look at it this way . . . um . . . you never know when you might need inspiration, right? So you’ll have all these beginnings and one might just spur the next great novel, or short story, or novella. Yeah, that’s it.

        June 5, 2013 at 5:20 am

    • Totally new piece. Something to add to the Maybe I’ll Turn This Into Something Later file.

      Ha! Great minds think alike and all that.

      June 5, 2013 at 5:18 am

    • There it is again!!! Kathils! What are you doing to us!?!

      June 5, 2013 at 10:37 am

      • Torture?

        June 5, 2013 at 4:30 pm

  3. Pingback: WIPpet Wednesday: First Five (and tiny ROW80) | disregard the prologue

  4. Emily Witt

    I do love Rainie’s frankness.

    And I like the new idea, and may very well use it next week. I have a plot bunny poking me which needs addressing.

    June 5, 2013 at 5:40 am

    • One should never ignore a plot bunny. Especially a plot bunny with a sharp stick.

      June 5, 2013 at 9:00 am

  5. Pingback: #WIPpet Wednesday – A Decision | A Keyboard and an Open Mind

  6. Love it!!! Great beats. As Ethan said, “Weโ€™re off to a good start.” Now my question is where is the WIPpet Wednesday song??? ReGi and Kate had one. I was, y’know, kinda hoping for one. *looks with puppy eyes at you*

    June 5, 2013 at 8:06 am

    • I swear, I never got the memo that this week was sing a WIPpet Wednesday song. *glares at ReGi & Kate*

      June 5, 2013 at 9:03 am

      • Aww. I didn’t mean to get them in trouble . . . though I was entertained by their songs.

        June 5, 2013 at 9:36 am

      • Just wait, one of these weeks I’ll declare WIPpet Wednesday must be a song!

        June 5, 2013 at 4:26 pm

      • Oh, you didn’t, did you? I’m not so sure. *glares back at kathils with rising suspicion*

        June 5, 2013 at 10:39 am

      • *innocently pushes piece of paper with toe, edging it across floor toward garbage can* I swear, haven’t seen it. *whistles a tune*

        June 5, 2013 at 4:29 pm

  7. Pingback: WIPpet Wednesday: June 5th, 2013 | Adrian J Smith

  8. OMG I’m laughing. Favorite line is the last line, and the fact that she says it outline, since most people don’t.

    June 5, 2013 at 10:09 am

    • Yeah, Rainie has a habit of saying what’s on her mind. That tends to make her not so popular sometimes. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      June 5, 2013 at 4:26 pm

  9. Oooh that’s great Kathi. I really want to know more about these two characters. My memory can be a bit rubbish sometimes, but we’ve met them before on WIPpet Wednesday haven’t we? BTW love the new look blog. (And can’t wait for Darkness & Light book 2!)

    June 5, 2013 at 10:23 am

    • Yep, I included their links. We also met their bosses. They’re going to be a great pair if they don’t kill each other first. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      I wasn’t sure about the new look at first, and I may tweak it, but so far I like it.

      Almost done with the first draft of book 2 and still plan to have it out late fall. *glerg*

      June 5, 2013 at 4:28 pm

      • Excellent! Can’t wait. ๐Ÿ™‚

        June 5, 2013 at 4:33 pm

  10. This is fantastic. She just met him, and already she hates him. Brilliant!

    June 5, 2013 at 10:40 am

    • Hates him in the “why is this man under my skin” kind of way. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      June 5, 2013 at 4:37 pm

  11. I like Rainie’s attitude and it’s understandable considering her throbbing head. Fab idea too about writing a new beginning if stuck for a WIP extract to use. That might actually finally get me writing my new WIP.

    June 5, 2013 at 2:54 pm

    • Glad the new idea is going over well. I snatched it from a writing group I’m with. We do a Best Opening Contest once a month.

      June 5, 2013 at 4:31 pm

    • Oh, and yeah, it’s the second time she’s come across Ethan, both times resulting in head trauma.

      June 5, 2013 at 4:31 pm

  12. I love the blunt way, Raine talks with Ethan. Sounds like they’re going to have a lot of fun together.

    So a new rule for the WIPpet! *scribbles it down before forgetting* Cool, got it!

    And you’ve been getting writing in… Well that’s the best part of all, Kate!

    June 5, 2013 at 8:42 pm

    • I’m not sure they’re going to consider it ‘fun’, but yes, they’ll have a lot of it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Not a rule so much as an option. Another way to stir the creative grey matter.

      June 6, 2013 at 5:01 am

  13. Even though I am not participating in the WIPpet’s I think your solution is brilliant. I hope others do, too!

    June 5, 2013 at 9:03 pm

    • Why, thank you, Kate. ๐Ÿ™‚ So far it’s been well-received.

      June 6, 2013 at 5:01 am

  14. I think that’s a great solution and way to keep people working and finding new inspiration. ๐Ÿ™‚ Nice dialogue in that excerpt. Makes me curious. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    June 6, 2013 at 6:04 pm

    • Thanks, on both counts. ๐Ÿ™‚

      June 7, 2013 at 5:06 am

  15. *wanders in casually amidst the WIPpet crowd* As this was my first WIPpet on my own site, I feel quite awesome that the opening line on my blog was to the tune of a song. Never even got the memo! Rainie’s snarky attitude is catching!

    June 7, 2013 at 9:48 am

    • Welcome! Glad you could make it. Please, make yourself at home. Don’t mind the snarling minions in the corner, they get a bit restless between Wednesdays. Such an unruly group. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      June 7, 2013 at 10:10 am

  16. After you made that addendum to WIPpet the rules about writing something new if you don’t have anything suitable, I was kinda expecting you to post something new. I’m glad you didn’t, because reading that little snipped made me giggle. I love Rainie and I cannot wait to read more of her story!

    June 7, 2013 at 12:29 pm

    • With three WIPs going, I’m not sure I’ll have to post something new for a while! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m glad you like Rainie. I get to explore my snarky side with her.

      June 7, 2013 at 3:45 pm

  17. The beginning idea is good. I’m already struggling to find something each week that doesn’t give too much away.
    Also, I’m doing something different for my WIPpet next week. I’m going to let you vote at this post http://inkandpapyrusblog.wordpress.com/2013/06/07/wippet-choice/ for which previous WIPpet you’d like me to continue. I should have put this at the bottom of this Wednesday’s post but I forgot so sorry for clogging up your comments. ๐Ÿ™‚ Feel free to edit this bit out ๐Ÿ™‚

    June 8, 2013 at 1:26 am

    • I’ll leave it right where it is. ๐Ÿ™‚ Also, tweeted the link this a.m. and placed my vote. ๐Ÿ™‚

      June 8, 2013 at 7:15 am

Leave a Reply

