A Revealing WIPpet Wednesday ~ Cover Reveal for Coldness of Marek

It just so happens that, besides being WIPpet Wednesday, today is also the Cover Reveal Celebration for Rachel O’Laughlin‘s book Coldness of Marek due to be released in August 6th. I convinced Rachel to join in the WIPpet fun and give us 19ish lines from page 19 of Coldness of Marek for the 19th of June. Without further ado, the cover, and the WIPpet:

Coldness of Marek

“We are going to kill them, aren’t we, Grandfather?”
Grandfather pretended to look shocked, his long white beard nodding up and down. “The royal family and the Castle Guard?”
“If they do not step down gracefully.”
Grandfather shrugged innocently. “Why, I don’t know. I’m sure I won’t have anything to do with it.”
“Who will, then? Kovim?” She let air out through her teeth to say that Kovim was incompetent.
“I am sure your questions will be answered when we reach Ashlin. There are many of spirit there, the same as in Neroi, and I am sure they are arranging things.”
Trzl stopped demanding answers then, but she was anxious. She wanted to know all of it now. Was there to be a coup from the inside? A riot and demands made? An armed force rallying on the moors across the river? Maybe they could occupy the old Castle of Orion on the southern bank.
They were heading toward it now at breakneck speed: the culmination of everything she dreamed of since childhood. She looked up at Grandfather, breathless. He caught her excitement. His bright blue eyes snapped with unearthly dreaminess.
Yes. She was very much his flesh and blood.
Excerpt from COLDNESS OF MAREK © Copyright 2013 by Rachel O’Laughlin. Used with permission.

And here’s a little more about Coldness of Marek:

Serengard has been under Orion rule for centuries. Centuries of insufferable adherence to laws and traditions that none of its people ever asked for or agreed to. Raised by her scholarly grandfather in the fiery southern city of Neroi, Trzl is out to turn the monarchy into a free society where knowledge is king and no one has to be subject to the whims of an Orion.

As the rebellion escalates, her choices have an eerie impact on the revolution at large, elevating her to a position of influence she has only dreamed of attaining. But there are downsides to her power: appearances and alliances that must be upheld. One of them is Hodran, a rich rebel who wants to aid her cause, and another is Mikel, a loyalist farmer who wants to destroy it… and who just might be winning her heart at the same time.

By the time Trzl realizes she is in too deep, she has an infant son and a dark mess of betrayal and lies. She runs, to the farthest corner of the kingdom, in hopes she will be left alone with her child. But she has a few too many demons. Someone she once trusted takes her captive among the chilling Cliffs of Marek. She is thrown back into the political mess she helped create… at the mercy of a man she never wanted for an enemy.

Sounds awesome, yes? Pre-order your copy from Rachel’s blog.  Coldness is due out August 6th. Want to know more about Rachel? Sure you do.

Obsessed with all things history, Rachel grew up reading adventure stories the caliber of Rafael Sabatini and only recently fell in love with fantasy as a genre. She lives in Maine with her husband and children, grows roses and tweets often. In addition to reading and writing, she loves coffee, spy series, and alternative rock.

Obsessed with all things history, Rachel grew up reading adventure stories the caliber of Rafael Sabatini and only recently fell in love with fantasy as a genre. She lives in Maine with her husband and children, grows roses and tweets often. In addition to reading and writing, she loves coffee, spy series, and alternative rock.

And you can connect with Rachel at her blog (link above) or on Twitter and  Facebook

Now, to avoid being yelled at for not providing my own WIPpet, and since Ethan and Rainie seem to be a hit and I can probably give this piece without really ruining anything, I give you 20 lines from Crossing Paths. Yes, I know it’s the 19th, but I’m using WIPpet math and 1+9 equals . . . um . . . ten. Times two is 20. It made way more sense in my head. Consider it a bonus line. 🙂

Ali made a face. “Ethan is . . . complicated.”

“That’s for sure.” Rainie slouched into the chair and took another swig from the bottle. She shuddered as it burned all the way down. “So, what is he?”

“Like I said –“

Rainie waved her hand. “Forget it.” She tossed some more liquor to the back of her throat, closed her eyes, and followed it down until it settled in her guts with the rest. One big, hot, rock. “You know, I have no problem hunting things that go bump in the night, but this whole soul hunter thing is beyond me.”

“Because you can’t comprehend what the soul is.”

She peered at Ali through her lashes. “Zat so?”

“You might want to stop drinking.”

“F’rever? Or jus’ now?”

Ali took the bottle away. “Just now. Forever’s a long time.”

Oh, and I missed Sunday’s ROW80 update and don’t have much new for today. Grrrrr. I’ll try to wrap that up on Sunday. Promise!
chapflourish
22 responses

  1. Nice job with the slurs! And the idea of a soul hunter is creepy! Sounds like an intense plot!

    June 19, 2013 at 11:34 am

    • Thanks. Yes, it’s a bit . . . different.

      June 19, 2013 at 3:44 pm

  2. Yeeeeah, I’m going to have to pick that one up. And I enjoyed the dialogue in your WIPpet snippet- very realistic and snappy. 🙂

    June 19, 2013 at 2:58 pm

    • It’s on my TBR list. Waiting anxiously. 🙂

      June 19, 2013 at 3:43 pm

  3. Great excerpt! I also enjoyed the dialogue. I’ve never been able to write a drunk person’s dialogue convincingly. Yours sounded very convincing.

    June 19, 2013 at 7:35 pm

    • Years of experience, I’m afraid. Both being the person slurring and being around the person slurring. Not some of my proudest moments, but definitely harvestable by the writerly brain.

      June 20, 2013 at 5:09 am

  4. EVIL!

    There, I said it. You are evil… Two awesome WIPpets in one post? ooh, and my already overdrawn book budget saying “you have to wait until next week before you can buy anything more”.

    I need a bigger book budget. And Raine needs a drink of something non-alcoholic to save her from that hangover she’d going to be having.

    June 19, 2013 at 9:08 pm

    • Mwahahahaha . . . um . . . evil? *smiles sweetly and flutters eyelashes* Who? Me?

      I just know I would have been soundly thrashed for not including one of my own. And once I twisted Rachel’s arm asked Rachel ever so nicely if she’d honor us with one from Coldness of Marek well . . . Bonus!

      June 20, 2013 at 5:08 am

  5. ‘She tossed some more liquor to the back of her throat, closed her eyes, and followed it down until it settled in her guts with the rest. One big, hot, rock.’ I liked that description there, and I mirror the sentiments on how you wrote her drunken slurs.

    June 20, 2013 at 12:35 am

    • Thanks, Sarah. It’s something I probably have a little too much familiarity with. *cough* Not on a regular basis, but enough to obviously write it convincingly.

      June 20, 2013 at 5:05 am

  6. Also loving the slurs. I’ve written a few drunk scenes, and they aren’t easy to capture.

    One little thing, though…she seems to go from clear speech to slurring very quickly. It might be better if it crept in, or a bit of time passed between,

    Otherwise, I love all the things about it. That hot rock analogy reminds me of one reason I never get drunk anymore….

    I will be looking for Coldness of Marek in August. Love the color, and the lines and description are tickling my fancy, too…well done, Rachel!

    June 20, 2013 at 1:44 am

    • Ah . . . good point on the swiftness of the slurs. I’ll have to give that a closer look. To be honest, this is a random scene that hasn’t actually found a place in the ms yet. I often work like that. I have piles of scenes that need to get tucked in places. When those characters demand I write, there’s no arguing!

      June 20, 2013 at 5:03 am

  7. Kate Frost

    Two great WIPpets from yourself and Rachel. I’m with everyone else about liking the slurs – really good dialogue.

    June 20, 2013 at 3:57 am

    • Thanks, Kate. I was really glad I was able to strong-arm talk Rachel into sharing one with us.

      June 20, 2013 at 5:03 am

  8. I like the ‘You might want to stop drinking’ ‘F’rever or jus’ now?’ comments. Rainie really is drowning her sorrows (unless I’ve misread that??). Anyway, it’s hilarious! 🙂

    June 20, 2013 at 9:41 am

    • Nope, you nailed it.

      June 20, 2013 at 9:47 am

      • Oh good so glad I didn’t completely misread it! I seem to do that sometimes in situations in life – I’ll misread/misunderstand what people have said to me lol. Actually that’s quite a good literary technique I think for our characters to misjudge/misread situations etc.

        June 20, 2013 at 9:52 am

  9. I love the last line of that! Fantastic!

    June 20, 2013 at 10:42 am

  10. Coldness looks very interesting! I think I’m going to have to grab a copy to add to my ever increasing ‘to read’ pile.

    I enjoyed how Rainie’s words became more and more slurred the excerpt went on, and I also enjoyed the last line of that. I may have to hang that up somewhere just because it’s that fantastic and yet so simple 🙂

    June 20, 2013 at 1:19 pm

    • I wish I had a stack of money like my TBR list. Always overflowing! 😉

      June 21, 2013 at 5:09 am

  11. Very cool cover and intriguing concept. My TBR bookcases are overflowing. 😉

    July 2, 2013 at 11:24 am

Leave a Reply

