It Was a Dark and Stormy Night . . . WIPpet Style

I haven’t spent much time with Ethan and Rainie over the past week so for today’s WIPpet I go back to Quinn and Grady. Remember them? The royal brothers in search of a missing relic? My sandbox turned official WIP? Here I give you 26 sentences from page 6 of First House in all its first draft loveliness.

Grady gave his hood a sharp snap that sent beads of water scattering. The rain had set in before they left Ballis’s hut. Grady suggested they not leave until morning but Quinn had a fire in his britches about getting back home. Something the old master had said, no doubt. The man talked in obscurities that Grady had little patience for. His brother, on the other hand, had always been a more rapt pupil.

The certainty that Fairling and his men waited for them along the road bothered Grady worse than the steady rain. A fight in the open — him and Quinn against the four of them — that would be a stimulating workout, especially with the axe-wielding lug, but certainly winnable. Being ambushed on the road, however, in the rain and gathering dark, significantly skewed things in favor of Fairling. Grady couldn’t hear anything but the steady patter of the rain on the leaves, and the sloppy squelching of the horses’ hooves in the mud. Straining to see through the gloom only made his eyes hurt and his temper fray.

“Honestly, Quinn,” he said. “If you’re looking to get us killed, the wrong word dropped in the right ear would do the trick over a nice glass of port. I’d prefer to go down swinging, but going down drunk and dry would work just as well at the moment.”

“The sooner we get the Stone, the sooner we can get home.”

“You mean, the sooner we can collect old Master Ballis and then get home?”

Quinn said nothing. Grady halted his horse and reached across for his brother’s arm to stop him as well. “Quinn, tell me we’re going back for Ballis.”

But his brother kept his eyes on his horse’s ears. “Let’s just get the Stone, all right?”

“Blast it all, Quinn! I didn’t –“

Something hit Grady high in his right shoulder, jerking his arm forward. It took a moment for the pain to register. Right along with the reason for it as another arrow hissed between them and bit into a tree.

I also want to give a shout out to a new, burgeoning Blog Hop called Mirth & Music Monday started up by the ingenious ReGi McClain.  I meant to join in this week, but my schedule started Insanity as of last Thursday and will not lighten up again until the second week of July. So I’m hoping for the 15th.

In the meantime, the second pass at Emergence is stumbling along. Mainly stumbling due to said Insane Schedule. I’ve done a little more on Crossing Paths, and quite a bit of brainstorming for First House. I’m also starting to think about the cover for Emergence as well as marketing plans. Unfortunately, not much will happen on any of that for the next week and a half. Though that sounds like complaining, it’s really not because the Insanity included a family wedding, which leads into two stockdog clinics on back-to-back weekends, and a week with two of my favorite Sistas. (Not to be confused with my siblings. These are friblings. Which are friends who are as close as siblings — or closer.) I’m thinking that along with totally wearing me out, this will also rejuvenate my spirit.

I won’t be able to check in on line much during this time either, but will definitely try to pay my dues to WIPpet Wednesday, including visiting everyone’s contribution. Now, go forth and WIPpet.

WIPpet good.

Yeah, that’s right.

chapflourish

22 responses

  1. Every good thing I know to expect from your writing. Characters frustrated with each other, pithy dialogue and action! Great piece of brotherly interaction – complete with ‘I told-you-so’ attack. And because I hang out with kids too much (and in honour of the Despicable Me 2 trailor that is SO popular in this house)… ‘a fire in his britches’ *children rolling on the floor holding sides* – you wrote britches!!! *crawls off realising might need sleep more than first thought*

    June 26, 2013 at 5:26 am

    • Aww, thanks. Okay, I can see you rolling around giggling until tears are streaming from your eyes.

      Britches!

      June 26, 2013 at 5:34 am

      • Yes there are tears now… stop it! Must be really adult about it and go sedately off to bed… *snicker snicker snicker*

        June 26, 2013 at 5:37 am

      • No one ever claimed WIPpeteers needed to be adult about anything. 😉

        June 26, 2013 at 5:37 am

  2. “I’d prefer to go down swinging, but going down drunk and dry would work just as well at the moment.”

    I love this. Captures his attitude perfectly. I think I’m more of a Quinn myself, but I really like Grady as a character. 🙂

    June 26, 2013 at 6:46 am

    • Thanks, Kate. Nice to see Grady getting some love. He definitely needs it.

      June 26, 2013 at 8:40 pm

  3. I just love the descriptions of them out in the rain and the relationship and dialogue between Quinn and Grady is great. Super ending too with the arrows hissing past them.

    June 26, 2013 at 9:35 am

    • Luckily the archer isn’t the best or my poor boys would have been done for! Of course, that would have made for a really short, boring story. 😉

      June 26, 2013 at 8:38 pm

  4. Wooo hooo!!! Excitement she wrote! And since I’ve heard the steady patter of rain for days here, I can totally picture this scene!!!!

    June 26, 2013 at 9:41 am

    • Here too, with the rain that is. Must have stuck in my subconscious because I really wasn’t thinking of that when I chose this section.

      June 26, 2013 at 8:37 pm

  5. I really enjoyed this. I liked seeing into Grady’s mind and how he’s not happy. I enjoyed the way he thinks carefully about how safe or rather unsafe he and Quinn are. And the dialogue is good too. Quinn’s not saying much is he? That doesn’t bode well it would seem…

    June 26, 2013 at 11:15 am

    • Careful, Grady’s mind can be a dark and scary place at times. You’ve got Quinn’s tell all right. When he gets quiet he’s avoiding the subject.

      June 26, 2013 at 8:36 pm

  6. Those two brothers remind me a lot of my brothers, except mine don’t get along with each other as well. (Love them nonetheless.) Great character chemistry/reality to them.

    June 26, 2013 at 11:21 am

    • I have four brothers (and four sisters) so I have a lot of source material to draw from. Actually, there’s probably a bit of my relationship with my oldest brother in here.

      June 26, 2013 at 8:36 pm

  7. WIPpet, WIPpet good. You just took me back to my days as a cheerleader (the non-ditzy kind!) it’s amazing how many projects you’ve got going on. I like the difference in the brothers and their outlook. Keep up the good work! I hope to join Regi’s hop in July too.

    June 26, 2013 at 11:57 am

    • That’s the fault of whoever was doing it last week. Put it in my head and there it sits.

      June 26, 2013 at 8:35 pm

  8. I knew I liked Grady a bunch a few weeks ago, and now I’m even more sure of it. He’s clearly got his flaws, but he’s trying to keep them both safe, he’s trying to think ahead… He’s got some sense in his head.

    Quinn… He’s a lot more idealistic. It’s his charm, but but it’s going to get them into trouble… (obviously!)

    Great (as Raewyn described it) “I told you so” ending.

    June 26, 2013 at 1:20 pm

    • You have them both pegged pretty well, Eden. I’m glad you like Grady. I’m so close to both boys, I tend to flip-flop.

      June 26, 2013 at 8:34 pm

      • Flip-flopping is a perfectly acceptable way to deal with lots of cool characters. I do it all the time. 😀

        June 26, 2013 at 9:55 pm

  9. Yay, Quinn and Brady! Good to see them again. But meep! what happened to Ballis?! D:

    June 27, 2013 at 4:09 am

    • Well, if I tell you what happened to Ballis it will give too much of the story away. There may be a glimpse at him next week. You know, three words for the third. 😉

      June 27, 2013 at 4:58 am

  10. Poor Grady. I do not blame him for being mad at his brother at all.

    June 27, 2013 at 1:03 pm

Leave a Reply

