Where it all Began

A couple weeks ago, fellow WIPpeteer Eden Mabee went digging after the origins of WIPpet Wednesday. Due to her prompting, I did a little research. I couldn’t remember the exact details of how or when, except that I stumbled upon it via the incredible Krista Walsh. Coming up with concrete answers took a trip in the Wayback machine . . .

"Where are we going today, Mr. Peabody?"

“Where are we going today, Mr. Peabody?”

“Well, Sherman, it looks like we need to head back to June of 2012. And, to give props where they’re due, the originator of WIPpet Wednesday, at least as I knew it, is the awesome Sarah L. Fox.

So, in honor of going back in time . . . um . . . I got nothing for that. Sorry folks. Instead, for the 24th of July, I give you 7 letters from page 24 of The First House:

“It was . . . em”

Just kidding! How about 24 paragraphs from page 24 instead? Wait!! I can’t do that because I’d be giving away spoilers. Um . . . all right, settle down, I’ll figure something out. Here then, 7 lines from page 24 of The First House. A bit of witty dialogue between the brothers and an old *cough* friend *cough*.

“You should have let me talk to him,” Grady said, following Quinn’s thoughts.

“Your method of talking tends to be a bit final.”

“Nonsense. I’ve been talking to Somman here for most of the morning. He’s not dead.”

“A blessing, to be sure,” Somman said.

“Meringer didn’t question you as to the box’s contents when you gave it to him?” Quinn asked.

There you have it. Happy WIPpeteering Wednesday!

chapflourishConnect with me on Facebook     Goodreads     Twitter
Find First of Her Kind in e-book & paperback on Amazon   Smashwords   Barnes & Noble and other on-line book retailers.

30 responses

  1. Love the new look to your site! Very earthy 🙂
    And great WIPpet! Snappy banter is my favourite 😀 Would love to read more!

    July 24, 2013 at 5:18 am

    • Thanks, Krista. The brothers are masters at snappy banter, and so much fun to write.

      July 24, 2013 at 5:22 am

  2. Ha ha – love the lines ‘…He’s not dead.’ ‘A blessing, to be sure.’ I concur! 🙂

    July 24, 2013 at 8:36 am

    • This whole scene between the three of them was one of my favorites to write so far.

      July 24, 2013 at 8:57 am

  3. Oh I love that little itty bitty excerpt! It feels great when the characters lead the way with witty banter. Those feel like awesome writer moments.

    July 24, 2013 at 9:24 am

    • And these boys have given me plenty of those. I’m having a blast with them.

      July 24, 2013 at 2:38 pm

  4. Witty dialogue indeed! I’m with Elaine on loving the ‘He’s not dead.’ ‘A blessing to be sure’ lines. And yes, just why wasn’t he questioned over the boxes’ contents?

    July 24, 2013 at 9:45 am

    • Ah . . . but he was. Only, well, I can’t tell you!

      July 24, 2013 at 2:38 pm

  5. Your site’s new design is lovely!

    And, yes, Krista Walsh is incredible. 🙂

    I enjoy following your posts!

    July 24, 2013 at 9:45 am

    • Thanks, Devin. 🙂 Nice to have you stop by. Hope all is going well.

      July 24, 2013 at 2:39 pm

  6. I love the “you’re method of talking tends to be a bit final”

    That be my favorite line. So to the point without saying it outright.

    July 24, 2013 at 10:39 am

    • Yes, poor Grady, he always gets stuck with the dirty work. Or does he take it upon himself? Hmmmm

      July 24, 2013 at 2:40 pm

  7. You can fit 24 paragraphs on one page? O.o I’d need at least two or three pages.

    I like the banter. 🙂 I think I’ll like Grady.

    July 24, 2013 at 12:09 pm

    • 24 paragraphs of short, witty banter? Yes! I also single space and use 11 pt font. That helps. 😉

      Grady appreciates the love. You know, being the second son is tough.

      July 24, 2013 at 2:41 pm

      • I beg to differ. Being the eldest stinks. My sister used to thank me for filling that role. 😉

        July 24, 2013 at 3:34 pm

      • Oops, did I forget to engage my sarcasm filter? Grady is actually relieved to be the second son, having no desire to ever be king. It’s one of the main reasons he’s so protective of Quinn.

        July 24, 2013 at 3:55 pm

      • I’m not so great at catching onto sarcasm in writing, I’m afraid. :-/

        July 24, 2013 at 7:34 pm

      • But, but, it sounded so sarcastic in my head! 😉

        July 24, 2013 at 8:14 pm

  8. Yay! ReGi’s with me on Grady now!

    Thanks again for going back in time (did you know there actually is a Way Back Machine (at least as far as the internet is concerned? http://archive.org/web/web.php

    I loved the joke about 24 letters, but… Yeah, I think you may have had riots on your hands for that if you’d left it there. Especially when we love the way these guys are once they get on a roll.

    July 24, 2013 at 1:42 pm

    • Hee, hee, Grady will sooooooo enjoy that. 😉

      That way back machine is a bit of a scary thing. Some things should just be forgotten methinks.

      July 24, 2013 at 2:43 pm

      • Probably… he does seem to be a bit of a dog on occasion. :-S

        It’s a bit scary, but also a bit cool. The interesting thing is that it has archives not just by post, but by day. And… I’m sure it’s nothing compared to what the NSA has. 😀

        July 24, 2013 at 2:47 pm

  9. You always manage to reel me in and then drop me like a HOT potato! *grins*

    July 24, 2013 at 7:25 pm

    • All part of my nefarious plan! So glad it is working.

      July 24, 2013 at 7:32 pm

  10. A bit final… I like that!

    July 24, 2013 at 10:32 pm

    • Quinn is a little hard on Grady sometimes . . . okay, most of the time. Probably, on some level, his brother scares the crap out of him, but he’s very glad to have Grady on his side.

      July 25, 2013 at 5:14 am

  11. Love the dialogue! My fondness for Grady keeps growing and growing with every new bit you share 🙂

    July 25, 2013 at 12:23 pm

  12. Ah, that makes me giggle, especially this line: “Your method of talking tends to be a bit final.”

    July 26, 2013 at 11:21 am

    • Which isn’t totally true. Quinn is exaggerating . . . sort of. . . 😉

      July 29, 2013 at 5:11 am

  13. There’s so much personality in that conversation. It totally made me smile.

    July 27, 2013 at 9:03 am

    • Thanks, Gloria. 🙂

      July 29, 2013 at 5:10 am

Leave a Reply

