Yes, I am Happy Dancing

In the event you missed my announcement: Emergence is now in the hands of my Betas.  And, if you volunteered to Beta and didn’t get an e-mail from me, let me know. The more the merrier. Keep in mind, it came in at roughly 120k and if you haven’t read First of Her Kind you will probably be lost.

And another announcement: a while back I participated in Greylands, a project hosted by Krista Walsh. It is with extreme amounts of happy dancing that I get to tell everyone that the project has been compiled, edited, and is in the final phases of being published. For a more in depth idea of what Greylands was and is, you can read  A Serial Reanimated as well as this post describing it. Basically, Krista invited us to play in her world and the result . . . well, I guess we’ll let the readers be the judges. Soon, very soon, I’ll get to share the blurb and the cover.

In the meantime, I’ve decided I’m going to be spending some quality time with Ethan and Rainie. I’m into Chapter 6 but need to pound out some plot issues and make sure I know where I’m heading. I’m also sharing chapters with my Crit Partners as I go along. It will be interesting to see what kind of feedback I get.

So, for 10/16/13 . . . sixteen short paragraphs from Chapter 5. This takes place early in the Ethan/Rainie relationship. If the scene from last week makes the final manuscript it would be far after this one. Suffice it to say, Rainie has found herself in a situation once again — mainly of her own making, you know, that headstrong, rushing in before your brain catches up, type of situation. Basically she was knocked out and this is the following morning.

Rainie groaned and peeled her eyes open. Thank god she’d remembered to close the blinds. The screaming state of her head wouldn’t have tolerated sunlight at the moment. She blinked through the dim light at the cracked ceiling, marveling that she’d never noticed the bits of plaster hanging from it like tiny stalactites. A ring of smoke drifted lazily up, deforming in an errant draft. What the —

A weight shifted on the bed beside her. Too much weight to be Sinbad. She rolled her head on the pillow.

Oh, hell no. No, no, no!

Rainie launched from the bed, snatching at the blanket that remained firmly wound around the half naked hunk. She lost her grip and her balance, and staggered back into the dresser. Not her dresser. Not her bed. Definitely not —

He grinned at her, his cheeks dimpling. “Mornin’, sunshine.”

“What the hell do you think you’re doing?”

He held up the cigarette in his hand. “Having a smoke. Want one?”

Rainie looked around the shabby, sparsely decorated room. “You live here?”

“If you want to call it that. Yeah. I would have taken you back to your place but I have no idea where that might be.”

The room tilted and Rainie thrust out a hand to keep from falling. He caught her by the arms before she ever saw him move.

“You should probably lay back down,” he said.

“No. I need to –” A cool draft against her legs drew Rainie’s gaze downward. “Where are my pants?”

More importantly, who removed them? Oh, and the t-shirt? Not yours either.

Rainie clenched her jaw. “Let go of me.”

The hunk shrugged. “If you insist.”

He backed a step which proved to be a bad idea for more than one reason. First, it gave Rainie a full view of his boxer wearing, lean, muscled body. Second, she immediately lost her balance and fell smack into his chest. A hard, sculpted chest. Putting her hands out to push away from him only resulted in her fingers finding equally luscious abs.

chapflourishConnect with me on Facebook     Goodreads     Twitter
Find First of Her Kind in e-book & paperbackon Amazon   Smashwords   Barnes & Noble and other on-line book retailers.

30 responses

  1. Oh, dear. Entertaining for a reader, but that would be terrifying in real life!

    October 16, 2013 at 7:03 am

    • It would be more terrifying if she didn’t already know Ethan. Well, okay, so she only met him twice and both times wound up getting knocked cold. But it wasn’t entirely his fault either time. 😉

      October 17, 2013 at 5:18 am

      • Jae

        Even if I knew the person I’d still be a little freaked… 😉

        October 17, 2013 at 11:44 am

  2. Congratulations on getting Emergence out and the upcoming publication of the other project! Woot!!
    Your WIPpet made me laugh out loud, though like Kate said, I would be terrified and grabbing for something heavy or sharp. You certainly know how to write a great scene! I loved that “Mornin’, sunshine.”

    October 16, 2013 at 8:39 am

    • See my comment further down . . . it explains a bit more about why Rainie isn’t completely terrified or going for the kill shot.

      Such a relief to finally have Emergence out of my hands for a while. Well, you know, that mixture of relief and terror and depression.

      October 17, 2013 at 5:17 am

  3. That is quite the situation to be in.

    That’s great news on getting it out to beta readers and on the other project. 🙂

    October 16, 2013 at 8:47 am

    • Boy, I’ll tell you, the last couple chapter of Emergence beat the snot out of me. I had the very last two written ages ago. But there was this big hole that needed filling. I had to get out the earth movers for that! 😀

      October 17, 2013 at 5:15 am

  4. Awesome! I want to know more. Congratulations of your upcoming publications.

    October 16, 2013 at 9:36 am

    • Thanks, Sirena. 🙂 I’m really excited about Greylands. It was such a fun project and I’m very fond of the character I created even though he is intensely damaged.

      October 17, 2013 at 5:14 am

  5. Mmm I wouldn’t mind waking up next to Ethan, he sounds gorgeous! Great scene, good sexual tension. Love Rainie’s confusion and horror at realising she’s semi naked with such a hunk without knowing about it.

    Couple of things to mention (you’ll probably spot them later anyway): I think that ‘… before she even saw him move’ would read better and also are there supposed to be speech marks around the line beginning ‘More importantly…’ ?

    October 16, 2013 at 10:11 am

    • Thanks, Elaine. Yeah . . . Ethan . . . the unassuming hottie. *sigh* Fine, I have a little writer crush.

      No speech marks around that line, though. It’s an internal dialog. Should be offset by italics, but my block quote tags don’t always play nice with my attempts to do that.

      October 17, 2013 at 5:12 am

  6. Love this! Brilliant details and dialogue. Poor Rainie, really feel for her here – what a situation to have to deal with after being knocked out. Really great.

    October 16, 2013 at 2:45 pm

    • Thanks, Kate. Yeah, poor Rainie. If she would just listen to her brain more often, she wouldn’t get into these situations.

      October 17, 2013 at 5:10 am

  7. Congratulations on Emergence. Wow re Greylands. I don’t know you produce so many words this quickly. I’m in awe.

    This Ethan/Rainie relationship is HOT.

    October 16, 2013 at 2:45 pm

    • Thanks! I’m not sure I produce words very quickly. Emergence took a year. Of course First of Her Kind took about 5! LOL Rewriteritess, I’m afraid. And Greylands was an on-going monthly project. But both things are feeling pretty good right now. Of course, I also have the usual after-finis-blues.

      I’m glad you’re enjoying Ethan & Rainie. It gets hotter. 😉

      October 17, 2013 at 5:09 am

      • I don’t know how much more heat I can take but hey, somebody needs to face it straight on. . .

        October 17, 2013 at 4:39 pm

  8. *cringe, shudder* … *shudder, cringe* I didn’t grow up in a nice enough area for this scene to mean anything amusing or hot…
    Excellent writing, though. 🙂

    October 16, 2013 at 5:36 pm

    • Thanks, ReGi. And I can guarantee, at the moment, Rainie is definitely NOT amused.

      October 17, 2013 at 5:07 am

      • Yeah, I didn’t think Rainie was. I was referring more to a few of the other comments. I was kind of surprised anyone at all found the scene funny or evocative. All I could think of was date-rape drug or drunken stupor. :-/

        October 17, 2013 at 2:11 pm

  9. I love this description right here: ‘She blinked through the dim light at the cracked ceiling, marveling that she’d never noticed the bits of plaster hanging from it like tiny stalactites.’ I love the imagery in there, and it especially made me smile when she realized it wasn’t her place. This was a great excerpt! Great flow and dialogue and taking us through her discovery of realizing she has no clue where she’s at or who she did…. oh, I mean who she’s with. 😉

    October 16, 2013 at 11:24 pm

    • Who she did. Hee, hee. I’m snorting at that one. There is one more clothing discovery she makes that *really* sets her off, but alas, the date did not allow for me to . . . reveal . . . that. 😀

      October 17, 2013 at 5:07 am

  10. Yay! Congrats on Emergence going out to betas! Very exciting!

    Not going to lie, reading this snippet, I was feeling ALL the schadenfreude.

    October 17, 2013 at 12:24 am

    • Thanks. It’s such a relief.
      ‘schadenfreude’ ?? Okay, that’s a new one on me! Is it good or bad. 🙂

      October 17, 2013 at 5:05 am

  11. Yikes! I think I would’ve made judicious use of one of my knees, and figured out the details after that…

    You capture her disorientation and shock very well.

    However, she is a lot less interested in getting AWAY than I would be!

    October 17, 2013 at 2:49 am

    • Well, Rainie does know Ethan. Granted, she’s only met him twice, neither time in the idea circumstances. However, she’s very curious as to who/what he is, and she’s pretty certain he’s not going to hurt her. He’s had the opportunity, twice, and has been . . . well, as much of a gentleman as Ethan can be. So she’s actually way more irritated than she is scared.

      October 17, 2013 at 5:04 am

  12. Okay… Loved most of it…. except….

    All that room tilting made me wonder if Ethan’s “loft” was in a tree or on a houseboat…. I know I must be imagining things, but I just couldn’t get the image right in my head.

    Super YAYs for Emergence (and for your otherworld adventures with Krista’s story space). 😀

    October 17, 2013 at 12:27 pm

  13. Congrats on getting Emergence out to betas! Great descriptions on this scene.

    October 19, 2013 at 3:11 pm

    • Thanks! Now I sit on my hands and wait while my readers shred it.

      October 23, 2013 at 5:15 am

      • That’s the worst part isn’t it?

        October 29, 2013 at 12:59 am

      • Yes. I’m not, by nature, patient. It’s something I force myself to be.

        October 29, 2013 at 5:23 am

Leave a Reply

