Friday, Not Monday, WIPterview with Christina Olson

Monday again? Hey, look, it’s Friday. That happens every week. Man. Today is double the pleasure. No, Monday sucked. Tuesday sucked slightly yes. Wednesday was WIPpet day so couldn’t have possibly sucked in the least. Thursday rocked with reader love for First of Her Kind. Now it’s Friday and I’m beyond all the strife of the week because it is in the past. Here and now. Yes? Yes. Except for the 5 stars. I will cling to that giddy for a while. So, on with the WIPterview!

Today I introduce…

The intrinsic Christina Olson.

The intrinsic Christina Olson.

It’s colder than the proverbial witch’s ta-ta this morning so, It’s warmed up since Monday’s sub-zeros with wind chills bad enough to freeze a taun-taun (or, in my case, a diesel). Still, Christina, why don’t you hunker down right here in the corner of the fireplace…yes….I said IN. It’s still winter, after all. Wouldn’t want you to to turn into a Christinascicle? There we go, nice and cozy. Sorry, no drinks. They froze. They thawed, and I drank them. It’s been that kind of week. But here’s a lovely piece of some type of appetizer that doesn’t look too dangerous.

Now, on with it before our frozen thawing eyeballs pop out of our heads. (Come on, you guys know you love the stunning visuals!) First things first, tell us a little bit about yourself. Who are you?

CO: I’m an enigma wrapped in bubble wrap, twine and duct tape. Well, not really – but I’ve wanted to say that for a while now!

kls: That’s interesting. Don’t forget popsicle sticks. They do come in really handy.

CO: Really, I’m a busy jane of all trades who keeps coming up with new ideas of things to do even though her plates already ridiculously full. By day I work in my company’s technical service department assisting the production support team with putting out fires. At night time and on weekends I write, knit, sew, and manage an etsy shop. (Though not necessarily in that order!)

kls: Oh boy, a WIPpeteer after my own heart. I know all about that plate-too-full syndrome. Let’s talk WIPpeteers for a moment. What drew you to this crazy band of renegades?

CO:  I had been a part of ROW 80 for a couple of years, and I saw another ROWer post a WIPpet Snippet and was instantly intrigued by the idea. I thought, not only would this be a good way for me to get feedback from others, but it would keep me accountable and on track because I would be posting something every week.

It also helped that the WIPpeteers are a lovely group of people, who are very friendly and welcoming.

kls: They are lovely, aren’t they? So, what WIP(s) have you been sharing with our readers?

CO: Primarily I share snippets from The Undying Ones and The Descendants, though occasionally I’ll share peaks at my fanfic Between Two Worlds.

kls: What’s your favorite part of WIPpet Wednesday?

CO:  Oh, everything. I enjoy seeing how everyone’s week has gone, and seeing what they’ve worked on, and the advice they have to give to each other. A lot of the WIPpeteers are also damn funny, and their humor helps the rest of the week go by faster.

kls: I’ve always found if you can’t laugh at something…well, then it must not be funny. Not sure where I was going with that. The grey matter is a bit of a frozen chunk of ice at the moment. Moving on, outside of WW, what project(s) are you currently working on?

CO: I have a serial I just started publishing under a pen name, so I’m trying to get the next part of that done as soon as possible. I also have another fanfic that I need to get updated before those readers start to rebel and come after me with pitchforks or something. In addition to that I’m constantly working on making more products available in the etsy store I mentioned earlier. Right now it’s mainly renn faire stuff, but I’d like to expand and diversify and add costume pieces for other groups like Steampunk!

kls: Very cool. I’ve peeked at your etsy store. Nifty stuff there. Now, if your lips aren’t too numb, it’s time for the blowing of the horn. Tell our readers what you have out there, where to find it, what’s coming next, and where to connect with you.

CO: The Undying Ones should be done sometime next year. In the mean time you can check out snippets from it at my blog: http://ceeleeolson.blogspot.com

You can also find me on twitter: https://twitter.com/ceeleeolson

And Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/CeeLeeOlson/

And Etsy: https://www.etsy.com/shop/BlackCatFinery

kls: Excellent. Here’s one way to add a little heat. Um…you could also roll that log over a bit. Thanks. The much loved, always entertaining Lightning Round!

Coffee or tea? Coffee

Rock or country? Rock

City, country, or seaside? Country or Seaside. I’m not a big city fan.

Favorite color? Red, or dark teal blue

Favorite pastime besides penning fantastic tales? Knitting

kls: I think that’s all I have. Plus, there aren’t very many parts of my body that aren’t iced over at the moment. If I shiver, I shall shatter. Thanks so much for stopping by, Christina, and for joining in the craziness that is WIPpet Wednesdays. Anything else you’d like to share? Any final thoughts?

CO:  Allonsy! Geronimo! Fantastic!

kls: Um…ohhhhkay. *tries to scrunch face* *fails*

chapflourish

Connect with me on Facebook     Goodreads     Twitter
Read excerpts and buy signed copies of my works on the Published Works page. e-book & paperback copies also available on Amazon   Smashwords   Barnes & Noble and other on-line book retailers.

4 responses

  1. YAY!

    January 11, 2014 at 1:06 pm

  2. Great interview! I’m intrigued by this etsy shop. Confused as to what it sells exactly. 🙂

    January 13, 2014 at 9:35 am

    • It’s primarily Renaissance Faire costuming at the moment – though I also sell Victorian/Steampunk spats.

      January 15, 2014 at 10:09 pm

  3. Do I detect some Whovianisms in those parting words, Christina? 😀

    January 17, 2014 at 1:28 pm

Leave a Reply

