Friday Frivolity With WIPpeteer Adrian J. Smith

Happy Friday! Just a side note from my Woeful Wednesday — I rewrote the ending I lost. I remembered some of the best gems and then filled in around them. *sigh* I’ll never know if it’s better than what I originally wrote but it’s not bad.

Now, get ready because it’s time for another WIPterview!!!! Right now, I’m picturing Animal from the Muppets. But, no, it’s not Animal, it’s the intriguing Adrian J. Smith.

IC Author Pic

Have a seat, Adrian. I hope you aren’t nervous. I know there are a lot of rumors about the monkeys, and some of my interrogation interview techniques, but I’m harmless. Really. It is still winter here, and frigid, snow and all that, so let me wrap you in this huge tortilla heated blanket. Do you like guacamole?

Well, anyhow, let’s get to it. First things first, tell us a little bit about yourself. Who are you?

AJS: I’m the person you’ll never know, and I have a face that reminds everyone of someone else. =P I’m a writer, significant other, woman, bisexual, Christian, lover of pumpkins, and King’s Hawaiian Bread. I have three cats who are all gray tabbies: Seeley, Elliot and Rusty (all named after television show characters which all happen to be crime dramas.) I also have a dog named Caprica who will be four months old in a few weeks—she’s a pitbull. So in other words, I love animals—they are so relaxing! I’m often told that I’m blunt, which I am, and I’m also a realist. I don’t like to sugar coat things—and thus far, neither have my two main characters in the series I’ve been working on.

kls: I love bullies. Note, that’s ‘bullies’ as in Pitbulls, and not ‘bullies’ as in someone who likes to intimidate those weaker than themselves. Or perceived to be. I also love the lack of sugar-coating. I sense a kindred spirit. So, let’s talk WIPpeteers for a moment. What drew you to the WIPpeteers?

AJS: What drew me to it? At first it was a way to get me to blog on a regular basis. I write on a regular basis—or at least I had been for the better part of two years—but I needed to blog more in order to gain readership. It’s a whole theory in marketing that I’ve been reading up on for about a year now. What kept me as a WIPpeteer is the amazing amount of fun it is! I love being able to read everyone’s stories and share triumphs and traumas with them each week.

kls: Triumphs and traumas sounds like it could be the title to a book. Or the name of a band. Or maybe the WIPpeteer motto! I’m sorry, I got carried away there. Tell our readers what WIP(s) you’ve been sharing with.

AJS:  A lot. I think I’ve shared just about everything I’ve worked on over the past year. Since November, I’ve been sharing my novel Fallen from Grace, which is the second in the Spirit of Grace series. It was my novel I was writing during NaNoWriMo. Grace is one of my absolutely favorite characters that I’ve written, and this particular novel is all from her point of view. That’s been interesting to write too because I never thought I could write an entire book, let alone a series, from only one characters point of view.

Before this one, I was sharing from my still yet unnamed story (although Quarter Life might be it). This is a series with Emma (whom y’all still don’t know what her story is) and Molly, who is a witch born in the 1800s. Emma has a lot of secrets, which I think has proven to be interesting. I’ve certainly enjoyed reading all the comments of everyone trying to figure out what her deal is.

kls: I have to say, I love all your characters. What’s your favorite part of WIPpet Wednesday?

AJS:  Reading everyone else’s post. It’s rare that I don’t get to everyone’s posts each week, and I just love reading them and learning more about characters and each individual’s writing process. It also makes WIPpet Wednesday seem like a wonderful community.

kls: Outside of WW, what project(s) are you currently working on?

AJS:  I have a novel that I co-wrote with another sometimes WIPpeteer that will be released probably in the spring. We actually just got the book cover back on it. I’m also working on school! Since this question is non-specific like that. =P I’ll be graduating in May, so I’ve been working on papers galore!

kls: Well. *purses lips* This novel…no details? Just a little breadcrumb you’re teasing us with? Okay. That’s fine. I’ve got *mumble, mumble, mumble* Yeah. Here. *hands Adrian elaborate ram’s horn* Give a few puffs on this because it’s time for the ceremonial Blowing of the Horn. Tell our readers what you have out there, where to find it, what’s coming next, and where to connect with you.

AJS:  I have two books that are out! Forever Burn was the first. Dying Embers is the second book, following Forever Burn, but is actually the prequel to it. I loved the characters too much, and the stand-alone I thought Forever Burn was turned into a trilogy. The third book, Ashes Fall (which I am in theory editing at this very moment), will be released next September. All of these can be found on Smashwords, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, BooksAMillion, Kobo—I’m sure there are other places I’ve forgotten.

I also have a new series, the one that my WIPpet posts are coming from now, that is going to be released soon. The first book will be released in June. I don’t know about the second book, still gotta finish it!

You can connect with me on Facebook, blog or on twitter.

Blog
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads

kls: Excellent. Now, hold onto this shiny…stick…and prepare for the *ta-ta-ta* Lightning Round!

Coffee or tea? Tea…I actually have a hatred of coffee. Love the smell, hate the taste.

Rock or country? Country =P I grew up in Montana, that should say enough.

City, country, or seaside? Country, again. I love the country, land and water and trees and weather where it can get cold all in one. I despise the city and have been living in it for the past 8 years.

Favorite color? Camo.

Favorite pastime besides penning fantastic tales? I wish I had some awesomely cool hobby now. My favorite pastime is probably hiking and river rafting.

kls: I think that’s all I have. Thanks so much for stopping by and for joining in the craziness that is WIPpet Wednesdays. Anything else you’d like to share? Any final thoughts?

AJS: Insanity is my best friend.

kls: Yours, too?!!? What a freaky coincidence that is.

chapflourishConnect with me on Facebook     Goodreads     Twitter
Read excerpts and buy copies of my works on the Published Works page. e-book & paperback copies also available on Amazon   Smashwords   Barnes & Noble and other on-line book retailers.

10 responses

  1. Cool pic! Wish I had something that amazing! Oh, and, great interview too. *g* Once again, fun to get to know more about each other. 🙂

    January 17, 2014 at 5:59 pm

  2. Great interview! Love getting to know everyone!

    January 17, 2014 at 9:20 pm

  3. Tea is just okay. When I’m sick is about the only time I drink it. Otherwise mmm, coffee! Rusty the Wonder Kitten could be another WIP to throw into the future mix of WIPpets 😉 *grins*

    January 18, 2014 at 12:09 am

    • I’ve learned to like tea. Of course, sometimes I like it with a little something added. 😉 There’s a licorice spice tea that is very scrumptious.

      January 18, 2014 at 7:08 am

  4. I’m with the others – getting to know each other better is great fun! Oh, and ‘triumphs and traumas’ really does sound like a great motto for the WIPpeteers.

    January 21, 2014 at 9:34 am

    • Sounds like a great title for a WIPeteer anthology, too. Just saying.

      January 21, 2014 at 9:38 am

      • Now there’s an idea. 🙂

        January 22, 2014 at 2:49 am

  5. Great interview! The Grace series sounds intriguing.

    January 22, 2014 at 8:49 am

  6. Great interview! I especially love your comment ‘insanity is my best friend’. 🙂

    January 24, 2014 at 1:13 pm

  7. Pingback: Five Random Words | Many Worlds From Many Minds

Leave a Reply

