Starting the Week WIPterview Style With Xina Marie Uhl

Happy Monday! We’re winding down on our WIPterviews. By my count there are three more after this one. Today we have one of the newest WIPpeteers joining us here at the Blog. The monkeys are all atwitter because Emily went and mentioned WOO on Friday. That just pushes their buttons for some reason. Then there’s ReGi, threatening to steal them from me…You know, the house did seem awfully quiet this weekend. Then again, I was a bit preoccupied…

Anyhow, this isn’t about the monkeys, this is about WIPpeteers and finding out more about what makes them tick. Or tock. Or both. Today, I have the honor of welcoming…

...the wonderful Xina Marie Uhl.

…the wonderful Xina Marie Uhl.

So, Xina, why don’t you perch right here on this…swing. Would you mind holding these bananas for me? As you can see, I’m in the midst of a clutter and I just don’t want to  misplace them. They’re very important.

There, now that we’re all settled in, let’s get started. First things first, tell us a little bit about yourself. Who are you?

XMU: I’m a writer. And a reader. And a pumpkin eater.

Will that do? Probably not, huh?

kls: Well, it is catchy. Perhaps you could elaborate?

XMU: I’m an Arizona native stopping over in Southern California for a couple of decades or so, a grandma of two little sweeties, and a lover of copious amounts of sweets and male eye candy, not necessarily in that order. That makes me sound like an old perv, huh? Um. Oh, yeah. I love to travel and hike and spoil my dogs and devour pizza.

Also, I write freelance educational projects like textbooks and children’s nonfiction, teach history, and try to obey the law and drive within the lines, with varying degrees of success.

kls: If eyeballing male eye-candy makes you a perv, I guess I’m one, too. *winks* But then again, I have a background in Fine Art and have been taught to appreciate a fine looking human body. Anyhow…let’s talk WIPpeteers for a moment. What drew you to this group of on-line revelers?

XMU: The fact that I’m new at blogging, and working on a historical novel that I need motivation to continue, and I figured that the WIPpeteers would be a fun way to meet new people and get some work done besides.

kls: And, right you are! So what WIP(s) have you been sharing with our readers?

XMU: I call it book 1 of the Dark Ages trilogy because I haven’t quite figured out a title for it yet. although the working title is The Road to Awe and Wonder. The logline is …

After the plague wipes out his village, a reluctant knight finds purpose redeeming a young thief and guiding a barren lady on a pilgrimage across the Mediterranean to the center of the world — Jerusalem.

kls: Sounds interesting, and the bits I’ve read of it are excellent. What’s your favorite part of WIPpet Wednesday?

XMU:  The satisfaction of pulling together a post and interacting with all you fine people!

kls: Well, we’re glad you decided to make us part of your writing routine. Outside of WW, what project(s) are you currently working on?

XMU:  Well, I have a million and twenty-three ideas, but the ones that I plan on bringing to fruition in the near future are –

  • a fantasy series that I      wrote 25 odd years ago and that needs to be rewritten and sent out to the      wide world
  •  a book proposal for a children’s history      about the 1918 Influenza Pandemic and the Black Death
  • a gay romance set in 1920s      Alaska.

kls: Wow! That’s a list of three totally divergent themes. *hands over wild animal call* Here, go ahead and give this a couple toots and blow your horn! Tell our readers what you have out there, where to find it, what’s coming next, and where to connect with you.

XMU: The Cat’s Guide to Human Behavior, a humorous guidebook for cats on how to effectively cow their humans. http://xcpublishing.net/the-cats-guide-to-human-behavior/

Necropolis, a fantasy adventure about a priest who wakes up in an enemy city after being savagely beaten. He knows he has a mission, but he can’t remember what it is. The assassins, magical creatures, and age-old demons chasing him don’t much care about that, though. http://xcpublishing.net/necropolis-by-xina-marie-uhl/

The Gauntlet trilogy, which starts out with The Gauntlet Thrown – Brydon’s quest was simple. Borrow the fabled Gauntlet of Ven-Kerrick, bring it home to prove his worth, marry the princess, and ascend the throne. He had planned for the dangerous terrain and Redolian assassins, but he did not count on slavers and werewolves. He did not expect the Gauntlet to be missing, nor to find the Kerrick royal family murdered, and he definitely did not anticipate the distractions of a sultry thief and a rescued slave girl. Luckily, his worst enemy was there to help him out. http://xcpublishing.net/the-gauntlet-thrown-book-1-of-the-gauntlet-trilogy/

You can connect with me on facebook or my blog:

https://www.facebook.com/XinaMarieUhl
http://xuwriter.wordpress.com

kls: And finally, onto what I like to call the Lightning Round, but what has come to be known as the Verbosity Round instead. *sigh* I never give up hope, though.

Coffee or tea? Both!

Rock or country? More rock than country

City, country, or seaside? Country

Favorite color? Blue

Favorite pastime besides penning fantastic tales?  I have to pick one? Probably looking at cat gifs on the Interwebs!

kls: I think that’s all I have. Except I would like to award you with this lovely tin lightning bolt. Congratulations on pulling it off! Thanks so much for stopping by and for joining in the craziness that is WIPpet Wednesdays. Anything else you’d like to share? Any final thoughts?

XMU:  Y’all are most awesome! I appreciate the warm welcome you’ve given me and the continuing support!

kls: And may I say, you’re equally as awesome. Especially for holding onto those bananas on the trapeze. Um…swing. Ah, who am I kidding. Hold tight, I’m going to hoist you up and the monkeys are going to teach you some trapeze moves they learned recently. Don’t worry, we have a net around here somewhere. You get started and I’ll go look for it.

chapflourish

Connect with me on Facebook     Goodreads     Twitter
Read excerpts and buy copies of my works on the Published Works page. e-book & paperback copies also available on Amazon   Smashwords   Barnes & Noble and other on-line book retailers.

47 responses

  1. Whadya know, another grandma. 🙂 Love reading about everybody’s lives and getting to know you all better!

    January 27, 2014 at 6:01 am

    • Being a grandma is awesome except for the realization that I’m rather old! 🙂

      January 27, 2014 at 2:30 pm

      • Ack. Age is all a state of mind. 🙂

        January 28, 2014 at 6:09 am

      • Well, duh. *g* Can’t get the one without the other. 🙂

        January 28, 2014 at 6:51 pm

  2. Ooh, Xina, you should come by my Crushable board on pinterest. So many pretties… mostly in suits, because y’know. Delicious candy, nonetheless.

    Another fantastic interview, and another WIPpeter apparently escapes unharmed!

    January 27, 2014 at 6:30 am

    • Oooooh – I’ll check it out, Kate! Suits are fantastic. Especially birthday ones. LOL!

      Haha – yes, I am unharmed!

      January 27, 2014 at 2:31 pm

      • I just snorted my coffee on that one, Xina! 😀

        January 28, 2014 at 6:10 am

    • Stop waving Pinterest under my nose! *ahem* Sorry. I’ve been wavering on getting even close to Pinterest. The couple of times I’ve looked at someone’s page I’ve gotten sucked in. I can just imagine…No. I have no self control. I. Do. Not. Need. Another. Bright. Shiny.

      But maybe just a peek…

      January 28, 2014 at 6:08 am

      • I almost never go on, because that’s what happens to me every time. But man, I love my crushable board.

        January 28, 2014 at 6:57 am

      • Do you have a link to it?

        January 28, 2014 at 7:01 am

      • I’ll link you up when I get back to my computer 🙂

        January 28, 2014 at 7:20 am

      • Crap, my pants melted when I went to get the link. 😦

        January 28, 2014 at 10:39 am

      • Not to be picky, where is Gerard Butler?

        January 28, 2014 at 10:44 am

      • He’s pretty good… might make it on there some day.

        Or you could make your own board. Mwa ha. MWA HA. MWA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

        Seriously, you’ll waste so much time, but it’s fun.

        January 28, 2014 at 10:45 am

      • It’s not wasted time if I call it research!

        Aaarggghhh!!!! Stop it!

        January 28, 2014 at 10:47 am

      • *whispers* make a board for your books. I started one, it’s super funnnnn…

        January 28, 2014 at 10:52 am

      • You’re a naughty, naughty, wicked, evil little girl. That’s what you are. (Read that with British accent.)

        January 28, 2014 at 10:54 am

      • You know you love me.

        January 28, 2014 at 10:57 am

      • *head, desk* *emits pitiful moan*

        January 28, 2014 at 11:01 am

      • ONE OF US! ONE OF US!

        January 28, 2014 at 11:02 am

      • Did you just pin the Irish Cob? *glares*

        January 28, 2014 at 11:09 am

      • I did, indeed.

        January 28, 2014 at 11:11 am

      • STOP!

        January 28, 2014 at 11:13 am

      • Hammer time!

        January 28, 2014 at 11:14 am

  3. Monkeys behaved themselves today. Must be their respect for grandmas who write awesome stories. So much good reading on offer. Wow.
    Informative interview. 😉

    January 27, 2014 at 11:14 am

    • It was fun! My family once had an encounter with a rambunctious monkey in Gibraltar. Actually, “rock ape” is what they call them there. It ran up and stole my daughter’s ice cream cone from her. Quite the memorable experience!

      January 27, 2014 at 2:33 pm

      • Nice to meet you. 😉

        January 27, 2014 at 2:56 pm

      • Darn rock apes, can’t trust them.

        January 28, 2014 at 6:10 am

  4. Thanks for the interview! I’m so happy to be a part of the group!

    January 27, 2014 at 2:34 pm

    • We’re glad to have you!

      January 28, 2014 at 6:11 am

  5. Hee, I think I might have to buy your Cat’s Guide to Human Behaviour. And that’s a gorgeous photo of you and your cat!

    January 27, 2014 at 3:32 pm

    • Thanks, Emily! My husband took the shot with my guidance. I wanted to look a little “crazy cat lady” with my imperious, slightly grumpy kitty. I think I succeeded, lol!

      January 27, 2014 at 11:22 pm

  6. Great interview. I found the projects you’re working on really interesting. Hope you didn’t break your neck on the trapeze!! 🙂

    January 27, 2014 at 4:58 pm

    • Haha – I’m okay on the trapeze, but it can get a little frightening sometimes! I guess I should have mentioned in the interview that I have a history background so that’s where the inspiration for some of my projects comes from.

      January 27, 2014 at 11:24 pm

  7. Pingback: An Interview with Moi | Journey Taker

  8. Kate Frost

    I’ve learnt a lot about you Xina – you’re a grandma, a lover of male eye-candy and a writer of wondiforous (and completely diverse) tales! I hope you found that net Kathi and no WIPpeteers were harmed in the making of this WIPterview…

    January 29, 2014 at 6:28 am

    • No WIPpeteers have been (permanently) injured in the making of these films…er…the conducting of these interviews. 🙂

      January 29, 2014 at 6:30 am

      • Kate Frost

        Good to know! 🙂

        January 29, 2014 at 6:38 am

      • LOL! One should definitely not make any sudden movements around the monkeys, however. Just to be safe.

        January 29, 2014 at 5:34 pm

    • Wondiforous is a pretty rockin’ word, Kate! I’ll have to use it regularly! Thanks for your kind words!

      January 29, 2014 at 5:35 pm

  9. Amy

    Ooh! That Guide for Cats…I swear, my cat must’ve read it. 😀

    And male eye candy? Yes, please.

    I was also glad to see that you’re writing a gay romance. I don’t write strictly romance, but my characters aren’t strictly heterosexual, either, and they do oftentimes find love. I’m always nervous about that in writing groups because some people are…um…surprised, shall we say.

    January 29, 2014 at 9:30 am

    • LOL, yes, I hear you, Amy. I come from a conservative background and my family is rather scandalized by my gay romances, but oh, well. I’m a writer and we are notoriously open-minded, right? 🙂

      January 29, 2014 at 5:33 pm

      • Not too long ago I was reading…I want to say it was one of the Fallen Blade series by Kelly McCullough but I’d have to check to make sure…anyhow, the main character, a male, was approached by another male. I was surprised, and loved how she handled it. Very openly, no stigma — it was rather refreshing.

        January 29, 2014 at 5:45 pm

      • Amy

        Exactly! I come from a pretty liberal family, so no scandals there, but I spent a bit of time as a fairly extreme conservative (long, long story). I think I like writing men because I just…like men, actually. 🙂

        January 29, 2014 at 8:39 pm

  10. Like Kathi says, if appreciation of the male (or even female) body is a perverted thing, then the world needs more perverts. Beauty just “is”, we could all do to enjoy it more.

    Loved this interview (actually have loved pretty much every one I’ve seen… must head back and find the ones I know I missed). Great info… the teaser for the Gauntlet trilogy is tempting.

    January 29, 2014 at 12:50 pm

    • Haha – good point, Eden! The first book of the Gauntlet Trilogy is even free. 🙂

      January 29, 2014 at 5:32 pm

      • OOOH! A shiny I can pick up even!

        January 29, 2014 at 8:12 pm

Leave a Reply

