Missed Questions and WIPpet Wednesday

Happy WIPpet day! If you missed my WIPterview, please, get out. What? No!! Kidding! Really. I meant, GO HERE. I was afraid I would miss someone and it seems I did. The Queen of the Turret Ruth Nestvold was in the back corner waving like a crazy person to get her questions answered. I thought she was swatting at flies. So, um, welcome Ruth. Thanks for coming back. Please, step up to the mic and ask away. 🙂

RN: Thank you. Very gracious. First questions are, where did you get the flying monkeys? Can I have one?

kls: Well, I did answer that in the original WIPter–never mind. They came to me after the WWotW met her demise. They really had no other place to go and they heard I was fond of them. I’m sure if you asked nicely, one of them might consent to accompany you home. They’re actually quite fond of turrets you know. The WWotW had several.

RN: What’s your favorite movie (besides The Wizard of Oz)?

kls: Here’s a fun-filled-factoid…the Wizard of Oz doesn’t even make my list of top ten movies. In fact, I avoid watching it. I may have enjoyed it as a child. At least the first five or six times I saw it. But it became a yearly event in our house and, quite frankly, it wore me out. My most favorite movie of all time would have to be Ladyhawk. Yes, I can watch that a bizillion times mainly because of Goliath, and the interplay between the characters. Matthew Broderick is phenomenal.

RN: Where can I get some of those black and white striped tights?

kls: Amazon.com of course. Where everything comes from.

RN: Thank you, very much for taking the time to answer my questions.

kls: You’re most welcome. Now, if there’s nothing further…WIPpet Wednesday’s offering is 10 sentences from CBC via the magic of WIPpet Math. Today is the 19th. 1+9=10. Easy peasy. No set-up for this is needed. Just Driev, contemplating things.

Funny how clothing can trigger memories, and all the assorted emotions that tag along with them. I’d been raised in a life of privilege, and though my father hated the sight of me, he refused to have anyone see me in anything but the best. So on those rare occasions when I accompanied him in public, he ensured I went dressed in custom tailored clothing of soft, rich fabrics. He wouldn’t dare tarnish his good name by presenting a less than pristine front. I could have taken advantage of that. I could have acted up, and brought him shame to pay him back for all the pain he caused me, but oddly enough I relished those times. Even though his hand on my shoulder had all the warmth of the Wauklee iced over, I treasured it like a rare and precious gem. It was, after all, the only time he touched me without malice. The public eye saw me as the model son, eager to please a father that, while far from doting, appeared at least concerned with my well-being. It may have been one grand facade, the gem flawed and cracked, but it was the closest to feeling like his son that I ever got.

And with that, I take my leave. Go forth and WIPpet.

chapflourish

Connect with me on Facebook     Goodreads     Twitter and now Pinterest
Read excerpts and buy copies of my works on the Published Works page. e-book & paperback copies also available on Amazon   Smashwords   Barnes & Noble and other on-line book retailers.

23 responses

  1. What a terrible dad! No wonder poor Driev is a mess.

    February 19, 2014 at 6:21 am

    • Yes, his backstory isn’t pretty.

      February 19, 2014 at 6:24 am

  2. Oh I love this excerpt. Love! Great insight into Driev and his malicious dad. (Still picturing Luke Evans.) Are you planning on a trilogy or maybe even more books than that with Driev?

    February 19, 2014 at 8:06 am

    • I don’t know about a trilogy, but I am guessing there will be more Driev books. I’d like them each to stand alone. I do like this character an awful lot and might have to do a prequel at some point.

      February 21, 2014 at 5:09 am

  3. Oh, Driev

    Great excerpt

    February 19, 2014 at 8:27 am

    • Thanks, Fallon. 🙂

      February 21, 2014 at 5:19 am

  4. Ah, yes, Ladyhawk. I agree with you there, one of the best. 🙂

    Another great excerpt, Kathi. Wonderful insight into the past.

    February 19, 2014 at 9:28 am

    • Ladyhawk has some corny music and not the best camera work at times, but all of that is easily overlooked.

      February 21, 2014 at 5:08 am

  5. Amy

    Oh, that is gut-wrenching. Few things make me just over the top with rage, but parents harming their children heads the list. No wonder Driev is so broken.

    February 19, 2014 at 10:25 am

    • I admit, even though I taught pre-K and an after school program for 5th graders, I’m not the best kid person. I absolutely cannot tolerate people abusing them, however. Which is why writing bits of Driev’s past is very difficult for me. I really don’t know where it’s coming from, either, but apparently it needs to get told.

      February 19, 2014 at 5:19 pm

  6. This is a really touching excerpt Kathi. I clearly got a sense of Driev’s pain of his relationship with his father, of not feeling loved. It explains a little of why Driev is how he is. Fantastic. 🙂

    February 19, 2014 at 1:06 pm

    • Thanks, Elaine. As I mention in my reply to Amy’s comment, it’s difficult for me to write because it’s so far from the relationship I had with either of my parents.

      February 19, 2014 at 5:20 pm

      • Well obviously that’s a good thing! But you’ve managed to empathise very well with your character and it shows. 🙂

        February 20, 2014 at 6:56 am

  7. Poor guy, his dad is quite horrible. I love the first line because it’s so relatable. Clothing, smells, places can bring on the memories like nothing else. Great except. 🙂

    February 19, 2014 at 2:33 pm

    • It’s amazing the things that can trigger memories and feelings, isn’t it?

      February 19, 2014 at 5:20 pm

  8. It makes me wonder about his father’s side of the story. Not that I want to “like” the man’s view, but I’m curious now. The intensity of vehemence the man bears towards Driev must have a source…

    Ah… The Wizard of Oz… Yeah, those family rituals are why I watch so few of my childhood favorites too. Mary Poppins, Sound of Music, The Ten Commandments (though I can’t resist it if I see Yul Brenner going “Moses”)…. I feel for you, and the monkeys… It must be hard on them not being able to bask in the glory of their theatrical experience.

    February 20, 2014 at 3:21 pm

    • Driev wonders as well. Unfortunately, he only gets part of the answer to that question, and he gets it far too late.

      February 20, 2014 at 4:40 pm

      • Well, of course… And of course. The story wouldn’t be as dramatic otherwise, I imagine. :-/

        February 20, 2014 at 4:49 pm

  9. Ah, Driev,

    Once again, I see we are kindred.

    With my mother, it was (and, I assume, still is) the house, and holidays. These were choreographed and cleaned and surface-depth perfect as could be managed.

    I can’t say I never had a kind touch – but many touches were anything but. The theory was and is that if it happened, as the saying goes, “behind closed doors”, it’s private and not to be spoken about.

    As a child, I never spoke up. Well into my 30s, I didn’t realize the extent of the damage done, and how I was inflicting it on my own children.

    Unlike Driev, I have a very good idea, and always did, of why. My mother’s childhood is one no person should be subjected to.

    The worst thing about breaking children is that they so often become the type of adults who break another generation of children. And sometimes they justify that by saying that it’s not as bad as what they had, so the child should feel lucky.

    I’m willing to lay coin on Driev’s father having had a childhood that shamed him and left him too often feeling worthless…

    February 21, 2014 at 2:55 am

    • I don’t know if Driev will ever be a parent…although I can’t say he hasn’t/won’t father any children. But I do hope he can overcome. He definitely doesn’t want to be like his father. He knows that. But whether he can break that pattern or not remains to be seen.

      I’m really not sure why this character has developed the way he has, or where his back story rose up from. Some of the scenes I’ve written — his flashbacks to childhood and teen years — were a huge stretch for me. I wondered about even putting them down on paper. But it’s Driev’s story, and he apparently wants it told. I just hope to do it justice in that regard.

      February 21, 2014 at 5:29 am

  10. Ladyhawk was a very cool movie. 🙂

    February 22, 2014 at 9:21 am

  11. Oh, this makes me want to bundle up little Driev and take him far away and wrap him up in warm blankets and feed him soup and hot chocolate. He just wants that fatherly approval so much.

    February 22, 2014 at 3:35 pm

  12. Intriguing excerpt. I sure hate when the father is an ogre but then, he makes for a good story. 😀

    February 24, 2014 at 9:21 am

Leave a Reply

