WIPpet Wednesday

Erghfa.

That’s the noise I make when I can’t come up with a catchy Blog title. Or, alternately, when I seem to be running in place. Or worse, running uphill on a treadmill intent on tripping me up and making me slide back down to the bottom. Which is pretty much how I feel lately in regards to my To Do List, Want To Do List, Should Do Some Time In The Not Too Distant Future List, and Why Is This Even On A List List. Being gone or very occupied the last several weekends didn’t help. Not that I would have traded the good times and great memories with folks I don’t see nearly enough. But, it’s definitely a juggling act. And I’m not a good juggler. Okay, I am–figuratively speaking. Literally, I can’t juggle two things. But I’ve been dropping things lately, which tells me there are too many things and I need to prune the tree.

How’s that for a nice bunch of mixed metaphors? And whining. And…done with both.

Onto the highlight of the day. It is, after all Wednesday. That means only one thing: WIPpets. For the 30th of April, 30 sentences from CBC: Bound in Shadows. This is the beginning of one of the flashback scenes scattered throughout. An exchange between Driev and his closest (only) friend, Andel.

“I’m leaving.”

I glanced up at Andel from where I lay, draped between the half-naked forms of Patsy and Myrtle–or was it Milly? Misty? I gave the winsome brunette a frowning glance, then turned the look Andel’s way.

“You can’t be done already,” I chided, my words only slightly slurred to my own ears.

We’d had dinner before coming to Highland House, one of the better such establishments in Cooper’s Hill. Andel had been in a mood for days, having had some spat with the woman of his dreams. I figured a meaningless tumble would cheer him up. I should have known better.

He made a point of not looking at the girls. He glanced at me, his mouth a tight line, eyes shadowed. “You can stay. I’ll see you tomorrow.”

He pushed off the door frame and made to suit actions to words.

“Andel, wait.” I disentangled myself from the hands and lips that hadn’t even paused in their attentions, and scrambled to my feet, stumbling after Andel. I caught him by the arm before he reached the exit. “You’re seriously going to turn your back on that?”

I gestured to our right where a curvy, red-haired girl watched, a feigned pout on her full lips. Or maybe not so feigned. Women were drawn to Andel. Not that they weren’t drawn to me as well. But in Andel they saw something grand. In me they saw a chance to dance with the devils.

“I love Clarisse,” he said.

“And April before her, and Trinna before that, and way back before you even knew what to do with it there was Willa–“

“This is different. I want to marry Clarisse.” He dragged a hand through his hair, looking more distraught than I’d seen him in a long time. “I’ve made a mess of things, so now I’m going to go home and fix it. I just hope she’ll take me back.”

 I’ve added some new pins to the CBC Pinterest board. Since I’m in the mood to share, here’s another one of the songs that puts me in mind of Driev, poor, sweet boy.

“I tried so hard,
And got so far
But in the end
It doesn’t even matter.
I had to fall
To lose it all
But in the end
It doesn’t even matter.”

 

 

chapflourish

Connect with me on Facebook     Goodreads     Twitter and now Pinterest Read excerpts and buy copies of my works on the Published Works page. e-book & paperback copies also available on Amazon   Smashwords   Barnes & Noble and other on-line book retailers.

 

25 responses

  1. Wow, I haven’t heard that song in years 😀

    April 30, 2014 at 5:16 am

    • Blast from the past? I’m not much for rap, but in this song it actually doesn’t annoy me.

      April 30, 2014 at 7:46 pm

  2. Wow. Good for Andel! I’m glad he really cared about Clarisse enough to avoid something meaningless. Now I wonder how Driev reacted.

    April 30, 2014 at 7:38 am

    • Ah…yes…the reaction. Things don’t go well, I’m afraid.

      April 30, 2014 at 7:46 pm

  3. Amy

    “In me they saw a chance to dance with the devils.” Um, yes—that’s why we love him! Well, at least, it’s why *I* love him. I’m not one of those people who wants to “fix” everyone (you’re responsible for your own issues), but there is something compelling about people like Driev, who owns his own brokenness. Makes it easier to be real about my own, I guess.

    Poor Andel, though.

    April 30, 2014 at 8:19 am

    • “owns his own brokenness.” I love that phrase. And yes, it’s so true. He has absolutely no delusions about who and what he is. Although he may be a bit too hard on himself at times.

      April 30, 2014 at 7:48 pm

    • This. Exactly. I used to be a ‘fixer’ – even considered going into psychology. But I am also highly empathetic. If I get too involved in other people’s troubles, I take them upon myself. It piled me high with more angst.

      I’m broken, but I’m learning to make a mosaic out of that brokenness – to ‘dance with my devils’. To me, the most fascinating people are always others who struggle with a lifetime of shadowy places, and try to cobble them together into something that makes sense.

      It seems the Driev has a completely different view on ‘love’ than Andel does, here. And, given the Driev isn’t of a particularly empathetic bent, I’m not surprised that things didn’t go well.

      Still, I hope Driev enjoys his woman, and that Andel can work through the problems with Clarisse (who makes me think of Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer…”She thinks I’m cuuuuuteeee!”)

      May 5, 2014 at 12:58 pm

  4. Driev gets more and more interesting each week! =P

    April 30, 2014 at 9:01 am

    • Thanks, Adrian. I hope once the entire thing is complete, it still holds together.

      April 30, 2014 at 7:48 pm

  5. Wow what a great WIPpet for Wednesday! Seriously, I agree with the others; Driev is such an intriguing character and I can’t wait to find out where his story leads. Oh and BTW I know exactly what you mean by those lists – I made one similar the other day!! 🙂

    April 30, 2014 at 12:54 pm

    • And then today at work I came across an email from 3 years ago telling a co-worker about lists I had at work! 😀 Oh yeah.

      April 30, 2014 at 7:49 pm

      • I’m not quite as bad as that. But if we didn’t have our lists, we’d be a lot less organised wouldn’t we, and things would start to fall apart. Well that’s how I see it anyway lol.

        May 1, 2014 at 4:05 am

  6. “In The End”…. You should hear my 8 year-old rapping to Mike Shinoda’s lyrics in that song. That and “Numb” are two of our sing in the car favorites. Come to think of it… it’s kind of scary that my son loves Numb as much as he does. Though… I think that would be a pretty good song for Driev as well.

    I can see both Andel and Driev’s viewpoints here. It’s hard to accept that your friend has “grown up” when you aren’t ready to yet (not saying Andel really has grown up, but he is definitely more sure of himself than Driev thinks he should be). Nice interplay…

    April 30, 2014 at 7:05 pm

    • “I’m tired of being what you want me to be, Feeling so faithless, lost under the surface, Don’t know what you’re expecting of me.” Yup. Already pinned. 😉 Funny, for most of my writing I need soundtracks, very few, if any, lyrics. For Driev…songs with words.

      I’m afraid where women are concerned, Driev will never grow up.

      April 30, 2014 at 7:53 pm

      • I should have guessed you’d pinned it. 😀

        April 30, 2014 at 8:33 pm

  7. Interesting excerpt. 🙂

    April 30, 2014 at 8:34 pm

  8. Linkin Park has some pretty good songs – though personally I prefer their newer stuff 🙂

    Oh, Driev, your sex drive will never stop will it?

    April 30, 2014 at 9:35 pm

    • No. No, it will not. But, on the up side, he is a gentlemen with women. 🙂 Well, those not trying to kill him, at least.

      I don’t know if I’ve heard Linkin Park’s new stuff. Will have to look some up.

      May 1, 2014 at 5:10 am

  9. Like everyone else, I love the interplay between them. And I know about lists. 🙂

    April 30, 2014 at 10:19 pm

    • Lists are awesome! They go on the list of…er…never mind.

      May 1, 2014 at 5:10 am

  10. Wow, I really love these characters!

    April 30, 2014 at 10:38 pm

    • Thanks, Rachel. I’m enjoying being in their world. Well, for the most part. Driev makes it challenging at times.

      May 1, 2014 at 5:11 am

  11. I love the way you describe women’s response to both of these men. Immediately I got a strong sense of their character. 🙂 Nice excerpt!

    May 1, 2014 at 8:29 am

  12. Poor, Dreiv. He tries to be a good friend. Tries… Good bit!

    Do take care of yourself with all those lists. I had those lists… Drove me mad. Ended up sitting on the couch watching horrible made for tv movies (I mean SEXTING IN SUBURBIA is far from quality).

    May 3, 2014 at 2:02 pm

Leave a Reply

