Randomness for WIPpet Wednesday

A bit of randomness to start off my WIPpet post because I feel like it. You know those quizzes that go around Facebook? What fruit are you? What Harry Potter character are you? If you were a turtle, what would your shell look like? Yeah, I get sucked in and take them, but usually the results don’t even come close to fitting my personality. Mainly because many times I wouldn’t pick any of the answers you get to choose from. The other day, though, I took What Kind of Storm Are You? My results:

YOU ARE THUNDERSTORM

You are a bit temperamental and unpredictable. You have a lot of pent up energy. You don’t strike often, but when you do it can be deadly. You can be extremely destructive. People find you to be amazing and awesome. You can be a bit scary at times, but that just adds to your appeal. You tend to get other people excited whenever you’re riled up. You aren’t usually the only storm in town.

To which I say a resounding, “Huh.” I do love me a good storm. Watching it come in. Feeling the first tendrils of it brush across the hair on your arms like that elusive spider web. The change in the air. The anticipation and deep rumble of far-off thunder, more felt than heard. Yeah. Whether or not I fit the description above…well, some bits maybe.

And now, on the the main event. This week I present 20 lines from Edge of Darkness.I know, today is the 21st but when I chose my lines I honestly thought it was going to be the 20th so that’s what you get. And, I’m beginning to realize that sharing too much of EoDmight be a bad thing. Spoilers abound for those who haven’t read, or are in the process of reading, the first two books. Sooooooo…don’t know. Obviously I will be starting another project when CBC leaves my plate entirely. I’ve been eyeballing some that reside in my Miscellaneous File. But, we’ll see. I might be able to pick out enough excerpts to keep you entertained yet not ruin anything for anyone else.

Your context…Ciara is in the midst of a lesson with Thadeus, an Imperial Mage introduced in Emergence. In his defense, Ciara never was a particularly good student. Just saying.

“Am I boring you?”

Ciara jerked her head up. “What?”

Thadeus sighed. “My dear, I understand you are going through a period of transition. We all are. Trust me in that. However, only one of us has more constraints on their time than is possible to honor within the space of a day. That makes time a most valuable commodity. Believe it or not, I still enjoy the concept of sitting down for a leisurely meal, or engaging in a game of stratagem with a worthy opponent. Both of which I could be doing now in place of watching you daydream.”

“I’m sorry, Thadeus,” Ciara said. “I was just thinking about something Donovan said about my mother.”

“Very well. Now that you are done thinking about it, perhaps you would demonstrate how you call your power to you?”

Ciara took a deep breath and nodded. “I’ll try.”

Thadeus held up a hand. “Without venturing into the veil. You do not do so to call your earth magic, you needn’t do so to call this power.”

There you have it. Now get thee forth and WIPpet, WIPpet good.

chapflourish

Connect with me on Facebook     Goodreads     Twitter and now Pinterest Read excerpts and buy copies of my works on the Published Works page. e-book & paperback copies also available on Amazon   Smashwords   Barnes & Noble and other on-line book retailers.

30 responses

  1. Great WIPpet, can’t wait to more! 😀

    May 21, 2014 at 5:30 am

  2. I always seem to get sucked into taking those quizzes too,even though a lot of times none of the answers fit, so neither does the result.

    Enjoyed the snippet 🙂

    May 21, 2014 at 6:55 am

    • I tend to talk to them a lot when I’m taking them. You know, things like, “none of the above”, “I have no idea what any of these choices are” “who makes up these stupid quizzes anyhow”. 😉

      May 22, 2014 at 6:11 am

  3. Amy

    I love those quizzes! The only one that gave me the “right” answer was the one about which fictional world you belong in. Naturally, I belong in Harry Potter’s world. 😉

    This WIPpet really spoke to me today. Those words about being in transition, and about time. I don’t know…funny how sometimes we just read something that strikes just right.

    May 21, 2014 at 7:48 am

    • I find the quizzes with the fewest questions peg me better than the lengthier ones. Wonder why that is? Too many variables in the others I guess.

      Yeah, I feel a bit like Thadeus at times lately. Must have really been feeling him when I wrote that, too.

      May 22, 2014 at 6:12 am

  4. Great excerpt! I like the peek at your magic system and how casters access their power.

    May 21, 2014 at 7:50 am

    • Everyone’s a bit different in how they access their power. And Ciara’s a bit unique in having two…one of whom has manifested itself as a tangible being.

      May 22, 2014 at 6:13 am

  5. I try to avoid those quizzes, but I agree they are addictive! Nice WIPpet!

    May 21, 2014 at 8:21 am

    • Thanks, Kate. I do *try* to avoid the quizzes. They catch me at odd times. You know, like when I really should be doing something else. O_o

      May 22, 2014 at 6:13 am

  6. I liked the definition of you that you gave at the top. You sound like a fearsome person but lots of fun! 😉

    Anyway, lovely excerpt. I like Thadeus’ impatience with Ciara, how he lists all the things he’d rather be doing than teaching her!!

    May 21, 2014 at 8:25 am

    • Thadeus is probably the best teacher in terms of knowledge and what he has to offer. Not so good at patience and tact at times.

      I have been known to scare people, so I am a little like a thunderstorm. I usually make noise before I out and out explode, too. So plenty of warning if you know the signs.

      May 22, 2014 at 6:15 am

      • Well that’s good to know!! lol

        May 22, 2014 at 11:25 am

  7. Ah, another Ciara / Chiara! 🙂

    Nice snippet which raises a lot of questions in the reader’s mind. Also like the interaction between Ciara and Thadeus.

    May 21, 2014 at 2:39 pm

    • Thanks, Ruth. Poor Thadeus. He’s wondering what he ever did to deserve having to teach Ciara. Well, in part. His intellectual curiosity regarding her other power tends to override some of his frustration.

      May 22, 2014 at 6:18 am

  8. I’ve been on both sides of that lesson. Minus the magic bit, of course. 🙂

    Some of those quizzes are good for a laugh. For example, on the what kind of dog are you quiz, Beloved got Great Dane whilst I got French Bulldog. O.o Explains the difficult pregnancies, I suppose. 😛

    May 21, 2014 at 3:42 pm

    • What?!!? No magic??? I don’t believe it. Everyone has a bit of magic in them.

      Oh, I think on that one I got Mutt. Which fits, I suppose.

      May 22, 2014 at 6:18 am

      • Well, maybe a little magic.

        Mutt’s not bad. Mutts have far fewer issues than purebreds. Far fewer.

        May 22, 2014 at 2:53 pm

  9. I liked thunderstorms better before I lived in Montana and Wyoming, where their power is – well, magnificent and intimidating.

    And then I spawned someone who is terrified by the rolling of thunder, and the rush of wind…

    It’s hard to enjoy them when she’s huddling into me, shaking…gets my Mama Bear roused, and I want it to be over, for her.

    It sounds like neither Thadeus or Ciara are enjoying the lesson, so I wonder why it can’t be set aside (that’s the unschooler in me talking; I’m sure there are good reasons!).

    May 21, 2014 at 6:17 pm

    • I used to be terrified of storms as a child. I’d see the sky darken and start to get all sorts of anxious. As I got older, I leaned the other way. I’m well acquainted with their destructive powers, and don’t wish anyone to be in the path of one, but there’s nothing I like better than being out and watching them come in. The surge in the air beforehand…

      Oh, Ciara would absolutely LOVE you. Thadeus probably wouldn’t mind either, if there weren’t that threat of uncontrolled power being set lose due to lack of training. 😉

      May 22, 2014 at 6:21 am

  10. hmmm… sounds like Ciara is about to get a storm of her own if she’s not careful. You better be nice to her

    May 21, 2014 at 6:37 pm

    • *blinks* Did I read that right? *scrubs eyes* You want me to be nice to a character? *falls off chair laughing, regains composure, wipes tears from eyes* Yeah. Okay. 😉

      May 22, 2014 at 6:22 am

  11. Thunderstorms are amazing. I miss Arizona thunderstorms. That and the Mexican food. It’s just not the same here in CA. I took that quiz, too, and got Ice Storm – rather unpredictable and not as nice as I seem, I believe it said. 🙂

    Nice look into Ciara’s character, here, and one we can all relate to. School and boredom do seem to go hand in hand …

    May 21, 2014 at 7:48 pm

    • See, now Ice Storm might have fit me. I tend to be aloof, a bit cold, not the effervescent friendly sort…well, until I decide I like someone. Even then, among my group of close friends, I am the chilliest.

      May 22, 2014 at 6:24 am

  12. Couldn’t help but think of this song when I read your description: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B5Ugbq-2kig Yeah… those tests are amusing, sometimes. If you’ve ever looked at them, they’re a base design that people modify to their tastes. Anyone can make one.

    I can’t help but feel a bit for both Thadeus and Ciara (and to Ruth’s comment… I had a Chiana in one of my stories as a main character too. Love the similarities.)

    May 22, 2014 at 2:07 pm

  13. I love those facebook quizzes a bit too much, I think. They are fun, sometimes true, and funny when they are NOT true, and awesome when they end up saying something that you needed to hear, and…. yes. I love facebook quizzes.

    I love the voice in this excerpt, the dialogue exchange, the wording. I totally don’t get why Thadeus would complain about wanting to have a life. I mean… that’s all teachers DO with their life is teach…. right? 😉

    May 23, 2014 at 12:10 am

  14. Last quiz I took was on Buzz Feed (found it on facebook). It was based on the cartoon Adventure Time. Yeah… I didn’t mind my result, but I didn’t groove 100% ether.

    I think everyone daydreams in classes. It is like a requirement in life. Though, sleeping in class is an art form! 😉

    May 23, 2014 at 12:48 pm

  15. I rarely take those quizzes.

    I’m laughing because it didn’t seem like Ciara was done thinking about what Donovan said. lol Great excerpt!

    May 26, 2014 at 7:55 pm

    • Oh, she’s not. A long way from it. 😉

      May 28, 2014 at 5:54 am

  16. I’m not a big fan of storms—I hate loud, sudden noises. And last night one knocked out our phone/cable/internet for far too long. Grr!

    May 28, 2014 at 1:21 pm

Leave a Reply

