Jam-Packed Fictional Friday

First, I have to say my dinner with Kourtney Heintz made my Monday. Delicious food, delightful company, more than a few laughs, and we found out we share similar views on things other than writing. But there was plenty of authorly talk as well. Yes, I made up another word. I do that.

Now, on to the exciting stuff.

  • I am sooooooooo hoping this actually happens. I’ve been hearing rumors for many, many years. Being a huge McCaffrey/Pern fan (F’nor and Canth are my absolute favorites) I really would like to see Peter Jackson *hint, hint, Powers That Be* take this project over and do it justice. A Dragonriders of Pern Movie May Finally Happen! A Dragonriders Of Pern Movie May Finally Happen!
  • Best Selling Author Devin O’Branagan has released her novella Of The Blood Of Witches .  During World War II, British witch Vivian Eldon works with a network of witches to prevent a Nazi invasion. Assisted by intelligence officer Commander Ian Fleming—the future author of the James Bond novels—and flamboyant MI-5 astrologer Captain Louis de Wohl, the Eldon family becomes the magical force behind the Miracle of Dunkirk. Based on historical people and events, this thrilling tale of courage and forbidden love reveals the secret world of history’s unsung heroes.

    This novella, originally published in the Witch Hunt: Of The Blood anthology, is based on Devin O’Branagan’s bestselling paranormal thriller, Witch Hunt. No familiarity with the Witch Hunt series is required to enjoy this exciting story..

  • Every Ugly Word by Aimee L. Salter is a new release that you can read a bit more about on fellow WIPpeteer Raewyn Hewitt’s Blog. From the blurb: Every Ugly Word follows 17 year old Ashley who is relentlessly bullied at her high school and by her own mother, and his helplessly in love with her best friend, Matt.

    She seeks help by looking to her future self, “Older Me” who supports her through it all and teaches her to love herself. But is she really seeking “Older Me” or is she looking within herself for the answers?

    When Ashley looks in the mirror she can see and talk to her future self. “Older Me” has been her support system through her relentless tormentor’s bullying, her unstable mother at home, and her forlorn love for her longtime best friend. But when Ashley discovers “Older Me’s” betrayal, she is targeted in the worst way and impends her last chance with Matt. She’s done with hearing every ugly word.

  • And, via WIPpeteer Elaine Jeremiah, announcement of another new release.  This one for Mishka Jenkin‘s Prophecy of Stones.The bond of love can conquer all, but only if it is accepted.

    Prophecy states that three champions imbued with the best virtues of the mortal race: heart, strength and soul, will be the ones to save them all from an enemy which threatens to steal the life from their world and those who live upon it.

    These three, along with their scribe, his bond mate, and an overly sarcastic oracle, must set off on a journey which will take them through forest, city, swamp and mountain. On this quest they activate the magical stones which charge the only weapon powerful enough to defeat Tildar and his cult of Dwell.

    Yet the closer they draw to journey’s end, the more it seems that it is not the evil which will be their downfall, but the fear of a champion unwilling…

There, a little something for everyone. And I leave you with this thought…

 

https://i0.wp.com/media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/0d/27/c1/0d27c1f870aaa7f3e32afa11ba8561f7.jpg

Want to be included in Fictional Friday? It’s simple:

  • If you’re an author with an upcoming release, drop me a line via e-mail.
  • If you’re a reader who has just read something outstanding and want to share, likewise.
  • Book signings, release events, quotes, tidbits, industry/indie news etc. etc.? Pass them along.
  • As this is my blog, I reserve the right to not use anything I don’t want to use.

 

chapflourish

Connect with me on Facebook     Goodreads     Twitter and now Pinterest Read excerpts and buy copies of my works on the Published Works page. e-book & paperback copies also available on Amazon   Smashwords   Barnes & Noble and other on-line book retailers.

17 responses

  1. Huh. I hadn’t read the blurb for “Every Ugly Word.” I guess she re-wrote or re-titled Breakable. That was a good story.

    August 1, 2014 at 6:42 am

    • Hmm…don’t know either.

      August 1, 2014 at 6:45 am

    • Quite exciting – she rewrote Breakable working with an editor from Alloy Entertainment. I loved Breakable, but Every Ugly Word is even stronger. Some of the character names have changed & the ending a bit different. Super exciting watching a full on marketing team go into action (especially as Alloy is a new Warner Bros Imprint). I have both books and worth comparing for the editorial imput.

      August 2, 2014 at 6:00 am

      • Thanks- I’d have been a little disappointed if I had re-bought the same story right now (limited budget and reading time), but I’ll definitely recommend it to people and grab it for a fresh read myself some time soon. Breakable was a fantastic story, and I imagine it just kicks ALL the ass now if the ending is fixed up. So happy for her!

        August 2, 2014 at 6:08 am

  2. Thank you so much for sharing my book 😀
    And some other great new releases here, brilliant post! 🙂

    August 1, 2014 at 7:41 am

    • You’re very welcome, Mishka.

      August 1, 2014 at 11:48 am

  3. I never finished Pern and don’t even remember it…but I keep meaning to! Maybe now I will!

    August 1, 2014 at 7:47 am

    • Never finished…*erhg*…*cough*….*sputter*…

      😀

      August 1, 2014 at 11:49 am

  4. Interesting reviews.

    August 1, 2014 at 8:53 am

  5. Fantastic Kathi! This is the first time I’ve visited your Fictional Friday *looks sheepish* and it’s fab. I especially loved the blurb about ‘Every Ugly Word’. I think that’s such a cool idea of having your older self mentor you. And thanks for the mention too. 🙂

    August 1, 2014 at 9:19 am

    • *sighs, signals flying monkeys* No worries, Elaine. You’re here now. That’s all that matters, right?

      August 1, 2014 at 11:50 am

  6. Dragons. Oy. Someone should write a story about an anthropomorphic version. You know, the kind that shoot pool, eat junk food, and only exhale bad breath. They may be shunned by the rest of the world’s cultures, and they may be condemned to live on the *wrong* side of the tracks, but as a race they long for the good old days when they could gobble down a virgin or two and swagger. Call it: “Proud of My Cold, Green Blood.”

    August 1, 2014 at 10:01 am

    • Hmm…last I checked you were a pretty talented writer. *smiles sweetly* Get to it.

      August 1, 2014 at 11:51 am

  7. Thank you for sharing my book! Very kind.

    August 4, 2014 at 9:44 pm

  8. I really enjoyed the Dragonriders, so if there is a movie, I really hope they do it justice. I’ve also heard Disney is doing a movie of A Wrinkle in Time, which I want to be good but am afraid won’t!

    August 6, 2014 at 6:29 pm

    • If they tell me it’s “based on” or an “adaptation of” a book, I go into it with a much more open mind than if they try to convince me they are following the book faithfully.

      August 7, 2014 at 6:22 am

Leave a Reply

