I’ve Come to Chew Bubble Gum and Kick Some Butt

And I’m fresh out of bubble gum. That means it’s butt-kicking time. Oh, I know, I’ve thrown my hat in the ROW80 ring before, listed my goals, did a sorry job of keeping up with them, eventually fizzling and dying and inglorious death. I hang my head in shame, and bear my back for thirty lashes with a wet noodle.

The problem is–book three in The Darkness & Light Series is not moving. Interpret that to mean: progressing slower than a three-legged turtle in molasses in the winter.

Time to take off the kid gloves, release the hounds, batten down the hatches, quit worrying, doubting, procrastinating, second-guessing, and succumbing to multiple disorders of the rewriting kind and just get’er done! I need to put my trust in the story that wants to unfold. Need to relinquish control to the muse, and tell the tale my characters keep throwing at me. After all, you can’t edit what ain’t written. Right? All that good advice I give other people who are stuck has come back to haunt me. “Muscle through to the end,” I say. “No looking back until you write Finis,” I say. “Yes, it will be crap. Yes, there will be plot holes. It’s a first draft, woman. A skeleton. An armature that will need filling out.”

gandalf

*deep breath*

Hence, my goal for this round of ROW80 is quite simple and quite singular:

Write the damn story.

As of this morning, my word count for Edge of Darkness stands at 31,518. That is my beginning marker. I am aiming for roughly 120k by the time all is said and done. And all needs to be said and done before the end of the year. I have another 20 or 30k worth of miscellaneous scenes and notes that may, or may not, be incorporated along the way.

I herewith, heretofore, and hereinafter give all those stopping by my ROW80 check-ins to thoroughly thrash me should I post no new word count. Should I whine and whimper and otherwise beg for mercy, you are to look me in the eye and tell me, “Pull up your big girl panties and get busy.”

There. Now, I’m off to buy some of those panties, and add my link to The Official ROW80 Linky. Happy Monday!

chapflourish

Connect with me on Facebook     Goodreads     Twitter and now Pinterest Read excerpts and buy copies of my works on the Published Works page. e-book & paperback copies also available on Amazon   Smashwords   Barnes & Noble and other on-line book retailers.

 

 

22 responses

  1. Well then, get busy! Lemme know if you need to borrow my list of twenty ways to unstick a stuck story.

    October 6, 2014 at 12:08 pm

    • Throw a body on the floor?
      Poke your character with a sharp stick?
      Kill everyone?

      October 6, 2014 at 4:48 pm

      • Introduce a boy named Henry.

        Worked for me! =D

        October 6, 2014 at 9:07 pm

  2. Best blog post title ever. I’ll go find my thrashing stick, just in case you need me to use it, but I’m sure you’ll do just fantastic on your goal. 🙂

    October 6, 2014 at 12:18 pm

    • Thanks. Hee, hee. Make sure the thrashing stick is a big sturdy one. I have a tough hide.

      October 6, 2014 at 4:48 pm

  3. Hey, we have almost the same goal… same word count, same-ish starting point, same book in a trilogy. I’ll kick your butt if you’ll kick mine.

    October 6, 2014 at 1:21 pm

    • Reciprocal butt kickings are the best! *dashes off to get pointy toed boots*

      October 6, 2014 at 4:49 pm

  4. Sometimes, the things that seem the most simple are actually the most difficult. We’re rooting for you! You can do it! Push yourself through the rough spots, and you’ll find yourself on the other side toward smoother sailing.

    October 6, 2014 at 1:23 pm

    • Oh, I certainly hope so. I’ve been fighting with this one for far too long. Grrrr

      October 6, 2014 at 4:50 pm

  5. Go, go, go, go go, go , go, go! (Were those enough gos? I hope so, because my fingers started tripping over each other.)

    Good luck, Kathi! Nose to the grindstone and all that. *g*

    October 6, 2014 at 2:12 pm

    • Isn’t there a song like that? ;p Thanks, Ruth.

      October 6, 2014 at 4:50 pm

  6. As motivational and entertaining as ever 🙂 I agree with Kristen – you get the prize for the title. I can manage to look you in the eye and tell you to get busy, but I think we’ll stick to the noodle rather than a stick (tough hide or not). And the pointy boots…I shudder at the thought!

    October 6, 2014 at 5:28 pm

    • I wish I could remember what movie that title line was from. It escapes me. You can thank my dad for the pointy toe boots. 😉

      October 6, 2014 at 7:07 pm

      • I like pointy toe boots, just not anywhere near my posterior! Okay, it’s official – I’m obsessed, and I have too much time on my hands today 😉

        October 7, 2014 at 4:24 am

  7. Kathi, that is a singular goal, indeed. I’m sure you’ll never lack for buttkickings when needed. 🙂 I, too, need several of those, myself. I’ll have to ask for them next week, after my surgery! Best of luck on finishing and still being able to sit down! ;->

    October 6, 2014 at 5:38 pm

    • I’ll be more than happy to kick your butt once you’ve recovered sufficiently. I never like to kick someone when they’re down. 😉 Hope all goes well with the surgery.

      October 6, 2014 at 7:05 pm

      • Thank you, Kathi! I just got home from the pre-op stuff (updating all my meds, my surgical history, doing the EKG, chest x-rays and bloodwork, and all that fun stuff). Only took three hours! 8-o I’m exhausted now.

        However, I should be open for buttkickage by next Wednesday’s check-in. 😀

        October 7, 2014 at 6:06 pm

  8. Me, I’m not the thrashing type – but I like to do nice things for people, and so I want to help you.

    SO this is what I’m gonna do.

    For every 10,000K you write, you can give me a word. I’ll put it in the next week’s WIPpet. I’m not sure what Trip and T’Pol will do with your word, but I do know it’ll be interesting, and maybe hot, too…

    So, got that first 10K yet?! ;D

    October 6, 2014 at 9:24 pm

    • Oh my, that is some interesting incentive there. Does the 10k have to be all new and fresh? Yesterday I recycled a cut scene.

      October 7, 2014 at 5:55 am

      • You know your goal better than I do – I’ve got no problem giving credit for recycled words.

        I just want to see you succeed (and I’m curious what mischief you and the monkeys can stir up for TnT, too!)

        October 7, 2014 at 5:58 am

  9. You can do this. I don’t have any any pointy sticks or thrashing boots – wait, it was the other way around right? 😉

    October 7, 2014 at 4:36 am

    • Pointy sticks and thrashing boots work just as well. 😉

      October 7, 2014 at 5:56 am

Leave a Reply

