Quick and Short from States Away

Yup, still in Bryan, TX at the ASCA National Specialty, but found myself with some down time yesterday so decided I’d toss out a quick WIPpet. Sorry I didn’t make it to anyone’s last week. Or this week. (Most likely.) And just to clear things up in my Driev quandary–it’s not the risk of rejection. That comes with the territory and I have pretty thick skin, so that’s not why I’m still debating about which avenue to pursue. It’s actually a combination of impatience and inability to craft a respectable synopsis. Possibly lame reasons, but reasons nonetheless.

Okay, my WIPpet, more from The Adorned. I’m not sure if it’s been clearly mentioned in my excerpts, but Fader Price has quite a few tatoos–abstract, tribal-type designs in black or perhaps wode blue. I give you 14 sentences for the year.

She watched him over the top of her mug. “What do the tattoos mean?”

Fader opened his eyes, just enough to see her through his lashes. “Many things.” He sighed and lifted a hand, tracing the line of one down his neck. “They are not easily explained. They are…my history. My future. Choices good and bad. Strength. Weakness.”

“You’re right,” Roe said. “Not easily explained. Forget I asked.”

And since I’ve added no (or very few) words, no ROW80 update. Maybe next week when I’m back home and trying to get into the groove again.

 

chapflourish

Connect with me on Facebook     Goodreads     Twitter and now Pinterest Read excerpts and buy copies of my works on the Published Works page. e-book & paperback copies also available on Amazon   Smashwords   Barnes & Noble and other on-line book retailers.

19 responses

  1. Short but very compelling! I like his explanation of the tattoos.

    And I was pretty sure from other comments you’ve made that time is the big factor for you in considering what to do with Driev.

    November 5, 2014 at 10:55 am

    • I’m still working out the tats in my own head, but Fader is very helpful. Unlike some of my male leads.

      November 9, 2014 at 6:54 am

  2. I like how abrupt Roe is. Great excerpt. And best of luck with choosing what to do with Driev. I’m sure you’ll come to the right decision in the end – whichever way you choose to go. 🙂

    November 5, 2014 at 1:21 pm

  3. Oh, I love a WIPpet with ink. Short but compelling.

    Enjoy your trip!

    November 5, 2014 at 2:37 pm

    • Thanks, Denise. It was a great trip. Home last night (Saturday) and playing catch-up today.

      November 9, 2014 at 6:55 am

  4. I would love to know more about his tattoos and what they all mean.

    November 5, 2014 at 2:39 pm

  5. Sounds to me the tattoos might be important in some way. Hmm. ⭐

    November 5, 2014 at 3:07 pm

  6. Love his explanation of the tattoos. And hope you figure out what you want to do with Driev.

    November 6, 2014 at 6:27 am

    • I wanted to give that thought last week but the brain was too busy elsewhere. This month for sure I make a decision. *draws line in sand*

      November 9, 2014 at 6:57 am

  7. Amy

    It sounds like those tattoos are an important part of who he is. I don’t have ink myself (yet!), but I love it, and I love the stories behind the tats my friends have. I’d like to know Fader’s stories.

    November 6, 2014 at 2:53 pm

    • I almost got inked a few months ago, but couldn’t get the design to make me happy and now might just have it made into a silver bracelet instead. But I have many friends who have tattoos and who got them for various reasons. None, however, like Fader’s. 😉

      November 9, 2014 at 6:58 am

  8. Awesome! I loved his description of the tattoos, so mysterious and completely engaging. I want to know all about them 😉

    November 6, 2014 at 4:12 pm

    • Thanks! I’m not sure even Fader could tell you that. Not completely…

      November 9, 2014 at 6:59 am

  9. Hope you’re enjoying your time here in the States.
    Love Fader’s tattoos! Looking forward to reading his stories.

    November 7, 2014 at 1:29 pm

    • Back in Wisconsin as of last night. Texas was great. Not nearly as warm as we thought it would be, but warmer than the snow greeting me this morning.

      November 9, 2014 at 6:59 am

Leave a Reply

