Somebody Toss Me A Guava ~ ROW80 Check-In

It’s amazing, but after only a week I feel as though I might be close to getting caught up from my hectic fall. Well, caught up mentally. Word-wise…

I put this really great (free) app on my phone a couple weeks ago. It’s called Writeometer and you can read all about it here. I wanted a quick, easy way to track my daily word count on the go. Writeometer does that and more for multiple projects. It even awards you treats in the forms of Guavas for hitting your daily word goal. 1 Guava = Eat a cookie or take the dog for a walk, 2 and you can browse Facebook… The talented Krista Walsh and I decided it would be better if it could actually spit chocolate at you when you’ve had a good day writing. Or a bad day. Maybe that’s something the programers could work on?

Anyhow, it probably does more than I use it for at the moment. One of the unfortunate cool things it does is this:

2014-11-16-07-08-40Yeah. That 4065 words a day to reach my self-imposed due date…it used to be in the low 3000s. *flips phone over and refuses to look*

I shouldn’t be so hard on myself, though. Because when I tallied up my actual word count between Wednesday’s update and today’s it was far better than I thought. Yes, over 6k in 5 days. That’s not setting the world on fire, especially when looking at what NaNo participants crank out, but I’ll take it. Besides which, it puts me within sight of the HALFWAY POINT. Woo-hoo!!!!!!!!

Perhaps I’ll get a chance to put words down today and break that barrier. Sundays are a bit rough because it’s grocery shopping day, Packer football day, READING day…

And, of course, I like to check in on the other ROWers and see what they’re up to.

Plus, we got enough snow yesterday to cover the grass. Minimal compared to what we can get around here, and what other parts of the country are getting. But I like snow. My dogs like snow. So we might have to go play in it for a bit. Yeah, cause I’m crazy like that.

chapflourish

Connect with me on Facebook     Goodreads     Twitter and now Pinterest Read excerpts and buy copies of my works on the Published Works page. e-book & paperback copies also available on Amazon   Smashwords   Barnes & Noble and other on-line book retailers.

4 responses

  1. More power to you.
    You like snow? I’m only too glad to send you ours as well. ^^’

    November 16, 2014 at 10:43 am

  2. Ooh, thanks for the writeometer rec!

    November 16, 2014 at 4:58 pm

  3. I use Writeometer too! Fun app. I like the layout and the colors 🙂

    November 17, 2014 at 8:15 am

  4. 6k is great!! yay words!

    November 17, 2014 at 8:26 am

Leave a Reply

