There’s a Chill in the Air ~ WIPpet Wednesday & ROW80

What the heck? Wednesday already?? And a crappy one for many parts of the US. We’re cold here in WI, but don’t have the snow that’s slammed other states. And yes, I know, I said I like snow and winter and all, but it’s a bit too early for single digit temps. I expect that weather in January, after I’ve had a few months to acclimate myself to it.

Now, I could have very well picked something for my WIPpet that would have warmed you up a bit, but I decided to leave that to some of the other WIPpeteers this week. I am giving you more of Roe and Fader. A bit of good news on that front, I managed to add another thousand words to The Adorned when I was arguing with EoD characters and needed a diversion. It was that or kill someone, and neither of the two I was arguing with could die at this point in the story. They keep acting like this, however, and all bets are off. (Kate Sparkes, you may want to have a talk with your boy. Just saying.)

No fancy math this week. I’m giving you 11 paragraphs for the 11th month, in which I give you a peek at the antagonist.

The woman turned. “Adorned? I thought you were dead.”

“Close enough to singe my brow in the fires of the damned,” Fader said.

She grinned and slid a look Roe’s way. “Who’s the urchin?”

“I’m no urchin,” Roe said, not bothering to hide her ire.

“She is no one for you to hold in concern,” Fader said.

“You saying as much tells me she is just that.”

“Then you lay meaning on my words they do not hold. She is no one.”

The woman’s amber eyes settled on Roe, raked over her head to toe and back, lingering on her face. “Ah.”

Roe lifted a brow. “Ah?”

Cael ris brehcht,” the woman said to Fader.

A laugh rumbled from his chest. “Nulch churraup, Jimmalynn.”

Trust me, a part of that conversation is going to come back to bite Fader in the ass. Yup. That it is.

And, moving on to ROW80. I have officially crossed the half-way point in EoD. *happy dance* The 1800+ words I officially added since Sunday doesn’t include a couple thousand written on future scenes. I tend not to count those until I actually insert them into the ms. just in case they don’t make the cut. So yeah, even though currently two of my characters are just begging me to kill them and dump their bodies in the river, I’m muscling through. First drafts are allowed to suck.

 

chapflourish

Connect with me on Facebook     Goodreads     Twitter and now Pinterest Read excerpts and buy copies of my works on the Published Works page. e-book & paperback copies also available on Amazon   Smashwords   Barnes & Noble and other on-line book retailers.

37 responses

  1. You can send him over, but I can’t guarantee talking.

    November 19, 2014 at 6:01 am

    • I’m sure he won’t argue with you. 😉

      November 19, 2014 at 6:05 am

  2. Sometimes he really does sound like Darth Vader…using the force. “She is no one of your concern *waves hand*” lol

    November 19, 2014 at 6:35 am

    • Hmmm…I can see him with somewhat of a Darth Vader voice. *gazes off into space imaging Fader talking to her* Yeah. Like that.

      November 19, 2014 at 6:47 am

      • Haha nice!

        November 19, 2014 at 6:47 am

  3. yay for passing halfway!!

    November 19, 2014 at 8:23 am

    • 😀 It’s a huge relief. I only hope the second half doesn’t take as long as the first!

      November 19, 2014 at 6:34 pm

  4. Come to Alaska. >.< We don't have snow. We don't even have freezing temperatures. It rained yesterday. RAINED. In Alaska. In November. This does not happen.

    Is that a language I could look up? Or did you invent it yourself? I'm supposed to do that for one of Arvid's characters, and it's very intimidating. I'll take any tips you may have.

    November 19, 2014 at 10:14 am

    • Um…you also don’t have much daylight right now, do you?

      It’s a purely made-up language which may or may not make the cut. I don’t make up whole language systems like some writers do. I just stick in words and occasional sentences. Sometimes I base it on an actual language, translate the phrase and then change it up a bit. Most times I even actually remember what I meant for the character to say. 😉

      November 19, 2014 at 6:38 pm

      • No. We don’t. It’s 4:30 and between cloud cover and sunset, it’s pretty dark.

        Ah. Okay. *sigh* I don’t think that will work for Arvid’s guy.Still. You make it look easy. 🙂

        November 19, 2014 at 7:35 pm

  5. I was right in Roe’s shoes in this scene – I wanted to wipe the smirk off the woman and then glare at Fader. I can’t decide whether to be sorry about the fact his words come back to bite him in the ass. I’ll have to get to know him a little better first – not that I have any complaints about that 😉

    Great work on the word count. I can empathise with wanting to string people up. Tyler and Lilly-May are having such a good time they won’t listen to reason. I keep trying to tell them they have to work for it – that it shouldn’t be so easy, damn it, and pretty soon I will have to take evasive action!

    November 19, 2014 at 10:29 am

    • Yeah, you better nip that in the bud pronto! You know the old saying, give an inch they take twenty miles. Okay, maybe I switched that up a bit, but it’s true.

      I think readers are generally going to like Fader. He truly is a good guy. Well, in some regards. There is a bit of a ruthless streak, and some past transgressions, and then that whole incident with the–

      Oh, never mind.

      November 19, 2014 at 6:41 pm

      • Lol – that’s just cruel!

        November 20, 2014 at 2:04 am

  6. Ooo! Love the conversation. And I can’t wait to see how this conversation comes back to haunt Fader.

    November 19, 2014 at 1:00 pm

    • He has no idea how badly he’s put his foot in it. Poor guy.

      November 19, 2014 at 6:42 pm

  7. “Close enough to singe my brow in the fires of the damned,” Fader said. Love this. There’s got to be a story in there…

    Fantastic, snappy dialogue. Curious to see where this goes.

    It’s cold in Virginia, but we haven’t had any snow yet–thankfully. I moved south to avoid November snows. Have a great week! Stay warm,

    November 19, 2014 at 2:27 pm

    • Glad to hear you’re missing the snow. Sounds like NY is getting pounded. We just have a dusting here. It tried again today, which means it warmed up a tad, but still only flurries.

      Oh yeah, there’s a story all right. Not sure if it will come out or not. Bits of it might have to.

      November 19, 2014 at 6:43 pm

  8. The hint about his words coming back to bite him is clear. She’s no-one? Ha!

    November 19, 2014 at 2:51 pm

    • Hee hee. Can’t get anything past you! 😉

      November 19, 2014 at 6:44 pm

      • Not sure about that but can’t help thinking… 😀

        November 19, 2014 at 7:53 pm

  9. ‘No one’ means ‘no one’, the way ‘just fine’ means ‘just fine’…

    Something’s going on here. I think I’m gonna like it!

    And here’s your friendly reminder – I’m ready and waiting for you to click over to another 10K and feed TnT another word…

    In the meantime, I’m really enjoying Fader and Roe – and the ominous amber-eyed woman.

    We’ve had cold, and a bit of snow (enough for Annalise to make a snowball!). Then we had a day of rain, and now it’s cold, and will be till Sunday. Sunday and Monday are expected to be – WARM!

    November 19, 2014 at 6:22 pm

    • I have to check where my next 10k marker is. I should have jotted it down. The short-term memory is sharp as a rusty trap covered in molasses and left in the snow.

      We’re supposed to hit 40s with rain this weekend. Hopefully Mother Nature doesn’t plunge us right back down into the single digits afterwards.

      November 19, 2014 at 6:46 pm

  10. These characters are so intriguing!! I love reading about them! And great work on hitting the half way mark! First drafts are indeed allowed to suck!

    November 19, 2014 at 8:16 pm

  11. Amy

    I just want to know what they said in that other language! I’ll bet Roe is actually a very, very big concern, actually. I mean, that’s how these stories go, right?

    Congrats on the halfway mark! That’s a big milestone.

    November 20, 2014 at 9:53 am

    • Ah, but the reader only gets to know what Roe knows, and Roe doesn’t know. So there you go. 😉

      November 20, 2014 at 10:04 am

  12. Congrats on hitting the halfway mark!

    Really liked this scene. Love the way your characters interact!

    November 20, 2014 at 10:33 am

    • Thanks, Ruth! Feels good to be that far along…finally!

      November 25, 2014 at 5:05 am

  13. Love this! I feel incensed on Roe’s behalf that this woman is being so dismissive of her. How dare she! I bet Roe’s ten times the woman she is!! (OK, angry rant over now!) 😉

    November 20, 2014 at 1:43 pm

    • This woman and Roe are destined to definitely NOT be friends. You know when you start out by telling Roe she’s an urchin, things are going to go progressively downhill.

      November 25, 2014 at 5:07 am

  14. Oh and well done for your writing achievements – so glad EoD is coming on well. That means I get to read it soon(ish)! 😉

    November 20, 2014 at 1:44 pm

    • Thanks. 🙂 I’m still aiming to have the first draft done–well, originally by the end of this month, but realistically beginning of next. I have the last two weeks of the year off, so I’d like to use them for final edits, formatting, etc.

      November 25, 2014 at 5:08 am

  15. very intriguing, as usual! 🙂 I like the singed eyebrow comment.

    November 20, 2014 at 4:06 pm

    • Thanks, Alana. 🙂

      November 25, 2014 at 5:09 am

  16. Including the scenes you’ve written but not offically included in the manuscript, you’re closer to 65K, then? Regardless, excellent progress. As they always say, it’s downhill from here…

    November 20, 2014 at 8:37 pm

    • Thanks, John. Yep, all downhill. Just hope I don’t bounce off too many rocks on the way down. 😉

      November 25, 2014 at 5:09 am

  17. I’d love to know what they’re saying in that language. And she is “no one?” I doubt that. Great excerpt. 🙂

    November 21, 2014 at 1:20 pm

    • Everyone wants to know what they’re saying. Especially Roe. Maybe Fader will tell her at some point. Then again…

      November 25, 2014 at 5:10 am

Leave a Reply

