Enough Already! ~ ROW80 Update

I did a little retrospection this morning. Basically my ROW80 updates have been variations on the ‘whine-snivel-sniff-woe is me-my characters are killing me-this story is dragging’ theme. I don’t even want to read them, so I’m fairly certain those of you who do are getting a bit tired of hearing it. Since I’ve increased my word count by over 38k since this round began, I really have nothing to bitch about. Time for a little tough love.

Yeah, like that. And this…

https://i0.wp.com/cdn.someecards.com/someecards/usercards/1349322053704_6892842.png

I’m just way too hard on myself sometimes. Lots of internal pressure. As Garek says in Emergence, “I honestly don’t know how you put up with being you.”

Trust me, it’s not as easy as it looks.

Anyhow, I’ve decided, along with slapping myself, I’m going to work on finding much more interesting things to blog about. Seriously. Things that may appeal to the general masses, as it were. Don’t ask what those things are. I have absolutely no freaking idea at the moment. If anyone does, please feel free to leave a suggestion in the comments.

Other than that…

It’s Sunday. Packer game, grocery shopping *groan*, laundry… maybe some words, checking in with other ROW80ers… the usual.

I have to write a review of Reading Glasses: Stories Through an Unpredictable LensΒ  which is an excellent collection of short stories.Β And I’ll probably sneak in some more reading because I started Rise of OrionΒ  by the incomparable Rachel O’Laughlin last night and yeah. Did. Not. Want. To. Put. It. Down.

chapflourish

Connect with me on Facebook Goodreads Twitter and now Pinterest Read excerpts and buy copies of my works on the Published Works page. e-book & paperback copies also available on Amazon Smashwords Barnes & Noble and other on-line book retailers.

16 responses

  1. Yeah you’re definitely too hard on yourself. And please don’t slap yourself. I can feel it from here, the other side of the Atlantic lol!

    Re blogging I was pleasantly surprised last weekend with a blog post I did called ‘Advice needed’ about how best to promote my books when I’m getting VERY poor sales. Had loads of comments and it was one of my highest viewed posts ever.

    So I’m trying if I can to replicate that success by doing a post about not writing due to busyness! Hmm… I’ll see if that works!

    Best of luck with your writing anyway. You’ll get there. πŸ™‚

    November 30, 2014 at 9:32 am

    • Just read your Advice Needed post. I’m feeling very similar. I plan on doing ‘something’ when EoD is ready for release. I don’t know what. There are some things in the works, some vague, sketchy ideas. I have the whole ‘huge genre’ problem as well. And writing a series, I wonder how many folks will wait until it’s complete.

      November 30, 2014 at 12:55 pm

      • I’m waiting!! I think actually that it’s easier as an indie author to keep the momentum going if you’re writing a series – people are keen to find out what happens next. Maybe you’re not having that experience? It’s just what I surmised.

        I think sales of ebooks in general are down, so whatever we do at the moment it’s gonna be a hard slog. But perseverance is key I think. πŸ™‚

        November 30, 2014 at 2:10 pm

      • Well, unfortunately, the only people keen on finding out are those who read and liked the first one. I’ve seen several comments in different forums where people say they won’t buy the first in a series until they’re all out because they don’t want the year wait.

        I’m really not planning anything until after the first of the year. Too much already on the plate. πŸ˜‰

        December 1, 2014 at 5:08 am

      • I can sympathise Kathi. But you’ll get there in the end as I will. And that’s what counts! πŸ™‚

        December 2, 2014 at 11:57 am

  2. Whining. I wouldn’t know anything about that. Ahem. Just, you know, been singing a couple of my own songs of woe…for too long. Thankfully my computer (one of my songs of woe) has not played nice enough to blog about it on a semi-regular basis. *eye roll

    Enjoy the game and book. (I’m really hoping that slap did the trick. You could do some damage smacking yourself like that on a regular basis. πŸ˜‰ )

    November 30, 2014 at 10:36 am

    • I had a sub-conscious slip the first draft of that post and wrote ‘wining’ instead. That is my preferable form of the word. πŸ˜‰

      I’ve got a hard head, so if I don’t smack myself good and hard, it’s like swatting a mosquito.

      November 30, 2014 at 12:53 pm

      • How interesting that ‘whining’ and ‘winning’ are spelled so much alike. Someone should use that in a story.

        November 30, 2014 at 2:02 pm

  3. All of us need a good kick in the backside from ourselves on occasion. I hear you on needing to find more interesting things to talk about on your blog; I’m going through a little of that myself. I might resort to stealing… I mean, borrowing some other ideas from a few other bloggers. That might help you, too.

    November 30, 2014 at 11:21 am

    • Borrowing ideas, even re-blogging posts, are both good ideas. I’m also trying to come up with things that might appeal to my readers. Not that writers aren’t readers, too — they better darn well be.

      November 30, 2014 at 12:51 pm

  4. Pingback: A Kick in the Pants | Rose's Road

  5. Well, at least it is not just me, who is feeling like such a failure all of a sudden. Maybe it is just that time of year. Maybe we should all just chill until the first of the year and start fresh. And stop beating ourselves over the head in the meantime.

    Hang in there and just try to enjoy things one day at a time.

    November 30, 2014 at 2:04 pm

    • Thanks, Chris. I am my own worse critic, and my own worse boss. But someone has to do it. πŸ˜‰

      December 1, 2014 at 5:09 am

  6. I struggle with non-writing things to post, too. I’ve thought about sharing things I’ve run across during research and other things. My non-blog hop posts don’t get much traffic though, so I haven’t put much effort in it.

    And progress is great, so don’t be too hard on yourself.

    December 1, 2014 at 3:57 am

    • I keep hunting for ways to draw in the ‘fans’. Not that I have screaming hordes of them, or anything. But readers who aren’t writers as well. I haven’t figured out how to do that yet.

      December 1, 2014 at 5:10 am

  7. Sometimes we need to whine a bit, then we have to pick ourselves up and take charge of things. I think you’re doing that.

    December 2, 2014 at 8:31 am

Leave a Reply

