Living in the Moment

This is living in the moment. This is a 12 year old dog who has no clue he’s 12 because what’s age but a number? This is dancing like no one’s watching, or just not caring if someone is because, hey, you just feel like dancing. This is happiness, and joy, and “I’m making snow angel trails because I like to and it’s fun.”

This is what we forget to do when we reach that magical thing called Adulthood. We become ‘too old to act like that’.

Well I cry PHOOEY! I declare we tap into our inner dog, our inner child, and have fun for the mere sake of having fun. Live in the moment. And when someone asks why you don’t act your age, tell them, “I’ve never been this age before, I don’t know how to act. Have you got a manual?”

Thus ends the Random Non-Writing Related Thoughts portion of this post. On to ROW80 updates.

I have added words. Many words. Many emotionally draining, nail-biting, ERMAHGARD WHAT ARE THEY DOING NOW?!!? words. In the world of writing, it has been a fun week. Plus, hey, I’m less than 40k away from my self-imposed word limit. Yeah. Will I succeed in finishing by the end of this round? That’s, what? Three weeks, I think. Um…likely not. Then again, I’m off from the 19th thru the 4th so no telling what will happen.

Now, go have fun.

 

  chapflourish

Connect with me on Facebook Goodreads Twitter and now Pinterest Read excerpts and buy copies of my works on the Published Works page. e-book & paperback copies also available on Amazon Smashwords Barnes & Noble and other on-line book retailers.

14 responses

  1. Love it! Congrats on the great word count!

    December 7, 2014 at 9:06 am

  2. Animals have it great. They have no idea about time. They don’t know they’re old, either. I have a cat who’s 17 and who’s little more than skin and bones, but she still has an appetite and has gotten even more active than she was two or three years ago, when she was in better health. A great lesson they teach, have fun until the lights go out for good.

    Great word count!

    December 7, 2014 at 11:49 am

    • “Have fun until the lights go out.” I love that!

      December 9, 2014 at 5:06 am

  3. Let’s compromise and tap into our inner puppy and make those snow angel tracks. What? It could totally happen.

    P.S. What’s your cure for hotdog fingers? O.o

    December 7, 2014 at 2:00 pm

    • I admit, he also likes to squiggle on his back all over. So I tried it once. Um…not nearly as enjoyable as he makes it look. Either that, or I was doing it wrong!

      December 9, 2014 at 5:07 am

      • Oh I’m sure he’s a pro and we can only hope to be as good. 😀

        December 9, 2014 at 6:12 pm

  4. yay on the words!!

    December 8, 2014 at 7:53 am

    • *happy dance* Love words.

      December 9, 2014 at 5:08 am

  5. Wow – congratulations on the word count! Great video! All the best for the last 3 weeks.

    December 8, 2014 at 4:03 pm

  6. Love this post. I had a similar moment today actually. I was singing (belting) the words to George Ezra’s Blame It On Me (he is my musical crush du jour) and dancing around my living room on my own and it felt so silly but such fun!

    Makes me think of CS Lewis’ quote: “When I became a man I put away childish things, including the fear of childishness and the desire to be very grown up”.

    December 11, 2014 at 7:04 am

  7. Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    I used to watch Sam out of the window as he rolled in fresh mown grass with his long shaggy coat ending up covered in the green stuff. He would stand for a minute, look around to see if anybody was watching and then go at it again… love it…My biological age is 35 – it was an age I enjoyed totally and decided to stay there for all time…It is only my glasses that tell me any differently and they are rose coloured.

    December 13, 2014 at 7:23 am

  8. Thank you for the reminder. We all need to lighten up. 🙂
    Congrats on the word count. Woo hoo.

    December 13, 2014 at 3:01 pm

Leave a Reply

