Wednesday’s Cool Title Goes Here

**Editor’s note: That post title is as good as it gets today. Feel free to insert a better one in your head. **

So yeah, it’s Wednesday, and that means it’s time for a WIPpet and a ROW80 update and…I’m just not feeling it. My mojo done gogo. Yup. It’s been one of those weeks. And I had more of a post written, but then I deleted it because it was a downer, and that’s not what anyone visits here to get.

Instead, I give you this. The song I’ve been looping all week. No video, but that’s okay because it’s the words that count. Kasey Chambers and Shane Nicholson combine nicely.

I also give you 10 sentences from The Adorned for the 10th of December. Nothing too cold here.

Roe couldn’t help herself, she reached out a hand and traced the new line of black along Fader’s ribs where the wound had been only two days before. His muscles rippled beneath her touch.

“You should not do that,” Fader said, but didn’t make to stop her.

“That’s not possible–the wound I mean.” She looked up at him, her eyes narrowing in suspicion. “What are you?”

“Hunted. Marked.” He watched her without expression. “You have heard of the Adorned?”

As for my progress on Edge of Darkness… Words. Plot twists. Moving forward. So that’s all good.

 

  Now, I’m outta here to find my mojo. If you see it, let me know.

chapflourish

Connect with me on Facebook Goodreads Twitter and now Pinterest Read excerpts and buy copies of my works on the Published Works page. e-book & paperback copies also available on Amazon Smashwords Barnes & Noble and other on-line book retailers.

31 responses

  1. Aah, now we see what the black marks are all about…

    December 10, 2014 at 6:27 am

  2. o.O o.O o.O o.O Fader and Roe… =P anyway, very interesting. I’m curious what Adorned is. It’s obviously something. I definitely want to see more of the world.

    And Girl, look at how much progress you have made! You are so darn close to finishing. Get to the comp, eliminate distractions and go for it! Or I’ll send….Janni to kick your ass. =P

    Until then ::grabs back pack, stuffs it with pillow case, net, food and caffeine, and an open blank notebook:: let’s go on a hunt for the mojo.

    December 10, 2014 at 6:49 am

    • I know. Lots of progress since I started tracking it. Soon. Very soon. Done. At least with the first draft. *whew*

      Chocolate. You forgot to pack the chocolate!!

      December 11, 2014 at 6:40 pm

  3. very, very interesting.

    And yay for progress. Will keep a lookout for that mojo. 🙂

    December 10, 2014 at 7:53 am

    • Thanks. I think the mojo got partially shanghaied by the hubby sharing his stuffy head thingy with me. Not nice. 😦

      December 11, 2014 at 6:41 pm

  4. Pardon me for passing out, but I did when she touched his ribs and I stopped breathing when I imagined that it was meaning doing that. Um, yeah. Glad to know what he is.
    I’m sorry about your mojo. But when I read excerpts like this, I have to say you definitely have some mojo.

    December 10, 2014 at 8:55 am

  5. Sorry. Take two on part of that. It was supposed to read, “Pardon me for passing out, but I did when she touched his ribs and I stopped breathing when I imagined that it was me doing that.”

    December 10, 2014 at 8:56 am

    • Ha, ha! I know, right? I’d love to be touching Fader’s ribs. 😉

      December 11, 2014 at 6:42 pm

  6. Amy

    Ohhhh, wow. This is seriously cool. I’m digging the mystery behind who Fader is, and I really, really want to know more. Preferably if that “more” involves…um…well, let’s just say I’d like a better look at him, shall we?

    December 10, 2014 at 9:05 am

    • Hee, hee. A better look at him, you say? That probably does happen at some point.

      December 11, 2014 at 6:43 pm

      • Amy

        *droooool*

        December 11, 2014 at 9:37 pm

  7. I love the tension between these two characters. And I’m eager to learn more about the Adorned. I’m hooked!

    December 10, 2014 at 1:46 pm

    • Thanks, Denise. 😀

      December 11, 2014 at 6:43 pm

  8. Who ARE the Adorned??
    Sorry about your mojo. It’s just a little flat. Needs time to plump up again. 🙂

    December 10, 2014 at 3:20 pm

    • Yeah, dang mojo. I’m hoping it returns by the weekend. I’d hate to have to go on an extended journey to find it.

      December 11, 2014 at 6:44 pm

      • Just breathe. See, it’s right THERE! Yeah, right THERE! I think you GOT it. 🙂

        December 11, 2014 at 8:59 pm

  9. Oh, I’m sure you’ll get your mojo back soon. It probably just went to Baja to have a few drinks, take in a few shows. You know. I’m sure it’ll come back soon. 🙂

    Meanwhile, yay for your progress! Words and plot twists are great!

    December 10, 2014 at 4:08 pm

    • Well if it was going to go on a trip like that, it could have taken me along, too!

      December 11, 2014 at 6:45 pm

      • I know, right? Darn that mojo, kickin’ back, drinkin’ mojitas while you’re struggling to find it. Its probably giggling right now, knowing you’re looking.

        December 11, 2014 at 9:16 pm

  10. Alana Terry

    I like it. There’s a lot there just in the dialogue, her suspision/unease, his resignation to being whatever he is. Definitely an interest piquer (if that’s a word…)

    December 10, 2014 at 11:21 pm

    • Piquer. We’ll make it a word whether it wants to be or not. ;p

      December 11, 2014 at 6:46 pm

  11. Have you looked under the sofa cushions for your mojo? I’m sure you’ll get it back in no time. And if you without mojo means plot twists and that kind of WIPpet – you’re doing pretty good! 😉

    The Adorned is a great name – can’t wait to find out more about them!

    December 11, 2014 at 6:49 am

    • Thanks, Celine. I will look under the cushions as soon as the dog moves. She makes grumpy faces at me if I tell her to shove off in the midst of a nap.

      December 11, 2014 at 6:48 pm

  12. *eyeroll* Just like a man. “You shouldn’t do that, only I’m not going to stop you, because I want you to keep doing that, and if you’re the one doing it and I’m just sitting here minding my own business while you happen to be doing what I want you to do, I can’t get in trouble for it. Right?”

    I hope you get your momentum back. 🙂

    December 11, 2014 at 12:54 pm

    • Oh that comment makes me laugh! 😀 So very, very true in general and in particular as well.

      December 11, 2014 at 6:49 pm

  13. I’m picturing you Mojo as an Aussie….when I want the canine in my life to return, I utter one simple word:

    Cheese.

    NEVER fails!

    If it’s not back by this time tomorrow, I think T’Pol will get out her handy dandy scanenr and her handier dandier Chief Engineer, and they’ll go scouting for it and find all kinds of trouble and maybe get locked in a cell where they tickle each other’s ribs a la Roe and Fader and and and…

    *Ahem*…where was I?! We’re visiting friends out of state, the kids and I, and sleep hasn’t been very high on my agenda…

    I get punchy when I don’t sleep…and when I’m trying to get those last few scenes of my NaNo novel done here, because I started it here, and that would be cool.

    Are you looking for beta readers for this one? Do you have a list? Because, I’m, like, all impatient to learn so so much more! =D

    December 12, 2014 at 10:04 pm

    • Hmm…my dogs don’t know ‘cheese’ but they know ‘liver’. Maybe I’ll have to try that. 😉

      Beta readers! LOL Eventually, yes. As there are only a little over 8k words written on it at the moment, that will be sometime next year-ish. Are you saying you would like to be on the list? Hee, hee.

      December 13, 2014 at 6:04 am

      • I am indeed saying just that; and next year-ish is good. This year-ish, I’ve got lots to wrap up!

        I would come for liver. Yum!

        December 13, 2014 at 6:17 am

  14. Ooh, intriguing excerpt. Just what are the Adorned, then? (You’re probably not going to tell me and I have to wait to find out, right? Booo).

    December 13, 2014 at 6:12 pm

  15. Oh my, I’ve missed these too. I loved the scene, and I’ve missed a few. I really can’t wait to have a full novel to get my hands on…how I long to spend more time with them 🙂

    December 15, 2014 at 2:34 pm

Leave a Reply

