If I Could Put Wine in a Bottle…

I was going to bow out of WIPpet Wednesday this week. Mainly because I think I’ve finally run out of bits to share from The Adorned, but partly because [insert random crappy mood here]. But, the only wine I want to actively partake in is the kind where grapes and other assorted goodies are liquified, fermented, aged, put into a bottle with a cork, and shared with friends, so I found precisely twenty-eight words to share until I write more. No context, so let your imaginations run wild.

Fader shifted closer. “Your thoughts have suddenly gone dark.” His voice remained a low, rumbling murmur against her ear.

“So, you’re a mind reader now?”

“Just so.”

Warm welcomes to the new WIPpeteers that have come to join us, and for anyone still lingering on the sidelines, wondering what the madness is all about — it’s oh-so-easy. On Wednesday, simply share a bit of your current WIP. The only rule is that what you share must somehow coincide with the date. For instance, 28 words for the 28th. Other examples might be, 28 paragraphs, a sampling from page 28 or chapter 28. 28 sentences from chapter 1 (for the month) or chapter 15 for the year. You can also opt to do crazy WIPpet math with the month/day/year to make your excerpt work. We’re flexible like that. Then add your blog link to the linky thing up there in the sidebar, and your in! Viola! The more WIPpeteers you can get around to visit with, the better. Any genre is welcome. We have quite the variety, and all the authors are wonderful folks.

Now, I’m off. Noodling and decisions must be made.

chapflourish

Connect with me on Facebook Goodreads Twitter and now Pinterest Read excerpts and buy copies of my works on the Published Works page. e-book & paperback copies also available on Amazon Smashwords Barnes & Noble and other on-line book retailers.

34 responses

  1. Good words, though.

    January 28, 2015 at 6:16 am

  2. Pingback: WIPpet Wednesday – Awkward Spoiler Avoidance Edition (and a lesson learned) | disregard the prologue

  3. Oh Geez. I really should get in and contribute… I’ve only been saying it now for… 18 months or more? 😛

    January 28, 2015 at 7:08 am

    • Jump in. No sharks in this water. Well, okay, maybe a few. But they don’t bite very hard at all. 😀

      January 28, 2015 at 7:11 am

      • Bite? We barely nibble. 😛 It’d be fun to have you, Alison. 🙂

        January 28, 2015 at 8:52 am

  4. This is a good tease. I hope your [random crappy mood], or rather, whatever caused it, dissipates soon. Not sure if your the huggy type and don’t have any wine on hand, but throwing virtual chocolate, coffee, and general commiseration your direction.

    January 28, 2015 at 8:54 am

    • Virtual chocolate, coffee, and general commiseration gratefully accepted. The mood may have passed. The reason for it remains, but I believe the correct choice was made. Time will tell.

      January 29, 2015 at 1:52 pm

  5. Definitely a good tease. Consider me teased. I hope the winds shift soon and bring on happy breezes chock full of words. And chocolate. Maybe start with the chocolate and see where that gets you…

    January 28, 2015 at 9:00 am

    • I love starting with the chocolate first. It’s like having desert before the meal. 🙂

      January 29, 2015 at 1:53 pm

  6. Amy

    It doesn’t have to be long to be good. (That’s what she said.) Yeah, this is a great teaser. I think they say a lot in those few words.

    January 28, 2015 at 9:46 am

  7. Pingback: WIPpet Wednesday | Books & Such

  8. Sounds like my kind of wine!

    January 28, 2015 at 9:57 am

    • I’ll even take wine in a box. 😉

      January 29, 2015 at 1:55 pm

  9. I hope your mood improves soon. I suggest chocolate–or tea. That’s my go-to beverage for bad days–and, okay, good ones too.

    I loved this line: “His voice remained a low, rumbling murmur against her ear.” Such wonderful tension there. 🙂

    January 28, 2015 at 2:47 pm

    • I wonder if they make chocolate tea? I’m not sure if that sounds good or not.

      January 29, 2015 at 1:55 pm

  10. You are such a tease. They sound on awfully good terms.

    January 28, 2015 at 4:43 pm

    • On better terms in this part than others.

      January 29, 2015 at 1:56 pm

      • So, that’s a start to some titillating a.c.t.i.o.n.?

        January 29, 2015 at 2:08 pm

  11. Alana Terry

    Mind reading is such a creepy skill with so much potential!

    January 28, 2015 at 10:34 pm

    • He doesn’t really read minds, just very perceptive. Maybe a bit empathic.

      January 29, 2015 at 1:56 pm

  12. ohhh, just that little bit has me wanting so much more. 🙂 Hope things improve.

    January 29, 2015 at 4:36 am

    • Steadily improving…I think. At least I have direction now. Floundering doesn’t work well for me.

      January 29, 2015 at 1:57 pm

  13. There’d be the temptation to think something really, *really* inappropriate… Those are 28 very nice words.

    I hope you’re feeling better soon. 🙂

    January 29, 2015 at 8:10 am

    • Hee, hee. Inappropriate? *smiles innocently* Nothing like that here. *cough*

      January 29, 2015 at 1:58 pm

  14. LOVE Fader like I LOVE Driev. Um, does that make me fickle.
    Hoping you hear good news. I’m sorry that something has occurred to bring you down.

    January 29, 2015 at 8:57 am

    • Fader and Driev are so completely different. I mean, Fader is basically a peaceful fellow who looks at killing as an absolute last resort, and Driev… I’m not sure they’d get on well together. They would definitely test each other’s patience.

      January 29, 2015 at 1:59 pm

  15. Hope your feeling much better now. Really nice choice of words. I really those two.

    January 29, 2015 at 10:02 pm

  16. Enticing! 😉

    February 1, 2015 at 11:16 am

  17. Very good words. And dark thoughts leaves a lot to be thought about…dark how etc =P

    Hope you’ve gotten rid of that random crappy mood by now! If not, go watch some puppy videos on youtube.

    February 1, 2015 at 5:15 pm

  18. I did bow out last week — just because if I wanted to get Facets of Glass done by the end of the month, I couldn’t afford the hours it would cost reading everyone’s stuff and being a good blog friend. 🙂 But now I can make up for it!

    Sorry to hear about the mood. The words are good, though!

    February 2, 2015 at 7:33 am

  19. OK so I finally did it for this week… 🙂 Finally.

    February 4, 2015 at 6:41 am

Leave a Reply

