Some Riddles are Better Left Unsolved

Apologies for only getting to a third of the WIPpet posts last week. I had hoped to tackle some more Monday, but that didn’t work out. On the plus side, I had a great weekend. One of the benefits of a 5 hour drive with only a dog for companionship, is you can get a lot of plot noodling done. And noodle I did. Also, I heard from several readers how much they are enjoying the Darkness & Light series. That always feels good. It was generally followed up with, “anxiously waiting for book three.” Which also felt good…mingled with terrifying…mingled with “OH DEAR LORD I CAN’T TAKE THE PRESSURE!!!!!!!!!!!!!” Shortly after which I wanted to crawl into a corner, curl into the fetal position, and suck my thumb down a bottle of Fireball.

But no, that’s only a momentary reaction. Well, maybe not the Fireball one. Nope, time to pull up my Big Girl Panties and just git’er dun.

I did have a brief tumble into the abyss of What The Hell Am I Thinking? I Couldn’t Write My Way Out Of A Wet Paper Bag. The cure for that was to go back and read some of my favorite scenes from the first two books, which left me thinking that I can, occasionally, string words together. Good words. Into good sentences, flowing paragraphs, and action packed adventure the likes of which has never been seen before.

Hey, let’s not get crazy now.

*ahem*

So, WIPpet Wednesday. I wrote some words on The Adorned last week. This little excerpt is 13 paragraphs for day (11) plus month (2). If you’re wondering about Riddle, I mentioned her several weeks ago…here… when Roe had a run-in with another old friend.

“Roe.”

She jumped, but stopped herself from moving because the voice and the tone of it told her that would be a very bad idea. “Hey, Riddle. How’re things?”

“Interesting as usual.”

Roe looked right, toward the voice, but saw nothing. When she turned her head back, a dark shape crouched in front of her.

“Damn the gods.” She pressed a palm to her chest to keep her racing heart where it belonged. “I know you’re good. No need to try and impress.”

The sound Riddle made might have been a laugh, if deadly specters did such a thing. “I’ve got a message for you.”

“Of course you do,” Roe said. “Seems everyone and their thirteen uncles has a message for me. Let me guess, it has something to do with a big guy? Bald? Inkings?”

“Pleasant on the eye, too.”

Roe sighed. “That as well.”

“You tumble him yet?”

“What?” Her cheeks heated for no reason Roe could figure. “No.”

“Best do it soon if you intend to,” Riddle said. “He’s short for the world.”

Roe tried to keep the sudden spike of fear from showing. Probably a lost cause. Riddle could likely smell it as sure as a hound. “Is that your message?”

And I’m going to leave you with the best commercial I’ve seen in quite a while. Thank you, Android. **Warning: The song will get stuck in your head.** IMHO the orangutang steals the show, but the little goat kid at about 44 seconds is quite amusing as well.

chapflourish

Connect with me on Facebook Goodreads Twitter and now Pinterest Read excerpts and buy copies of my works on the Published Works page. e-book & paperback copies also available on Amazon Smashwords Barnes & Noble and other on-line book retailers.

42 responses

  1. Heh. Instead of “make hay while the sun shines” it’s “roll in the hay while the sun shines.”

    February 11, 2015 at 5:27 am

    • *cue cart scene from Young Frankenstein* Roll! Roll! Roll!

      February 11, 2015 at 7:04 am

      • Amy

        ROFL! Wow, I haven’t seen that movie in ages.

        February 11, 2015 at 9:43 am

      • One of my all time favorites.

        February 11, 2015 at 9:51 am

  2. Amy

    Riddle certainly doesn’t mince words, though I’m guessing that *wasn’t* the message.

    February 11, 2015 at 9:45 am

    • You guess correctly.

      February 11, 2015 at 9:52 am

  3. Ooo! That is a great commercial. 🙂 And I always liked that song. 🙂

    Hmm… So if Roe plans to hook up with Fader, she best get her seductive on soon, huh? I have a feeling I should be sending warm hugs in Fader’s general direction. Warm hugs and a plastic gown. In case Roe pukes on him again. I’d offer Roe a hug, but I’m not sure she’s into them. Chocolate, though. Chocolate in Roe’s direction.

    February 11, 2015 at 10:33 am

    • Isn’t it great! I love Robin Hood and Little John. 😀

      Fader, unlike some of my characters, loves a good hug. He would greatly appreciate one.

      February 18, 2015 at 6:16 am

      • ((Fader)) Biggest hug I can manage. (I’m only 5″ 5ish” so my arms won’t hold much of him, but I have the whole squishy-mommy thing going, so that should help.)

        February 18, 2015 at 11:18 am

  4. “He’s short for the world.” Can I admit I felt Roes same spike of fear here? This does not sound good. Not good at all. Great snippet, though.

    February 11, 2015 at 11:09 am

    • Yes, Fader has quite the target on his back. Poor guy.

      February 18, 2015 at 6:16 am

  5. “He’s short for the world.” That can’t be good. What a great video!

    February 11, 2015 at 12:58 pm

    • I admit, I watched that video at least four times before leaving for work that morning. Then I shared it with co-workers. I still go back and watch it. Definitely a keeper.

      February 18, 2015 at 6:17 am

  6. Wow. I loved that commercial. Thanks for sharing it! It brought a smile to my face.

    Like you, I have moments when I think I can’t, as you put it, write my way out of a wet paper bag. Sometimes rereading something I’ve written helps. Other times I’ll read a couple chapters in a book I like and keep on working. Sometimes it’s because there’s a major flaw in my story that I don’t yet know how to fix. This creativity business is complicated!

    Good WIPpet! I’m wondering why she says, “He’s short for the world.” I smell trouble.

    February 11, 2015 at 2:01 pm

    • You nailed it. Creativity is complicated. And there are times it can’t be forced. That’s when I veer off to one of the other projects, all the while the gears in the back of my brain are smoking as they continue to try and puzzle out the problem.

      Trouble. Roe seems to attract that.

      February 18, 2015 at 6:18 am

  7. I’ve missed so much and come back to this!? This bit hints and says so much with so little. You can totally string words together and make awesome. That was more proof!

    Though those are dire words, I feel that isn’t the message Riddle was meant to deliver. I bet that message is even worse.

    February 11, 2015 at 3:17 pm

    • Gloria! Just HAD to pop in here and tell you how much I ***love*** that new profile pic! =D

      February 14, 2015 at 3:41 pm

      • Thank you, Shan! I took it during the holidays. It’s so nice I don’t want to replace it just yet. 🙂

        February 15, 2015 at 11:10 am

      • I love it! I feel like we ought to be sitting over a cuppa, laughing together! =)

        February 15, 2015 at 11:37 am

      • It is rather lovely. 🙂

        February 18, 2015 at 6:20 am

    • Ah, that’ll teach you to go away. 😉 And, yeah, that’s not quite the message… not entirely.

      February 18, 2015 at 6:19 am

  8. “He’s short for the world” has such an ominous ring to it. And I really like “tumble him” as an expression. Riddle sounds like a very interesting character.

    February 11, 2015 at 6:08 pm

    • Riddle might have to get her own story at some point. Maybe just a little novella.

      February 18, 2015 at 6:21 am

  9. A very mysterious snnipet. Really intriguing. And riddle is am awesome name.

    February 11, 2015 at 7:12 pm

    • Thanks! 😀 I have no idea where the name came from. No conscious decision, just fell from my fingers as they typed. But it’s very fitting I think.

      February 18, 2015 at 6:21 am

  10. Have you ever really tried to write your way out of a wet paper bag? Because that doesn’t sound particularly easy. Like walking out of one (because you have to assume it’s a pretty big bag to hold a person) seems reasonable, but writing your way out of one? Man. I wouldn’t want to land in that situation.

    I love your dialogue, and the ominous mood is very effective. I’m a wee bit concerned, now, because…well. That. Mmm inkings. Also, I’m very intrigued. I love the descriptions, too.

    February 11, 2015 at 10:12 pm

    • Um…well…a wet paper bag would be soggy and…um… hey! You’re making my brain hurt. Knock it off. ;p

      February 18, 2015 at 6:22 am

  11. Like Fallon that line about Fader being short for the world also hit me. Poor Fader! And even though he was not physically in the scene, I still drooled over him. 🙂
    Loved the commercial!!! I remember that song from Robin Hood.

    February 12, 2015 at 10:10 am

    • I had forgotten that song from Robin Hood. Makes me want to go watch the Disney version again. Good way to spend a cold night.

      Fader is such a sweet, drool worthy morsel.

      February 18, 2015 at 6:23 am

  12. Another one with that moment of terror for the phrase “he’s short for this world”. NOOOOO. Also, Riddle is rather cool in a downright frightening way.

    That was a ridiculously cute advert. I’m so jealous, the Android adverts I’ve seen have been only humorous, not adorable.

    February 12, 2015 at 11:32 am

    • I love instilling terror in my readers. Mwahahahahahaha!

      Android’s been doing a good job with their ads lately IMHO. I don’t watch much TV or see pay attention to too many commercials, but there’s rank at the top of ones I’ll actually watch.

      February 18, 2015 at 6:25 am

  13. Love that commercial! Every time I see it I tickle Garrett and bounce him around to the beat and he has an absolute blast.

    As for that snippet, ack! Hopefully Riddle is wrong.

    February 12, 2015 at 7:32 pm

    • I bet Garrett giggles hysterically. I know I would. 😉

      February 18, 2015 at 6:26 am

  14. I love riddle! “short for the world” is a great term. I need to pay more attention to your snippets!! These are great.

    February 13, 2015 at 6:07 am

    • Thanks, Alison. 😀 Riddle doesn’t get much time in this story, but she might just get her own tale at some point.

      February 13, 2015 at 6:10 am

  15. OK…maybe there’s something wrong with me for chuckling at the whole, “Tumble him soon, because he’s gonna die” thing…

    And I think I’d be wary of Riddle, but also miffed, because, well – BOUNDARIES!!!

    Still, if Roe needs an excuse to go slither up against Fader, now she’s got a good one!

    And that commercial….it makes feet of snow feel snuggly…almost….

    I saw the dog and deer (Katie and Pippin) on a PBS show this week. Great docu, and a great story between the two.

    Last thing. You can write. Paper bags or no, you can. =D

    February 14, 2015 at 3:47 pm

    • Riddle has no boundaries. C’mon, she’s the second highest member of the assassin’s guild. Boundaries. *snork*

      Do you know how hard it is for me to keep Roe away from Fader?!!? Oh, wait, I’m betting you’ve got a good idea of the difficulty of keeping characters apart. 😉

      Thanks for the last thing. It helps.

      February 18, 2015 at 6:29 am

      • Keeping them apart?! Ummm, uhhhh…

        T’Pol’s not currently assassinating anybody…but I’m thinking she could take me out in about a half a second…combat tactics, phase pistol, or even neck pinch…

        If she wants her human, she’s gonna have him….and we KNOW she wants him! =)

        February 18, 2015 at 11:58 am

      • And, about that last thing – thank YOU for sharing! It helps. =)

        February 18, 2015 at 11:58 am

  16. A long carride is sometimes the best way to work out plot issues. I’ve had to pull over to jot down thoughts. 🙂

    February 16, 2015 at 3:03 pm

    • I hate stopping when I travel, so I grab the tape recorder (yes, I still have one of those that uses the micro-cassettes) and record it.

      February 18, 2015 at 6:30 am

  17. You mention one of my key methods to getting back into writing, whether I’ve been away from it for a while or if I’ve been having a rough go – just reading passages I wrote that make me forget writing is so hard.

    I love that video. You know, that song, I believe is sung by a Disney voice actor. I’m blanking on his name. But it was one of the songs in Disney’s animated Robin Hood. I don’t know if that is where the song originates, but it is at least 25 years old!

    February 18, 2015 at 8:53 pm

Leave a Reply

