WIPpet Wednesday

Howdy WIPpeteers and readers from far and wide. Welcome to another rousing edition of WIPpet Wednesday. I will admit, I’m a bit off my game today. I slept very little last night… many reasons. Also, It’s lambing season here. That comes complete with highs and lows. Highs are healthy, bouncy lambs (of which I’ll share some pics eventually), lows are the other end of the spectrum. I’ve had my share of both already. Suffice it to see, this isn’t the best year we’ve had.

Anyhow, I was going to give in and present a scene in which Fader and Roe finally… Nah! I don’t even know for sure if that one will make the final cut. So instead, some new words I wrote yesterday. When Roe refuses to help Fader because her prince (head of her guild) has told her to stay away from him, Fader decides perhaps he should meet with this prince himself and suggests as much to Roe. (Side note: if you remember the excerpt where Fader says he isn’t a speller, he’s not. That doesn’t stop Roe from calling him one.)

Fader cocked his head. “Will you take me to him?”

“It doesn’t work like that.”

Something rumbled up from the speller’s chest and Roe took a step back. She slid a hand along her belt until her fingers landed on the comforting grip of her favorite knife. His size didn’t guarantee his victory. Roe had scrapped with bigger men and lived to tell the tale. Well, maybe not bigger. Just as big. Or nearly as big. Fine, no one near as large or muscled, but that still didn’t mean he’d win. One lucky thrust could find his heart before he squashed her like a rat beneath a carriage wheel.

“How does it work?” he asked, irritation creeping into his voice.

So, a different side to Fader. We got a glimpse of it in their first meeting. He’s getting a wee bit growly.

That’s all I have for now. Time to take a nap.

 

chapflourish

Connect with me on Facebook Goodreads Twitter and now Pinterest Read excerpts and buy copies of my works on the Published Works page. e-book & paperback copies also available on Amazon Smashwords Barnes & Noble and other on-line book retailers.

27 responses

  1. Amy

    Hahaha! I’m laughing at her internal dialog about his size, trying to convince herself she’d still win. I’m torn between believing she would and thinking she’s way out of her depth.

    March 4, 2015 at 9:01 am

    • She’s just cocky enough she thinks she could just pull it off. Though I’m not sure she could. Then again, would Fader really do anything to her???? Hmmm…. once can never be too sure.

      March 8, 2015 at 10:41 am

  2. Pingback: WIPpet Wednesday | Books & Such

  3. First of all, I love the fact that she has a favorite knife. Second, I love the conflict between them. It keeps the tension high.

    March 4, 2015 at 9:40 am

    • Doesn’t everyone have a favorite knife? I have a favorite kitchen knife. 😉

      March 8, 2015 at 10:42 am

  4. Once again, great interaction between these two. And Roe’s internal monolog is perfect!

    Hope you had a good nap. 🙂

    March 4, 2015 at 9:54 am

    • I have a hard time napping, but I think I did fall asleep for an hour. That’s better than nothing.

      March 8, 2015 at 10:42 am

  5. I believe in you, Roe! Though hopefully it’s not going to come to that.

    March 4, 2015 at 2:41 pm

    • Roe’s confidence hangs a lot on the gods’ favor. Fader isn’t above defending himself, but I don’t know that he’d ever lift a hand against Roe. Not even this early in their ‘relationship’.

      March 8, 2015 at 10:44 am

  6. I love the tone, the banter, the humor between the lines. I’m totally engaged with the characters. 😀

    March 4, 2015 at 2:46 pm

  7. I LOVE how she starts all cocky and then gets more and more unsure. And I’m very sorry about the sadness of lambing season but am excited to see photos of the newbies.

    March 4, 2015 at 4:32 pm

    • I’m thinking I’ll take my camera out when I do chores today. It’s easiest to get lambs being lambs when the moms are all pre-occupied with eating. Wish I would have had it yesterday when one of them took on Princess Fiona.

      March 8, 2015 at 10:45 am

  8. ‘Well, maybe not bigger. Just as big. Or nearly as big.’ haha. I loved this. So, nobody can compare to Fader? 😀

    March 5, 2015 at 3:25 am

    • No. No one can compare to Fader. He’s definitely one of a kind. At least in Roe’s world. 😉

      March 8, 2015 at 10:46 am

  9. Gah, loving this! I love her internal monologue. I love what looks to be a little appreciation trickling into her thoughts. It makes me think of a cat going up to a moose. Only with a little muscle and fine figure awareness thrown in.

    March 5, 2015 at 3:31 am

    • A cat going up to a moose! I love it. 😀

      March 8, 2015 at 10:46 am

  10. Oh, Roe, how I love you! The internal monologue had me giggling and I definitely needed that after the past couple of days!

    March 5, 2015 at 12:33 pm

    • I’m glad Roe could brighten your day a little.

      March 8, 2015 at 10:47 am

  11. Many hugs for the lambs – healthy and otherwise.

    I’ve been very absent, the last few weeks. First vacation prep, then vacation and extremely limited Internet and focus…then learning Leonard Nimoy had died just before a cross-country flight, then my laptop having issues…

    Anyway.

    Love this snippet, and the way Roe’s bravado fades away in the face of a potentially dangerous Fader. A chink in her armor, and proof that even good guys can get growly.

    Yummy!

    March 5, 2015 at 3:29 pm

    • I believe when the time comes that Fader gets on a full-blown growl, it is going to be impressive. And possibly a bit scary.

      I’ve been hugging lambs a lot lately. There are always a few losses, but the weather this year saw fit to double the count. Breaks my heart every time.

      March 8, 2015 at 10:49 am

  12. Oooh, growly-Fader is most intriguing… I love Roe’s reactions to him and all her mental backtracking, and the description of squashing is… well, evocative!

    So many best wishes and good luck for the rest of the lambing season… fingers crossed there are less of the lows from now on.

    March 8, 2015 at 6:13 am

    • I could have gone with squashing a bug, but I tried to make it be more of something Roe would have in her world. Rats and carriages seemed to fit quite well. And so much more… um… visceral than a bug.

      March 8, 2015 at 10:51 am

  13. And here we are with that age old question: “Does size really matter?” Her inner dialogue had me laughing.

    March 8, 2015 at 5:56 pm

  14. 😦 I’m sorry about your lambs. I hope this week has been better.

    Hmmm… I like it when the characters that are otherwise nice guys are not so nice. It humanizes them. 🙂 And I like Roe and Fader a lot. 🙂

    March 11, 2015 at 1:22 am

    • Fader is definitely a nice guy… for the most part. 😉 He can be ruthless and deadly as well. But he has a peace-first type of belief. I’m glad you’re liking them. I think once I get to spend regular time with them, their story is going to be awesome. 😀

      Lambing ended on… Friday morning if I remember right. Well, there are bound to be some oopses due to a whole unchained gate episode. 😦 But at least it will be warmer when they show up. Thanks.

      March 11, 2015 at 6:48 am

Leave a Reply

