Things To Watch

As promised, I did try to get some video of lamb antics for you. Really I did. But, of course, when the opportunity came to film them in all their glory, they were less than cooperative. This ewe lamb has decided she’s my pal and typically follows me around while I’m doing chores. She made an effort to get her siblings to join in some lamb games for me, but to no avail. Just picture six of her friends all doing the same thing she is but at a high rate of speed.

Moving on…

This week’s WIPpet: 18 sentences plus a few bonus lines for the month, and because it just ended better that way. No context. I don’t think it’s needed. Just a reminder that the Needles are an assassin guild. THE assassin guild. Highly feared, highly effective.

“You don’t get it,” Roe said, shoving a shirt into the sack she’d grabbed to pack Fader’s things. “The Needles are watching you.”

“Even as I watch them.”

She paused in her packing to flick him a raised brow appraisal. “Right. Of course you do.” She pulled the cork on a bottle and sniffed its contents. Brandy. She took a swallow before recorking it and tucking it in next to the shirt. “You have to leave. Now.”

Roe turned to grab the remainder of the bread and stuff it into his pack. Fader reached past her to remove it and set it back on the table. Roe growled and made another grab for it, but he pushed her hand away so she scoured about for any other necessities he might need.

“Don’t you have any weapons?”

“I have no need of weapons,” he said. “And I am sworn never toΒ bare steel against my fellow man.”

Roe blinked at him. “You’re what?” She waved the question away before he had a chance to answer. “Never mind. Doesn’t matter. You’ll never see it coming anyhow.”

Not much else to report this week so I’ll let you go with that. Have a great rest of your week now that (at least in some places) Spring is trying to make an appearance. (Although we were back below freezing again this morning.)

 

chapflourish

Connect with me on Facebook Goodreads Twitter and now Pinterest Read excerpts and buy copies of my works on the Published Works page. e-book & paperback copies also available on Amazon Smashwords Barnes & Noble and other on-line book retailers.

37 responses

  1. *dies of cute*

    *comes back to appreciate WIPpet, dies again*

    March 18, 2015 at 5:41 am

    • *boing, boing, boing!*

      March 18, 2015 at 6:56 am

  2. D’awww! On this subject, your post on your other blog got passed around my office. We’ve taken to supporting each other through Fridays with pictures of cute animals.

    I love that Roe is dealing with Fader’s stubbornness by trying to pack for him, like she’s going to bundle him out the door and he’ll do as she says.

    March 18, 2015 at 6:09 am

    • There will likely be more cuteness on the other blog shortly. The ‘oopses’ are making an appearance as of yesterday.

      Yeah, Roe’s a bit delusional here. Like Fader’s just going to meekly follow her to the city gate and get to stepping.

      March 18, 2015 at 6:58 am

  3. Loved the video & the snippet!! Yeah, I don’t see Fader as someone who would just run off because someone’s after him.

    March 18, 2015 at 8:10 am

    • Especially when he hasn’t accomplished what he came to the city for in the first place. Oh… but I haven’t shared any of that.

      March 18, 2015 at 9:06 am

  4. “I am sworn never to bear steel against my fellow man.” LOVE THAT!!! Oh Fader!!!
    Adorable video!!!!

    March 18, 2015 at 8:26 am

    • Ergh. And that should be “bare steel” .

      March 18, 2015 at 8:30 am

  5. Amy

    Cuuuuute!!! Love the video.

    “You’ll never see it coming anyhow.” Well, that’s chilling.

    March 18, 2015 at 8:35 am

    • Yes. That’s the reputation the Needle’s have.

      March 18, 2015 at 8:48 am

  6. Okay, so it might not have been half-a-dozen bouncing lambs, but one was pretty damn good. πŸ™‚

    Pretty damn good excerpt too! I really like these two.

    March 18, 2015 at 8:39 am

    • They all started last night, but I told them to knock it off. They refused to listen.

      March 18, 2015 at 8:50 am

  7. I love the contrast between them right now. Roe: “Hurry, hurry, hurry. Get gone.” Fader: “Why, yes, I’d love a slice of bread, thank you. No, no. I don’t need a knife.” πŸ˜› Either that or, “She’s so cute when she’s panicking.”

    Your lamb is adorable. πŸ™‚ Your WIPpet gets to sit on my screen for the next 3 hours until the kids wake up and drag themselves into readiness so I can show it to them. That means I’ll be thinking of your story all morning. *fumes* Sneaky trick there.

    March 18, 2015 at 9:01 am

    • Mwahahahahaha! I love when my evil plans are realized. πŸ˜€

      What I find utterly endearing is Roe’s concern for Fader’s safety when Fader is twice her size, capable, and can be a bit intimidating. Still, in her world, the Needle’s are death personified. Unfortunately, Fader isn’t from her world and doesn’t share the same views.

      March 18, 2015 at 9:11 am

      • The save-Fader bit IS adorable. Truly. πŸ™‚ But then, you already knew I liked your characters. *sighs* So. When will this one be ready? No pressure. *innocent grin*

        March 18, 2015 at 10:58 am

      • *falls off chair giggling hysterically*

        March 18, 2015 at 2:36 pm

      • Ah. Okay, then. Well. Don’t mind me. I’ll just be standing here. Right behind you. Looking over your shoulder. I won’t say anything, though. You won’t hear me nag once. *stands* *stares*

        March 18, 2015 at 2:52 pm

      • Sooo… SIX hours later, all 4 kids have finally seen your lamb. They are much awwwwwed by your lamb.

        March 18, 2015 at 4:18 pm

  8. Pingback: WIPpet Wednesday | Books & Such

  9. He is so unflappable and calm while Roe’s trying to get him shifted. I really do love them both, they’re such a brilliant pair. πŸ˜€

    Ooooh lambie. I’m just going to have to watch her again. And maybe once more for good luck. And again. And… no, I don’t have a bouncy lamb addiction, why do you ask?

    March 18, 2015 at 2:58 pm

    • Yesterday our newest lamb, born on St. Patrick’s Day, decided that she was old enough to try out her legs. The first time they decide to do the popcorn trick is just hysterical. You can see them gearing up to it and then SPROING! or at least, an attempt. πŸ˜‰ Most times they barely get off the ground and landing isn’t always pretty. But then they’re all, “Hey, did anyone see what I just did? Didya? Hey, guys!!”

      March 20, 2015 at 7:06 am

  10. that last line sounds very ominous

    March 19, 2015 at 12:19 am

    • Ah… my work here is done. πŸ˜‰

      March 20, 2015 at 7:06 am

  11. Just a quick swig of brandy to cover those nerves and keep packing (I might have had a tad more…) as it tends to take your mind off things… I am intrigued as to why Fadar is going and the tension that the Needles bring to the equation is just expertly balanced by his oath. Nice.

    March 20, 2015 at 7:53 am

    • I definitely would have had a tad more. πŸ˜‰

      March 25, 2015 at 5:19 am

  12. I can’t decide if Fader is brave or just unrealistic. Loved that last line. Major dose of cuteness with the lambs!

    March 20, 2015 at 5:33 pm

    • Fader is supremely confident in his own abilities. Now, perhaps that’s a bit naive at the moment, we shall see. But he isn’t bothered by the Needles and can’t really wrap his head around why Roe is. Two very different worlds have collided and I think both will be in for an education.

      March 25, 2015 at 5:20 am

  13. I love how chill Fader is, and how irritating that is to Roe. They are such a great contrasting pair. Also, hot.

    March 21, 2015 at 5:14 am

    • Thanks. πŸ˜€ A lot of how Fader acts irritates Roe. She’s going to have to deal with it.

      March 25, 2015 at 5:21 am

  14. How cute!

    He’s a little too calm for being hunted, especially by some deadly organization. Love the excerpt really brings out their personalities.

    March 22, 2015 at 4:44 pm

    • Thanks. Fader is the King of Cool. πŸ˜‰ Especially when he sees danger in a whole different manner than Roe.

      March 25, 2015 at 5:22 am

      • Definitely can tell but that’s what makes him awesome.

        March 25, 2015 at 3:53 pm

  15. Oh my goodness that lamb is adorable!!

    This excerpt was so good, I loved the contrast between Roe and Fader in this situation!

    March 23, 2015 at 11:09 am

    • Ain’t she just the cutest!! Actually, we had an oops born a couple days ago and she is totally cute. Maybe next week there will be more pictures.

      March 25, 2015 at 5:23 am

  16. Aww that lamb is SO cute!! Reminds me of a video I saw recently of baby pygmy goats (yes they are as cute as they sound).

    The Needles is a great name for an assassin guild by the way!!

    March 23, 2015 at 9:21 pm

    • I bet baby pygmy goats are just adorkable. πŸ˜‰

      March 25, 2015 at 5:23 am

Leave a Reply

