No Fooling for WIPpet Wednesday

Happy April Fool’s Day! Also, WIPpet Wednesday. No fooling. First order of business: huge apologies for not making the rounds last week. I ran out of social media time because of all the goings on. Or actually, because of all the goings out. I was a bit of a social butterfly the last half of the week. That occasionally happens. Like, once a year.

Though I didn’t manage any new words for The Adorned, I decided to do a search for the word ‘fool’ amongst the words I have already written. Amazingly enough, I found two instances and am sharing the first of those, which is also one paragraph which all coincides rather nicely with my foolish theme. This is from an early section of Roe and Fader’s story and gives a bit of background on Roe. I don’t think I shared it before, but I can’t say for certain.

Inkings, like the ones that decorated the man’s head and torso, were uncommon in the city as far as Roe knew. Brands were another thing. Nothing like searing the flesh of a convicted criminal to remind them of their carelessness and tell everyone else what a fool they’d been for getting caught. Roe’d come close to such a brand once. Barely ten and still unguilded, she’d made a left when she should’ve made a right, and found herself staring down a polished length of steel in the hand of one of the night watch. He took a shine to her, though, and also happened to owe Tuter Lighton, Prince of Thieves. Owing Tuter Lighton isn’t something anyone in the Unheld City wants hanging over their head. So he sold Roe to cover his debt. From Roe’s standpoint, it could have gone a lot worse. She’d gotten quite good at thieving under Tuter’s hand. Enough so that by the time she reached fourteen, she’d paid off her bond and earned full and legal guildship, making her a free woman. Or as free as life in the guilds allowed.

Also, last week I promised a surprise. So I give you another of the digital drawings I created for The Adorned. It’s not exactly finished. I used stock clothing and hair for Roe, but I plan on changing that. I’ve already started, but it’s not complete. Some of you may recall the scene that inspired this particular piece. I call it “No, no, no.”

NoNoNo

Now, onto the bad news — which ties into not making it around last week. I need to take a bit of a hiatus from WIPpet Wednesday. I’m getting into the busy time of year for me, and there are a lot of little things I’ve let slide because it’s easier to just put them aside and… you know… Facebook, Pinterest, Blog. So those things pile up. Often literally. I’m terrible at filing.Then I move those piles around until they tip over and slide to the ground. I will still set up the linky every week, and still try to make the rounds, I just don’t know how often I’ll actually post a snippet. But I’ll still be here, and so will the monkeys. So don’t take this as an excuse to goof off. Yeah, I’m looking at you.

chapflourish

Connect with me on Facebook Goodreads Twitter and now Pinterest Read excerpts and buy copies of my works on the Published Works page. e-book & paperback copies also available on Amazon Smashwords Barnes & Noble and other on-line book retailers.

21 responses

  1. Looooooooove that excerpt, which makes your news even sadder. But I totally get the need to step back during busy times.
    Cool digital drawings. You are a woman of many talents, I see. πŸ™‚

    April 1, 2015 at 8:41 am

    • Thanks. πŸ™‚ I’m still going to try to be around, I just can’t make any promises and didn’t want to become conspicuous by my absence. πŸ˜‰

      April 1, 2015 at 4:26 pm

  2. Pingback: WIPpet Wednesday | Books & Such

  3. 😦 I’ll miss you, Kathi. *sniffles* I hope you can get caught up quickly.

    The snippet is fun. And how cool that it worked out so well with the date. πŸ™‚ I have this really cute picture of a little female Oliver Twist staring up at a smirking nightwatchman. πŸ™‚

    April 1, 2015 at 1:26 pm

    • Thanks, ReGi. I’ll still breeze in. I certainly can’t abandon my minions… er… my pals.

      Oooh, a female Oliver Twist, huh? Never thought of that. Actually, she’s probably more like the Artful Dodger. Well, now she is. I guess back then she might have been more like Oli.

      And congrats again on your awesome news.

      April 1, 2015 at 4:28 pm

      • Ha! Female Artful Dodger. I love that mental picture. πŸ˜€

        And thank you. πŸ™‚

        April 1, 2015 at 4:50 pm

  4. The digital drawings are amazing, and the snippet, Oh my. πŸ˜€

    April 1, 2015 at 2:13 pm

  5. I love that image (I loved the scene, too).

    Really liked this bit of backstory for Rue, and how it weaves into a bigger history of the city.

    April 1, 2015 at 7:24 pm

    • Thanks, Emily. I think more of her backstory might come out at some point. It truly helps explain why she sees things the way she does.

      April 3, 2015 at 4:11 pm

  6. love the image and the snippet! We’ll miss you(and Fader), but I understand. It can be hard to balance all the things sometimes.

    April 2, 2015 at 4:35 am

    • I won’t totally disappear. Although, on a literal level, I’ve always wanted that super power. I’d have such fun with it. Mwahahahahahaha

      April 3, 2015 at 4:12 pm

  7. Nice snippet, as usual! πŸ™‚

    I totally understand the needing a break from blogging. I skipped this week — just too much after the Spain trip, and now I have a US trip coming up too …

    Looking forward to reading you again when you come back!

    April 4, 2015 at 10:11 am

    • You’re just globetrotting lately, aren’t you? πŸ˜€ Where in the US are you headed?

      April 4, 2015 at 10:20 am

      • PNW. That’s where all the family is, distributed between Eugene and Seattle.

        April 4, 2015 at 10:50 am

  8. Loved learning some more about Roe and the drawing is perfect. Hope to see you back soon!

    April 4, 2015 at 12:38 pm

  9. That digital drawing is amazing. Very nice indeed. Roe sounds like one badass woman and I like it. She experienced the unimaginable and turned it into something she can use to free herself. Well done. Aw, we hope to see you back real soon.

    April 4, 2015 at 11:37 pm

  10. I’m going to miss you and yours. But I get it. With four straight months of writing and blogging challenges, I may need to drop something here or there myself…

    But if you visit me next Wednesday, I promise I’ll have more than a sentence to share. These characters..feisty, I tell ya. And more than a little lustier than I expected them to be.

    Now I want to learn how to make digital drawings…because I don’t have ANYTHING else going on…

    April 5, 2015 at 2:01 am

  11. Great excerpt!!! I hope you make it back soon!

    April 6, 2015 at 6:51 am

  12. Thank you for doing WIPpet Wednesday. I understand about being bad at juggling everything as my weird attendance in the group probably attests. I give you kudos for knowing your limits and taking care of business in style.

    I liked the back story. I liked how it not only gave history to Roe, but gave meat to the setting. Two birds, one stone. Awesome.

    April 8, 2015 at 5:20 pm

Leave a Reply

