Third Time is the Charm

Hello!! This is getting to be a regular habit again. Scary, ain’t it?

I’m going to dive right into my WIPpet today. Another one from Edge of Darkness. No context, and I’m not going to tell you who’s talking because… SPOILERS. Plus, that’s just how I roll. For the third day of the month, I give you three sentences. More philosophical waxing on it appears. Honest, that’s not all they do in Book Three.

“Not so. I am not so vain as to believe I can exist without it. Fire will burn all it touches, and a single breath will blow out a candle flame, yet without air fire cannot survive.”

And now, as an added bonus, three miscellaneous tidbits…

EoD Related Quote from my Darkness & Light Pinterest board: Β  “Night is not something to endure until dawn. It is an element like wind or fire. Darkness is its own kingdom; it moves to its own laws, and many living things dwell in it.”Β  ~ Patricia A. McKillip

Bit of music listened to whilst writing: Two Steps from Hell ~ Wind Queen

Number of current writing projects: Three.

 

chapflourish

Connect with me on Facebook Goodreads Twitter and now Pinterest Read excerpts and buy copies of my works on the Published Works page. e-book & paperback copies also available on Amazon Smashwords Barnes & Noble and other on-line book retailers.

 

 

25 responses

  1. Your dialogue is very compelling! And I love the song you’re listening to! That’s the kind of song I need to listen to when I’m writing. I’ve been listening to the Interstellar soundtrack (Hans Zimmer) lately.

    June 3, 2015 at 7:56 am

    • I’ll have to look that music up. Sounds like something I’d like.

      June 3, 2015 at 11:07 am

  2. Amy

    That’s really powerful imagery. It definitely leaves me wondering who is talking and what the “it” referred to is. The music is an excellent choice.

    June 3, 2015 at 12:19 pm

    • Thanks all the way around. I can tell you, it’s a woman talking about it. πŸ˜‰

      June 3, 2015 at 9:24 pm

  3. yet some people are vain enough to think that or take advantage of it. Great little itty bitty snippet today!

    June 3, 2015 at 1:48 pm

    • Sometimes I just have to throw the itty bitties out there. Hee, hee.

      June 3, 2015 at 9:25 pm

  4. Interesting! We don’t often think of air as one of the stronger elements.

    June 3, 2015 at 3:25 pm

    • I wonder why that is? Is it just because it’s not as blunt as fire and water?

      June 3, 2015 at 9:26 pm

  5. Nice bit of philosophy hiding in here… And I LOVE Two Steps From Hell. A lot of my writing playlist is made up of pieces by them, or via listening to Radio Rivendell.

    June 3, 2015 at 5:51 pm

  6. That’s a great quote on fire! And very well observed. Reminds me of that Stereophonics song:
    It takes one tree to make a thousand matches,
    It takes one match to burn a thousand trees

    June 3, 2015 at 8:11 pm

    • Nice line. What song is that from?

      June 3, 2015 at 9:26 pm

      • It’s from A Thousand Trees by Stereophonics. I agree, it’s a great line! πŸ™‚

        June 3, 2015 at 9:29 pm

  7. More shivers and all from three lines! πŸ™‚

    June 4, 2015 at 1:07 pm

  8. Nicole Nally

    I love that who ever is speaking understands that the elements work together in a balance. Too often people always think of one or the other as being stronger but I like how you’re showing that air and fire are linked. For philosophising it’s interesting and gives some important insight in to the character. Love it!

    June 5, 2015 at 4:49 am

    • Precisely. Sometimes how we view things isn’t exactly how they are, but more what our experience of them has been.

      June 10, 2015 at 5:28 am

  9. talk about short & sweet. great snippet.

    June 5, 2015 at 8:30 am

  10. FIRE!!! Wheehoo! πŸ˜€ Very nice WIPpet. Fire is indeed one of those things that is both wonderful and terrible in one breath. If you take the time to think about it, it’s quite the doozy of a fun paradox.

    June 5, 2015 at 11:17 am

    • Thanks, ReGi. πŸ™‚ Yes, as all the elements, fire can be both blessing and curse.

      June 10, 2015 at 5:29 am

  11. Maybe it is because of the tone of your three sentences, but you have me thinking. We try often to simply things… Making matters black and whit… It feels like this evolved from something like that. It wasn’t that simple and neither is fire.

    June 7, 2015 at 6:42 pm

    • Exactly. People tend to see things how they want, or at their most obvious, instead of looking from the other side.

      June 10, 2015 at 5:25 am

  12. I absolutely love that line, and the tone of it seems to sum up your characters so well — complex and thoughtful. Really powerful and thought-provoking!

    June 8, 2015 at 7:30 am

Leave a Reply

