WIPupdate

Helloooooo.

*waits for crowd to calm down*

Yes, I’m aware it appears as though I’ve fallen from the face of the earth. It occasionally feels that way. Not many posts. Very little social media interaction. Haven’t made the WIPpet rounds or answered comments (and for that I apologize profusely!) But I’m still here. I’ve just been super, super busy. For those of you just here for the WIPpet, feel free to scroll to the bottom. For the rest… See, it all started with this:

Yes, the hubs and I are just handy enough and just tight-fisted enough to attempt projects such as this.

Yes, the hubs and I are just handy enough, and just tight-fisted enough, to attempt projects such as this, even when we have no clue what we’re doing.

That’s a retaining wall, for those who may not recognize it. Not a huge one. Only about 4′ high at the tallest point. It replaced five overgrown trees (removed over winter) and a dilapidated wall of old railroad ties.

That was followed by 12 people and dogs descending upon my house for five days of stockdog training with an awesome trainer from New Mexico. Great fun and lots of learning but boy-oh-boy little else got done.

Four days later, I took a six hour road trip to Iowa to put all that training to the test. And that’s where this happened:

My young dog Jig.

My young dog Jig. There will eventually be more about her latest ventures on my Shadowdance Farm blog.

Without going into lengthy explanations, the showy ribbon was for High In Trial Cattle. Which means Jig and I did fairly well. Oh, plenty of not-so-good moments during the course of the weekend, but she’s young and we’re still working out the kinks.

Another 6 hour road trip home, and back to the day job. Boo!

Somehow despite all that I managed to type ~Finis~ at the end of this:

EoDAlphaWhich as of Monday night is now in the hands of three highly skilled, extremely brutal, and much appreciated Alpha Readers.

happydance1

On top of all that, Driev also made a trip. He is now in the hands of editor Kate Johnston.

So… yeah. All that. I’m gone again this weekend for a relaxing Girl’s Weekend, home for a bit, then gone to OH for 5 days or so for more stockdog training. Which will keep my mind off EoD and Driev for a time.

Next writing project? Back to Roe and Fader and The Adorned. In whose honor I give you a tiny, random WIPpet for this Wednesday. WIPpet math goes thus, adding up the date (7+8+15) I went to page 30, down 8 paragraphs for this:

Fader shifted closer. “Your thoughts have suddenly gone dark.” His voice remained a low, rumbling murmur against her ear.

And for those who are interested in an update on the agenting of Driev. Final stats are in. I’ll have that post on Friday.

chapflourish

Connect with me on Facebook Goodreads Twitter and Pinterest Read excerpts and buy copies of my works on the Published Works page. e-book & paperback copies also available on Amazon and other on-line book retailers.

 

 

15 responses

  1. I fell off the face of the Earth about the same time you did. 52 pending comments. Today is my daughter’s eleventh birthday; next Monday would be our secondborn, Elijah’s, twelfth – only, it’s not a birthday we can truly celebrate, without a living celebrant…

    July is – July. My personal emotional roller-coaster of a month…

    Hooray for Jig – and for you! That ribbon sure is purty, and she looks mightily proud of her good dog self…

    To celebrate…

    I love what’s hinted at in the snippet…and what’s hinted at for Driev…and the EoD finish…

    That retaining wall isn’t half bad, either…you might not have been online, but you certainly were present in your life!

    Happy I picked today to actually try to get an early start on visiting! =)

    July 8, 2015 at 6:11 am

    • I’ll have to wait until I get home to watch the video, but anything with a dog and a man on a horse has got to be good. 😉

      “Present in my life.” Yes! What an excellent way to put it.

      Hugs to you — one a day for the entire month.

      July 8, 2015 at 6:27 am

      • Aww, thanks for all the hugs. You don’t know how much that helps, in the darker moments…

        July 16, 2015 at 10:52 pm

    • NOW I remember this song! 😀

      July 9, 2015 at 4:29 pm

      • Thought you might! =D An advantage (or at least a consequence ) of having kids, for me, has been having many songs stuck in my memory banks that I might never have heard, otherwise…

        I can sing about waking up Jeff, aardvaarks, and Minecraft, too! =D

        July 10, 2015 at 2:41 am

  2. Yay for finishing and for more Fader. 🙂

    July 8, 2015 at 6:43 am

    • Thank you. Fader is happy to be getting attention again. 🙂

      July 8, 2015 at 6:44 am

  3. Welcome back! Congrats to you and to Jig!!! How awesome that you built your own retaining wall.
    Hellllllllo, Fader. You have been missed. **Running to take a cold shower.**

    July 8, 2015 at 8:42 am

    • Thank you. *curtsies*

      Fader is so easy going, he’s not even upset he’s been neglected. Roe on the other hand…

      July 9, 2015 at 6:54 am

  4. Amy

    “Your thoughts have suddenly gone dark.” I think that happens to my characters on occasion. I can’t read what they’re thinking. Or at least, that’s my excuse.

    I hear you on busy. That was us in June. The summer months slow down a lot for us. I admit I’m jealous of your ability to build a retaining wall.

    July 8, 2015 at 1:55 pm

    • August slows down for me — then September and October or super crazy. After that, smooth sailing. Which is a good thing since I just may have two books coming out before the end of the year.

      *reads previous sentence*

      *falls out of chair*

      July 9, 2015 at 6:55 am

  5. Congratulations on all your projects–and particularly Jig, who looks lovely with her ribbon! Good luck with this week too. 🙂

    Have to say, I’m definitely not complaining about more Fader, with whom even small snippets make the room suddenly quite… warm. 😉 🙂

    July 9, 2015 at 4:17 am

    • Jig and lovely in the same sentence. Bwahahahaha… er…. um… I think she is. She, on the other hand, is far too much like some of my female characters and would frown upon being called lovely.

      Fader is grinning. Just so you know. 😉

      July 9, 2015 at 6:59 am

  6. Congrats on finishing! Sometimes we just have to take it easy on the social media — it can be a huge time sink. Always fun to connect with other writers, though. 🙂

    Any yay for you and Jig!

    July 10, 2015 at 5:58 am

    • Thanks. It feels awesome. Finally. Though I know there’s a big re-write/editing phase coming up yet. At least that first draft is done.

      July 10, 2015 at 6:22 am

Leave a Reply

