Bound in Shadow in the Land of Tradition

Wednesday I mentioned I would give you the final wrap-up on the agenting of Bound in Shadow ~ The Coinblade Chronicles. A while back I wrote this post which summed up BiS~CBC‘s history, and my foray into the world of Traditional Publishing. Not my first time in that rodeo, but a lot has changed. And nothing has changed. *sigh* It’s still many hoops and much time with little result.

Anyhow, if you want the background, follow the link above to the original post. My update is thus:

  • A total of 40 queries sent out.
  • 1 partial request which then resulted in a rejection.
  • 12 form rejections
  • 27 closed-no-response

The CNR designation seems to be the norm among many comments on QueryTracker. They rank right up there with those who receive a form rejection more than a year after they sent the original query. No, that is not a typo. More. Than. A. Year.

Really?

Okay, I get that agents are people, too. Messages overwhelm their in-box. Perhaps some get lost in cyber-space delivered by digital turtles fighting a head wind. But… a year?!!? Because we authors have nothing better to do than wait patiently for the wheels of tradition to make one small rotation, right?

Please, don’t think I’m slamming traditional publishing or literary agents. If anything, I’m slamming the process. And (at least for now) the door on it. That could always re-open. I’m not locking it. I’ve just used up my store of patience with it and moving on.

DrievInn

chapflourish

Connect with me on Facebook Goodreads Twitter and Pinterest Read excerpts and buy copies of my works on the Published Works page. e-book & paperback copies also available on Amazon and other on-line book retailers.

 

 

 

17 responses

  1. Wow that’s rough. Good on you for giving it a shot! I’ll be in the same boat with Blackbird – hopefully before the end of the year. I figure I’ll give it a shot with the queries just to keep my skills honed, but I’m giving myself a time limit of 6 months – not a lot, I know, but I’m liking this self-pubbing biz 😀

    So proud of you for trying, but I’m even more excited to get my hands on Driev soon!

    July 10, 2015 at 6:11 am

    • I can’t believe I gave it as long as I did! I’m usually far more impatient than that. But I knew I couldn’t focus on Driev when I had EoD plaguing me, too. Now, however, time to start planning marketing and making a humungous splash!

      July 10, 2015 at 6:19 am

  2. All I can say is – yup.

    Looking forward to when you publish Driev!

    July 10, 2015 at 6:12 am

    • And I’m definitely not saying I won’t try that route again… though I still can’t say why, except that variety is the spice of life and all that. What irritates me most, I think, is lack of even a form rejection. And if you’re not taking queries, then say so up front.

      Sorry, ranting again. 😉 Moving on…

      July 10, 2015 at 6:22 am

  3. Good for you for trying. but, wither way I can’t wait for Driev!

    July 10, 2015 at 6:56 am

  4. There’s also a biological limit to how long one can wait. Fortunately for you (and most of the rest of the planet), you’re younger than I am. I don’t know how many good writing years I’ve got left, but I have no intention of wasting any of them by waiting for an agent, editor, or publisher to respond to a query. Like you, I’m not down on traditional publishing; I’m down on the ease with which the practitioners ignore the creative side of the equation. The market is seeing a massive shake-up, and it’s not a bad thing at all, at least for us!

    July 10, 2015 at 8:38 am

    • Ah, you’re not THAT old. 😉 And I think you nailed it on the creative aspect.

      July 10, 2015 at 9:44 am

  5. Here’s hoping that in a year or two you breathe that HUGE sigh of relief, so thankful you didn’t end up going the trad route! And yikes, I just read your previous post about how busy you’ve been. Insanity.

    July 14, 2015 at 9:19 pm

    • Thanks, Alana. 🙂 I’m hoping I’ll breathe that sigh.

      July 15, 2015 at 5:18 am

  6. I dipped my toe into the traditional publishing pool briefly, and quickly realised that while I won’t discount it in the future, it’s just not the right path for me now.

    It’s all that waiting around without knowing. Getting rejected quickly, totally fine. And some agents do that, which is great. Then you can pick yourself up and move on. But waiting, stuck in limbo, for months on end (or a year!!) no thanks. So far, that’s my favourite thing about being indie: the ability to drive things forward on the back of my own work. Which is the way most things go in life: you work hard, things move forward. That and there are quite a few things about trad publishing that I don’t like / agree with.

    Well, here’s to releasing your book independently and making that huge splash! 🙂

    July 16, 2015 at 6:00 am

    • The quickest rejection I received was under an hour. It was awesome. I’m not sure how they could have actually read the sample pages, but I appreciated that far more than the never knowing. And there is far too much of that.

      Being the control freak I am, I’m surprised I even tried it. But I’m old enough to still be a bit old school, I guess. You know, stuck in the ‘but this is how it’s always been done’ phase. LOL Thankfully, you can teach an old dog new tricks.

      July 17, 2015 at 6:34 am

      • Wow an hour!! That’s speedy! The quickest one I got was a few days and same, I really appreciated it.

        Yeah, it’s hard to move away from the ‘way it’s always been done’ and there’s a certain legitimacy that comes with a publisher behind you that’s very tempting — although it doesn’t seem to be a guarantee of success! Neither is going indie of course but at least we get to be in control of our destinies! 🙂

        July 19, 2015 at 8:39 pm

      • At least I knew the agent didn’t care for it and could move on. If I got one after a year… I think I’d go into convulsive fits of laughter.

        July 20, 2015 at 5:21 am

      • I think it would almost be insulting for someone to come back after a year!

        July 20, 2015 at 6:15 pm

  7. I don’t blame you one bit for walking away from the traditional route. I’m there with you. I have a book out there, riding the waves of literary agent in-boxes and I can’t understand how long it takes people to say “No” or say nothing at all. The process is very, very ineffective.

    As far as taking Driev indie, I think you’ll do just fine. 😉

    July 19, 2015 at 4:43 am

    • Thank you, Kate. 🙂

      July 20, 2015 at 5:19 am

Leave a Reply

